We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow what an awesome place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marina Park Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marina Park Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow what an awesome place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Well worth the extra money. Stunning views and most definitely a home away from home. Staff were very friendly. The room had full facilities including washing machine & dryer. Would highly recommend this place to stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxy1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    62
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
39
66
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Marina Park Apartments with another couple for two nights. We had a marina view room on the second floor. The lounge kitchen, dinning area were open plan with plenty of room. Easily heated by a heat pump. The bathroom was a shower over a bath and also a laundary behind the sliding doors in the bathroom. All very clean and spacious. The let down was the beds. A very hard double bed in one bedroom and two hard small singles in the other bedroom. None of us slept very well due to the discomfort. Also was a little surprised when I went down to reception on the Saturday afternoon of the Scallop Festival to find the reception locked up and had to contact the manager by phone to get information about the lost pools. When I asked him about opening hours or a taxi due to weather he suggested I ring them which meant going back upstairs to our room. Our room wasn't serviced the whole weekend we were there which was disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank november089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Surprised at how large, spacious, new, clean and centrally located MPA was for the price. Certainly seemed like good value to us, a full kitchen and laundry and we had a lovely view facing out in the harbour.

Our only tiny quibble was the lack of an iPod dock, but really, that was it, everything else was there and more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isolde E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gippsland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

My wife and I had a one bedroom self-contained unit. It was clean, modern and well-equipped. A bonus was the outdoor eating area with a view of the playing fields. The staff were friendly and helpful. Plenty of off-street parking. The resort is adjacent to the Marina at the mouth of Whitianga harbour, and is handy for all the beautiful beaches on the east side of the Coromandel Peninsula. There are a handful of good restaurants within ten minutes walk, and only a short drive to the supermarket. All-in-all, an excellent base for touring one of the most beautiful parts of the world.

Room Tip: All the rooms look very good, but a view of the harbour or the playing fields is a nice bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I booked on the website but had problems so telephoned to make a booking. The reception lady was helpful, courteous and friendly and apologised for the inconvenience !

We arrived on a Friday night, and the staff had to make special arrangements for us. They were very accommodating and really made an effort to help. I felt like a special guest!
The room we were allocated had superb views. It was neat, tidy and I felt like I had landed in a place close to heaven! We stayed a couple of nights and enjoyed the restaurants in the close vicinity. The reception people were even happy to recommend activities . I will def be back!
I saw people in the Spa, but we did not have a chance to use it.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the yachts are superb and def worth it! We had awesome views of the ocean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TVAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location. Quiet and excellent facilities. Will definitely be back. Could not fault it. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

We spent two nights at the end of March in Whitianga, staying at Marina Park.

We had a three bedroom apartment with a beautiful view over the Marina - the apartment was spotless and had all the amenities and a well equipped kitchen.

We were told that the spa didn't work and the pool was quite cold but it didn't bother us too much.

The complex also had a simple gym and a small library of books and magazines which was a nice touch.

The apartment is walking distance from the town . Hot water beach is 30 mins away by car and Maureen lent us her spade which was very handy.

Overall a very nice stay!

Room Tip: we stayed in apartment 5 which had gorgeous marina views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asa81u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
0.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Apartments
Waterfront Apartments
#3 of 24 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sovereign Pier on the waterways
0.5 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crows Nest Apartments
Crows Nest Apartments
#13 of 24 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Park Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Park Apartments

Property: Marina Park Apartments
Address: 84 Albert Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marina Park Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the picturesque Whitianga Marina, and conveniently located just a two minute walk from the local shopping centre, our contemporary designed apartments are perfect for a luxury stay in the Coromandel region. In the town centre you will find an abundance of cafes, restaurants and bars, and boutique stores. It is only a short stroll to the ferry and the marina where you can choose from a number of boat tours. Other outdoor pursuits include tramping, kayaking, diving and sea fishing, or just relaxing on one of the many beautiful beaches nearby. Mercury Bay Golf Course also welcomes visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Marina Park Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Park Apartments Hotel Whitianga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing