We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks weird, but quite nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
On the Beach Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Looks weird, but quite nice!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Our group stayed here one night, but it was an enjoyable night. We were put into a massive space with several bedrooms and only one other couple checked in while we were there, so we essentially had this huge place to ourselves - kitchen, tv, tons of books and lots of space to lie around. It's right near the beach and within walking distance of everything in Whitianga. It's bright blue and hard to miss. It's not the fanciest place to stay, but more than worth it in value and location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrStubbs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    57
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
39
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We booked for a double room and got a 2 bedroom apartment, complete with your very own kitchen and bathroom. Well, there was another single room in that apartment but no one else booked so we had the whole apartment to ourselves. You get 2 TVs in the apartment, with 1 connecting to the free-to-air channels and the other to a DVD player. The apartment also has 2 dining tables and a sofa set. Location wise, it is close to New World Supermarket and the wharf where you can go fishing. You are also able to rent certain things for free (some with deposits). Do not really remember as we did not rent anything from the hostel but you can check with the friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked 'On the Beach Backpackers' for one night to explore the Coromandels. It was great value, excellent location and very friendly and helpful staff. The double ensuite we had booked turned out to be a mini apartment with a small lounge/kitchen, separate bathroom and bedroom. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The owners seem to have thought of everything, with extra blankets, heaters, tea bags all supplied!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CJS1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We took a unit at the YHA On The Beach Backpackers Mon 27-Tues 28 Aug and it was fantastic.
The accommodation was clean, tidy and well equipped. Anything we didn't have, we could use from the shared YHA kitchen. Bed linen and towels were provided and the the shower was great.

The staff were so helpful and friendly and gave us the use of kayaks, fishing rods and a spade for Hot Water Beach - all free of charge.

The place really is right on the beach and well placed for Coromandel activities. We will be back!

Room Tip: Tell the staff how many of you are booking and they'll suggest the best accommodation for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifesnorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This place isn't hard to miss! It is right across the road from the beach and has free water sports equipment to borrow. It is a short walk into Whitianga town and within easy driving distance of Cathedral Cove and Hot Water beach.

Good sized room and clean facilities but we found the shared set up a bit odd...we were in a 2 bedroom shared unit with each unit having a kitchette and shower room rather than communal facilities for the whole hostel. It just seemed a bit like you'd been thrown into a Big Brother house...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickymakin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

We used this as a base when we explored the Coromandels and it was perfect. The rooms are done so that two rooms share a kitchen, lounge area and bathroom. This was ideal as it meant just five of us were using the kitchen and it felt really social too.

The staff were really helpful with great tips of what to see and do - I would definitely recommend New Chums beach and Otama beach if you have a car. The hostel has kayaks you can use and also spades for Hot Water beach.

Our double room cost us $70 per night which was pretty reasonable.

Great spot and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zimdougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornafjorour, Iceland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed in a double room and shared kitchen and shower with only two more guests, which was very luxurious! Wifi unfortunately only in the small reception, not in the room. Friendly laidback staff. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarreJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
12.0 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Turtlecove Accommodation
Turtlecove Accommodation
#8 of 23 in Whitianga
95 reviews
5.7 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
321 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 42 in Whitianga
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Backpackers

Property: On the Beach Backpackers
Address: 46 Buffalo Beach Road, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — On the Beach Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Whitianga, On the Beach Backpackers is a friendly beachfront hostel with huge bay windows with stunning views over Mercury Bay, on the Coromandel Peninsula, a holiday spot loved by New Zealanders. YHA Whitianga has backpacker accommodation of multi-share rooms (some are en-suite) as well as double and twin rooms in self-contained units. Relax in our clean, comfortable home-like accommodation with all the necessary hostel facilities – well-equipped self catering kitchen, common areas and outside BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your On the Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing