We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, nice, helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
On the Beach Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great rooms, nice, helpful staff.”
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed at On the Beach Backpackers when it was raining super hard for 2 days straight. So we became well-acquainted with the rooms and common areas. We really liked their set-up for the rooms. We stayed in a double room. They way they're set up is sort of like a small apartment. There was a triple room next door to ours that shared a lounge area, deck, bathroom, and a kitchen. So we never had more than 5 people there at one time. This hostel is about a 20 minute walk into town. But if the weather is good, you're literally right across the street from a beautiful beach. They have free kayaks to use, too. Cool place. We totally recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenh333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    57
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
39
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Right at the beach there is this colourfol hostel. Every floor has a couple of rooms and a communal kitchen and living room. It is clean and because of the communal spaces you can easily speak with other people. You do not have the feeling of beeing in a large hostel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marko1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We arrived on the weekend that Whitianga was having their big annual Scallop Festival. We got there on a Wednesday and booked it for only two nights because the hostel was booked for Friday and Saturday, but the owner was so helpful, she set us up at a great little sister motel in town at what we think was a reduced rate.Wonderful service! The fun factor was increased majorly with the free kayaks, shovels, and cheap bikes that allowed us the ability to explore the town and the beach the way it should be explored. The staff even checked the weather for us to let us know whether we'd be able to go out on the ocean or not. Great service, once again! The rooms were not quite quiet enough to rate a 5, but I had no trouble with noisy neighbors. The kitchen and lounge were adaquate for our needs. The shower in our shared dorm needed a little work on the water pressure. But, for a hostel, this place was the best we stayed in on the North Island. Give them a ring!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mb900s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

This backpackers would be great in the summer, it's very colourful and the staff are friendly and helpful, the cottage we stayed in was typical of most NZ hostels, no insulation or double glazing i.e it was COLD, we were given a plug-in radiator but it never got hot so it took a long time to heat the room. It was clean, the shower was good and the friendly lady behind the desk drove us to the township so we could get some breakfast before the bus picked us up. Beware of backhanded upgrades in NZ! we were offered an upgrade to a twin room (which benefitted them as well as us in terms of how their numbers worked out) but in return our 'towel privilages' were removed without notice (as in we had to pay for them) this is also typical of NZ hostels so make sure you know what you're getting for the money. And take a hot water bottle if you're heading out there in winter.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemofthema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Stayed here mid-may and found our block quite deserted, which was actually good news for us! Our double room on the second floor had an adjoining room, a kitchen and TV lounge. We liked the non-timed heater, quiet location and cleanliness around us. Didn't had the chance to do kayaking due to the terrible rainy weather though. The building is painted with bright colours, the staff is also very helpful to book us a boat tour to Cathedral Cove. Paid NZ60/night and thought it was a reasonable backpacker price for the whole place to ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lush018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Level Contributor
95 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We booked this place for two nights after hearing from friends about this place. The hosts were very friendly and had the necessary 'gadgets and equipment' available (refundable deposit) to explore the area. We booked a private bedroom and were placed in a two-bedroom unit with shared toilet & kitchen facilities, and we must be quite lucky to have decent people to share the place with. A no-frills place at the right location.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wtgn_ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

Quaint and colourful backpackers beside a gorgeous beach, with free kayaks, spades for digging in hot water beach and very helpful staff. The only downside was that we had a double room (fine) with shared facilities next to it (perfectly adequate). The problem we found is that you can hear every whisper from the common room (TV, laughing) so despite sharing with perfectly reasonable people, it can be hard to get an early night.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
12.0 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Turtlecove Accommodation
Turtlecove Accommodation
#8 of 23 in Whitianga
95 reviews
5.7 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
321 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Backpackers

Property: On the Beach Backpackers
Address: 46 Buffalo Beach Road, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — On the Beach Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Whitianga, On the Beach Backpackers is a friendly beachfront hostel with huge bay windows with stunning views over Mercury Bay, on the Coromandel Peninsula, a holiday spot loved by New Zealanders. YHA Whitianga has backpacker accommodation of multi-share rooms (some are en-suite) as well as double and twin rooms in self-contained units. Relax in our clean, comfortable home-like accommodation with all the necessary hostel facilities – well-equipped self catering kitchen, common areas and outside BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your On the Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing