We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and well equipped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marina Park Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Modern and well equipped”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights when visiting the Coromandel. When we checked in, the lady on reception told me that as the price had gone down since I booked, we would be paying less than expected. I was very impressed with this as a lot of places would have charged the higher amount anyway.
The apartment was beautiful and had everything you could possibly require. Having been travelling for a couple of weeks it was nice to have a washer and dryer in the apartment rather than having to go to a laundry room.
There is a pool and a small gym on the premises which is open until 6pm. The apartments are in a good spot and very handy for restaurants in the town.
We were lucky to have a nice view (and a huge balcony where we had breakfast) and I think it is probably worth paying a little extra for a view as some of the other apartments didn't have a view at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    63
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
39
68
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Great four day stay perfect weather great accomodation superb views from unit 23 short walk to town,management friendly and helpful. Units well appointed with plenty of space pool area lovely spa excellent

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Horrible Service (staff were exceptionally rude)
Horrible Room (like being in a maze)
Paper Thin Walls (you can hear everything from every other room - couldn't sleep)
Bad Value!!!!!
Website is deceiving, rooms do not over look the marina!!!!
Rooms are surrounded by a car park.

We will never go anywhere near this place again.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

As far as the Accommodation goes the apartment we stayed in was perfect. There is everything you need for a lovely stay. Unfortunately due to the rude and dispicable behaviour of the man at the reception when we checked out I wouldn't stay here again. To the poor Gentleman who was abused by this man when checking out for apparently lying about having children staying, I wish I had spoken up in your defence. I was shaking with anger by the time I got back to my car. A customer is apparently supposed to be always right, well in this case the customer didn't have a chance to even speak let alone be heard due managers ongoing accusations about lying. I wish I had paid more attention to the names of the owners of our apartment as I would have written to tell them how appalling the behaviour of their "Manager" was.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marina-apts-mngt, Manager at Marina Park Apartments, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Yes, the author of this review had one of the best apartments in the complex. The owners are pleased to entrust Management with the care of their apartments as they are diligent in their responsibilities to the owners of the apartments and are also mindful of guests’ needs and comfort. The apartments are set up and priced for a specific number of guests. When making a booking, it is expected that people state the correct number of persons for the apartment they are booking. For example a one bedroom apartment sleeps 2 persons, a two bedroom apartment sleeps 4 persons and so on. Some apartments will accommodate an additional person and a bed is supplied on request for an additional charge. Most hotels have strict policies regarding the number of persons allowed to occupy rooms and there are penalties for breaching this code. Management has found that some people lie by omission about the numbers of persons in their booking. They sneak extra people in after hours; take the mattresses off the bases to make up extra beds and so on. This is not good for the apartment or the wear and tear on the furnishings, not to mention contravention of fire and safety regulations. In this particular case, the booking was for eight persons; that is eight sleeping spaces were. The group arrived late and did not disclose that there were in fact twelve persons in their party. They paid for eight persons to stay but as they were vacating a head count showed that twelve persons had occupied the apartments overnight. Not only is this cheating the owners of income, this shows blatant disregard for other people’s property and the safety of their family. Safety is paramount. Given the worldwide publicity of major natural events such as earthquakes and tsunamis, this family could have put themselves in jeopardy. In an emergency, rescue services would have been searching for eight people not twelve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a large apartment complex but it had a very welcome lift so we didn't have to carry our bags up the stairs. The apartments are very well equipped with everything you need for your stay even down to a washing machine and dryer. Not too far from the wharf and town centre but the view from our apartment wasn't very nice, looking down onto a building site. Would have liked a view of the marina. Apartments are not serviced every day but the towels are changed every second day if you stay longer than 3 days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I would definately stay at Marina Park Apartments on my next visit to beautiful Whitianga. The rooms were clean and spacious, except the bathroom which was a little small with no bench space to put your toiletries, but that can be overlooked as everything else is perfect for a long or short stay. Well equipped with a very comfortable bed, washing machine and clothes dryer. You can leave your car and walk to the township and the harbour. The staff and management were really friendly. Our room had a balcony which was a lovely place to have breakfast (if we didn't dine out) and plan our day in this wonderful piece of New Zealand. The spa and rooftop pool was not available during our stay so can not comment on that and the outdoor pool looked lovely.

Room Tip: During the Christmas and New Year period you would need to book very early to get a harbour view roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Excellent well appointed apartments very conveniently located for all attractions in this beautiful town. Swimming and spa pools available on site. The room was extremely comfortable and the manager friendly and helpful - have breakfast at Nina's Cafe 250 metres away on Victoria Street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
0.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Apartments
Waterfront Apartments
#3 of 23 in Whitianga
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
425 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sovereign Pier on the waterways
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Park Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Park Apartments

Property: Marina Park Apartments
Address: 84 Albert Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marina Park Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the picturesque Whitianga Marina, and conveniently located just a two minute walk from the local shopping centre, our contemporary designed apartments are perfect for a luxury stay in the Coromandel region. In the town centre you will find an abundance of cafes, restaurants and bars, and boutique stores. It is only a short stroll to the ferry and the marina where you can choose from a number of boat tours. Other outdoor pursuits include tramping, kayaking, diving and sea fishing, or just relaxing on one of the many beautiful beaches nearby. Mercury Bay Golf Course also welcomes visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Park Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Park Apartments Hotel Whitianga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing