We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, shame about the beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Park Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Marina Park Apartments with another couple for two nights. We had a marina view room on the second floor. The lounge kitchen, dinning area were open plan with plenty of room. Easily heated by a heat pump. The bathroom was a shower over a bath and also a laundary behind the sliding doors in the bathroom. All very clean and spacious. The let down was the beds. A very hard double bed in one bedroom and two hard small singles in the other bedroom. None of us slept very well due to the discomfort. Also was a little surprised when I went down to reception on the Saturday afternoon of the Scallop Festival to find the reception locked up and had to contact the manager by phone to get information about the lost pools. When I asked him about opening hours or a taxi due to weather he suggested I ring them which meant going back upstairs to our room. Our room wasn't serviced the whole weekend we were there which was disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank november089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 157 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

Surprised at how large, spacious, new, clean and centrally located MPA was for the price. Certainly seemed like good value to us, a full kitchen and laundry and we had a lovely view facing out in the harbour.

Our only tiny quibble was the lack of an iPod dock, but really, that was it, everything else was there and more.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isolde E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My wife and I had a one bedroom self-contained unit. It was clean, modern and well-equipped. A bonus was the outdoor eating area with a view of the playing fields. The staff were friendly and helpful. Plenty of off-street parking. The resort is adjacent to the Marina at the mouth of Whitianga harbour, and is handy for all the beautiful beaches on the east side of the Coromandel Peninsula. There are a handful of good restaurants within ten minutes walk, and only a short drive to the supermarket. All-in-all, an excellent base for touring one of the most beautiful parts of the world.

Room Tip: All the rooms look very good, but a view of the harbour or the playing fields is a nice bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I booked on the website but had problems so telephoned to make a booking. The reception lady was helpful, courteous and friendly and apologised for the inconvenience !

We arrived on a Friday night, and the staff had to make special arrangements for us. They were very accommodating and really made an effort to help. I felt like a special guest!
The room we were allocated had superb views. It was neat, tidy and I felt like I had landed in a place close to heaven! We stayed a couple of nights and enjoyed the restaurants in the close vicinity. The reception people were even happy to recommend activities . I will def be back!
I saw people in the Spa, but we did not have a chance to use it.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the yachts are superb and def worth it! We had awesome views of the ocean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TVAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location. Quiet and excellent facilities. Will definitely be back. Could not fault it. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We spent two nights at the end of March in Whitianga, staying at Marina Park.

We had a three bedroom apartment with a beautiful view over the Marina - the apartment was spotless and had all the amenities and a well equipped kitchen.

We were told that the spa didn't work and the pool was quite cold but it didn't bother us too much.

The complex also had a simple gym and a small library of books and magazines which was a nice touch.

The apartment is walking distance from the town . Hot water beach is 30 mins away by car and Maureen lent us her spade which was very handy.

Overall a very nice stay!

Room Tip: we stayed in apartment 5 which had gorgeous marina views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank asa81u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We recently spent 12 wonderful days staying at Marina Park Apartments. The Apartments are wonderfully clean, comfortable, well maintained and equipped, as well as being close to beaches, restaurants and shops. Management and Staff were extremely friendly, helpful and courteous.
The property is well managed, and although the spa pool heater had unfortunately seen its last days, management informed us that a replacement heater would have to be ordered. The swimming pool certainly made up for not having a spa pool. We will certainly be returning to Marina Park for another great holiday - thank you so much Marina Park, you are one of the best.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
521 reviews
16.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
1.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Apartments
Waterfront Apartments
#3 of 26 in Whitianga
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crows Nest Apartments
Crows Nest Apartments
#7 of 26 in Whitianga
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Park Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Park Apartments

Address: 84 Albert Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range: $157 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marina Park Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the picturesque Whitianga Marina, and conveniently located just a two minute walk from the local shopping centre, our contemporary designed apartments are perfect for a luxury stay in the Coromandel region. In the town centre you will find an abundance of cafes, restaurants and bars, and boutique stores. It is only a short stroll to the ferry and the marina where you can choose from a number of boat tours. Other outdoor pursuits include tramping, kayaking, diving and sea fishing, or just relaxing on one of the many beautiful beaches nearby. Mercury Bay Golf Course also welcomes visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marina Park Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Park Apartments Hotel Whitianga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing