We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay EVEN in winter!! Views galore.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Park Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location. Quiet and excellent facilities. Will definitely be back. Could not fault it. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Marina Park Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 154 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

We spent two nights at the end of March in Whitianga, staying at Marina Park.

We had a three bedroom apartment with a beautiful view over the Marina - the apartment was spotless and had all the amenities and a well equipped kitchen.

We were told that the spa didn't work and the pool was quite cold but it didn't bother us too much.

The complex also had a simple gym and a small library of books and magazines which was a nice touch.

The apartment is walking distance from the town . Hot water beach is 30 mins away by car and Maureen lent us her spade which was very handy.

Overall a very nice stay!

Room Tip: we stayed in apartment 5 which had gorgeous marina views
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank asa81u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We recently spent 12 wonderful days staying at Marina Park Apartments. The Apartments are wonderfully clean, comfortable, well maintained and equipped, as well as being close to beaches, restaurants and shops. Management and Staff were extremely friendly, helpful and courteous.
The property is well managed, and although the spa pool heater had unfortunately seen its last days, management informed us that a replacement heater would have to be ordered. The swimming pool certainly made up for not having a spa pool. We will certainly be returning to Marina Park for another great holiday - thank you so much Marina Park, you are one of the best.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at Marina Park Apartments for a week recently. Like another contributor to this column we had booked an apartment with waterfront views. What we received was an apartment overlooking an old shed with a rusty roof and a football field. On checking in we approached the owner with our concerns and was very rudely told there would be no exchanges. There were no apologies or discussion and certainly no smiles. Also the spa was still not working and we were told this was because of the recent flooding. Obviously a different story to cover the fact that they can't be bothered getting the spa fixed. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. Whitianga is a lovely friendly town with some great places with wonderful views...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickdog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marina-apts-mngt, Manager at Marina Park Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

This customer booked her holiday through a Timeshare company. This is not a timeshare complex. However we have a goodwill arrangement with an exchange company to supply a strictly limited selection of apartments that do not include marina view apartments. Timeshare booking consultants never guarantee ocean views or certain styles of apartments.
On arrival, the guest demanded that our trainee receptionist make a transfer/upgrade to a marina front apartment, to the point that the young receptionist was so uncomfortable she called the manager for assistance. The guest was told politely and succinctly that she had been correctly placed in an allocated Timeshare apartment. All other guests were already checked in so there was no possibility of any exchange.
Guest safety: The managers have a duty of care to ensure the safety of everybody in the complex. If the managers, in their view, consider there is any health and/or safety concern regarding any area in the complex, particularly spa pools, then they are entitled to use their discretion in restricting guest access to these areas.
Yes, either because of or in spite of the recent rain storms, our main spa pool gas heater literally disintegrated after seven years of continuous use. This was clearly notified to all guests who, with exception of one, understood the situation. It took several days of searching and negotiating to source and get a new gas heater delivered. Then the gas fitter had to wait for a fine day to install the heater and re-commission the spa pool.
This pool was out of action for about 10 days; 7 working days when it comes to delivery and service contractors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed at Marina Park Apartments for 4 days recently. We have no complaints with the apartments at all, it was clean, convenient and comfortable. We had chosen Marina Park Apartments because they had two spas and a heated swimming pool. When we arrived both spas were out of order and "waiting for parts from Auckland," and the pool was freezing. Our advice is that if you want to use the spas, ask if they are in working order and available for use. If you want an air con/heat pump it is also a good idea to ask for one - not all units have them.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillP1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We recently stayed for 4 nights at the Marina Park Apartments and it was wonderful. A couple of days before we were due to go away the weather forecast was really awful so we rang the apartments and they happily moved our booking on by 2 days, no problem and no extra charge. We had booked a one bedroom apartment but when we arrived we were given a two bedroom apartment with estuary views. The apartment was great, clean, spacious and modern with everything you needed. Large balcony overlooking the estuary which got the sun for most of the day. I used the gym a couple of times, it was quite basic but enough to keep me up with my fitness program while we were away. It was really close to town, about a 3 minute walk but at night it was so quiet. There was a lovely little cafe behind the apartments, Nina's Cafe, which did a great breakfast. Maureen was really helpful with information about the apartment and the local area. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The room over looking the estuary was great, peaceful, and got the sun.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seejay14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed 4 nights, the hosts were so friendly and helpful - the modern apartment was clean and every item of furniture, linen, appliances, crockery etc was beautifully matched, and as brand new considering the apartment is 2 to 3 years old. Our apartment was quiet, and with such a tranquil view down the estuary. We ate and entertained on our huge balcony most of the time. The location was quiet considering it was only 5minutes to beach, town and wharf. We cannot descripe how pleased we were with our choice and will certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
16.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.5 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Apartments
Waterfront Apartments
#3 of 24 in Whitianga
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crows Nest Apartments
Crows Nest Apartments
#12 of 24 in Whitianga
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Park Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Park Apartments

Address: 84 Albert Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range: $144 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marina Park Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the picturesque Whitianga Marina, and conveniently located just a two minute walk from the local shopping centre, our contemporary designed apartments are perfect for a luxury stay in the Coromandel region. In the town centre you will find an abundance of cafes, restaurants and bars, and boutique stores. It is only a short stroll to the ferry and the marina where you can choose from a number of boat tours. Other outdoor pursuits include tramping, kayaking, diving and sea fishing, or just relaxing on one of the many beautiful beaches nearby. Mercury Bay Golf Course also welcomes visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Park Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Park Apartments Hotel Whitianga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing