We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A better backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
On the Beach Backpackers & Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My friend and I stayed here at the end of April 2013 and loved it. The 4 bed dorm we stayed in, shared a large lounge and brilliantly equipped kitchen with a double room and a twin room (that were empty during our stay). We could really make the most of the clean kitchen and then sit out on the balcony that overlooked the sea for our meals! The accommodation was cleaned daily.
The staff were so helpful and were always on hand for advice or to book tours. I would recommend cathedral cove tours, a 5 hour minibus tour of the local area with time to spend at gorgeous cathedral cove and hot water beach.
The local town is an easy, flat walk away, following the coast line.
A lovely, relaxing stay thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyBeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 143 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in Feb 2013 for 2 nights. The hostel is in a perfect location right on the beach, you won't miss it either with the brightly painted exterior! We checked into a private double room, which shared a kitchen, living area and bathroom with another room, much like a 2 bedroom apartment. This was good, but you do feel as if you are on holiday with another couple who you don't know! The decor is 'homely', comfortable but potentially in need of an update. The staff were friendly and helpful, and are able to provide spades for hot water beach (with a $20 deposit). Whitianga is a quiet place with a very relaxed feel. There are a few bars and restaurants, the wild hog bar and restaurant was good for a drink after a hard day's walking around Cathedral cove.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Staff was very helpful and very friendly. The house that I stayed in was extremely clean and cozy. The kitchen was well stocked and the living area was warm and inviting. The layout was different compared to other hostels I had stayed in, but by no means was it a bad thing. I really enjoyed the way everything was set up and it gave the hostel a more homey/apartment feel to it. The location is right in front of the beach and about a fifteen minute walk to the ferry and town. It was easy to get around the area, even without a car. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Right in front of the beach shore. Good value, had a private room, not the best bed ever but it made the work. Is nicely decorated all over and there are kayaks, boards and beach towels to use. Also there is wifi internet for two bucks and in-property parking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbrri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

There are 3 houses for the hostel - one for the larger (sleep 10) dorms and the others with double and twin rooms as well as dorms for 4 people. "My" house had two floors and a kitchen on each floor -on my first night, I shared the apartment with another couple and on my second night I had the whole area for myself, which was really nice. Kitchen and bathrooms were very clean and cleaned every day. There was a TV and DVD player and you can get DVDs from the hostel office for a deposit - nice for spending a quiet night in or watching a movie together with other backpackers. You also get beach towels and spades for hot water beach, as well as free Kayaks.
I spent one evening in the house with the larger dorm - it would have been too crowded for my liking, but that's why I booked a double room.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Be aware that this is a BBH hostel as well as YHA associated - so book directly to get the discount and not via booking.com or the like.
The beach is really nice, though there are much nicer ones in the vicinity, which feel more lonely (take the ferry to ferry landing and walk to the beaches).
I wouldn't recommend the i-Site in Whitianga, they were almost rude to me (I booked a shuttle there and when asked where I lived I gave the address of the hostel which got me a stern stare and a "No, where do you LIVE?" - sorry for not being a native speaker, I thought). Plus, they always get 10% commission when they book sth for you - they have to earn money as well, but the shuttles are already pretty cheap and I think the companies should get the total, so I'll book directly next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This gem set on one of the most beautiful beaches in New Zealand surprised us with how spacious the accommodation was. in the case of the private rooms at least, it was more of a shared apartment scenario than a hostel-style layout, with one kitchen/lounge between two rooms. Furthermore, the staff were friendly, and the free kayaks and shovels etc. are just more reasons why this was one of the best hostel/backpackers we stayed at in NZ.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Free shovels for Hot Water Beach, friendly staff, walking distance to town and right across from the beach! The only thing it's missing is free wifi.

The double rooms are great because you share slicing room, kitchen and bathroom with only two other people!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitwhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
506 reviews
12.0 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Turtlecove Accommodation
Turtlecove Accommodation
#8 of 25 in Whitianga
98 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
5.7 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#1 of 6 in Hahei
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach Backpackers & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Backpackers & Lodge

Address: 46 Buffalo Beach Road, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range: $17 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — On the Beach Backpackers & Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Whitianga, On the Beach Backpackers is a friendly beachfront hostel with huge bay windows with stunning views over Mercury Bay, on the Coromandel Peninsula, a holiday spot loved by New Zealanders. Close to Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. YHA Whitianga has accommodation to suit everyone from singles, couples and families. Free wifi and Kayaks available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your On the Beach Backpackers & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing