We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and clean hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
On the Beach Backpackers & Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Staff was very helpful and very friendly. The house that I stayed in was extremely clean and cozy. The kitchen was well stocked and the living area was warm and inviting. The layout was different compared to other hostels I had stayed in, but by no means was it a bad thing. I really enjoyed the way everything was set up and it gave the hostel a more homey/apartment feel to it. The location is right in front of the beach and about a fifteen minute walk to the ferry and town. It was easy to get around the area, even without a car. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 149 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Right in front of the beach shore. Good value, had a private room, not the best bed ever but it made the work. Is nicely decorated all over and there are kayaks, boards and beach towels to use. Also there is wifi internet for two bucks and in-property parking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbrri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

There are 3 houses for the hostel - one for the larger (sleep 10) dorms and the others with double and twin rooms as well as dorms for 4 people. "My" house had two floors and a kitchen on each floor -on my first night, I shared the apartment with another couple and on my second night I had the whole area for myself, which was really nice. Kitchen and bathrooms were very clean and cleaned every day. There was a TV and DVD player and you can get DVDs from the hostel office for a deposit - nice for spending a quiet night in or watching a movie together with other backpackers. You also get beach towels and spades for hot water beach, as well as free Kayaks.
I spent one evening in the house with the larger dorm - it would have been too crowded for my liking, but that's why I booked a double room.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Be aware that this is a BBH hostel as well as YHA associated - so book directly to get the discount and not via booking.com or the like.
The beach is really nice, though there are much nicer ones in the vicinity, which feel more lonely (take the ferry to ferry landing and walk to the beaches).
I wouldn't recommend the i-Site in Whitianga, they were almost rude to me (I booked a shuttle there and when asked where I lived I gave the address of the hostel which got me a stern stare and a "No, where do you LIVE?" - sorry for not being a native speaker, I thought). Plus, they always get 10% commission when they book sth for you - they have to earn money as well, but the shuttles are already pretty cheap and I think the companies should get the total, so I'll book directly next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This gem set on one of the most beautiful beaches in New Zealand surprised us with how spacious the accommodation was. in the case of the private rooms at least, it was more of a shared apartment scenario than a hostel-style layout, with one kitchen/lounge between two rooms. Furthermore, the staff were friendly, and the free kayaks and shovels etc. are just more reasons why this was one of the best hostel/backpackers we stayed at in NZ.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Free shovels for Hot Water Beach, friendly staff, walking distance to town and right across from the beach! The only thing it's missing is free wifi.

The double rooms are great because you share slicing room, kitchen and bathroom with only two other people!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitwhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great as always, there are positive spaces not too big not too small friendly people this time from Canada, Germany, Switzerland mostly. Positive vibe, clean, well-organized, everything provided.
The council is trying to do everything to destroy their own area - the local bus runs only in January and first week of Feb, now they are going to impose parking fees at Hahei and Hot Water beach! Clever bunnies! But clearly that's not the fault of the wonderful people at On The Beach Backpackers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Our group stayed here one night, but it was an enjoyable night. We were put into a massive space with several bedrooms and only one other couple checked in while we were there, so we essentially had this huge place to ourselves - kitchen, tv, tons of books and lots of space to lie around. It's right near the beach and within walking distance of everything in Whitianga. It's bright blue and hard to miss. It's not the fanciest place to stay, but more than worth it in value and location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrStubbs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
521 reviews
12 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Turtlecove Accommodation
Turtlecove Accommodation
#10 of 28 in Whitianga
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
352 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbourside Holiday Park
Harbourside Holiday Park
#12 of 28 in Whitianga
72 reviews
22 mi away
YHA Opoutere
YHA Opoutere
#2 of 2 in Opoutere
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach Backpackers & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Backpackers & Lodge

Address: 46 Buffalo Beach Road, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range: $22 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — On the Beach Backpackers & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Whitianga, On the Beach Backpackers is a friendly beachfront hostel with huge bay windows with stunning views over Mercury Bay, on the Coromandel Peninsula, a holiday spot loved by New Zealanders. Close to Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. YHA Whitianga has accommodation to suit everyone from singles, couples and families. Free wifi and Kayaks available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your On the Beach Backpackers & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing