We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Park Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here 4 years ago so thought we would stay again and had an even better apartment than before (and we loved the first apartment). We stayed for ten nights and had a two bedroomed apartment with huge comfortable beds. Both bedrooms had a tv in, one had an i-pod dock. Large bathroom with big corner shower, and also a washing machine and tumble drier in it. Huge open plan living, dining, kitchen area. Two lazy-boy chairs. Fully equipped kitchen. Huge balcony overlooking the marina. Very quiet area. Very much a home from home. Only minus point goes to the few channels available on the TV.

Room Tip: I think all the apartments are different depending on how many people are staying so talk to the man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jac102012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 154 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Well worth the extra money. Stunning views and most definitely a home away from home. Staff were very friendly. The room had full facilities including washing machine & dryer. Would highly recommend this place to stay

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxy1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Marina Park Apartments with another couple for two nights. We had a marina view room on the second floor. The lounge kitchen, dinning area were open plan with plenty of room. Easily heated by a heat pump. The bathroom was a shower over a bath and also a laundary behind the sliding doors in the bathroom. All very clean and spacious. The let down was the beds. A very hard double bed in one bedroom and two hard small singles in the other bedroom. None of us slept very well due to the discomfort. Also was a little surprised when I went down to reception on the Saturday afternoon of the Scallop Festival to find the reception locked up and had to contact the manager by phone to get information about the lost pools. When I asked him about opening hours or a taxi due to weather he suggested I ring them which meant going back upstairs to our room. Our room wasn't serviced the whole weekend we were there which was disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank november089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Surprised at how large, spacious, new, clean and centrally located MPA was for the price. Certainly seemed like good value to us, a full kitchen and laundry and we had a lovely view facing out in the harbour.

Our only tiny quibble was the lack of an iPod dock, but really, that was it, everything else was there and more.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isolde E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My wife and I had a one bedroom self-contained unit. It was clean, modern and well-equipped. A bonus was the outdoor eating area with a view of the playing fields. The staff were friendly and helpful. Plenty of off-street parking. The resort is adjacent to the Marina at the mouth of Whitianga harbour, and is handy for all the beautiful beaches on the east side of the Coromandel Peninsula. There are a handful of good restaurants within ten minutes walk, and only a short drive to the supermarket. All-in-all, an excellent base for touring one of the most beautiful parts of the world.

Room Tip: All the rooms look very good, but a view of the harbour or the playing fields is a nice bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I booked on the website but had problems so telephoned to make a booking. The reception lady was helpful, courteous and friendly and apologised for the inconvenience !

We arrived on a Friday night, and the staff had to make special arrangements for us. They were very accommodating and really made an effort to help. I felt like a special guest!
The room we were allocated had superb views. It was neat, tidy and I felt like I had landed in a place close to heaven! We stayed a couple of nights and enjoyed the restaurants in the close vicinity. The reception people were even happy to recommend activities . I will def be back!
I saw people in the Spa, but we did not have a chance to use it.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the yachts are superb and def worth it! We had awesome views of the ocean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TVAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location. Quiet and excellent facilities. Will definitely be back. Could not fault it. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
506 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
81 reviews
16.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
434 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#10 of 18 in Whitianga
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Park Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Park Apartments

Address: 84 Albert Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range: $144 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marina Park Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the picturesque Whitianga Marina, and conveniently located just a two minute walk from the local shopping centre, our contemporary designed apartments are perfect for a luxury stay in the Coromandel region. In the town centre you will find an abundance of cafes, restaurants and bars, and boutique stores. It is only a short stroll to the ferry and the marina where you can choose from a number of boat tours. Other outdoor pursuits include tramping, kayaking, diving and sea fishing, or just relaxing on one of the many beautiful beaches nearby. Mercury Bay Golf Course also welcomes visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Park Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Park Apartments Hotel Whitianga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing