We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Park Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Had a well equipped 2 bedroom ground floor apt (#8) that opened onto the marina - few minutes walk to main beach/wharf/town - nice heated pool and spa. Had a meal at Chang Thai restaurant, very good Thai for a country town - took 9yr old and friends to Whiti animal park one day, not bad, pity they dont have a cafe, but good picnic spot. Very relaxing stay, although the road much improved, still a very winding hour + over the hill from Thames which detracts a little from a lovely bit of NZ. Only downside was on departure - at $450 for our 2 night stay, I was amazed they charged my daughter $4 extra for a small shampoo and conditioner ; thought they would have been replaced daily!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThaiPrivateEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 154 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

Brr it is winter here and motels just do not seem to be set up for making their guests feel as if they can take their coats off indoors!!! We didn't use the entire apartment - just out bedroom and put both heaters in there on full and shut all the doors....brr
Very nice apartment however with views of the rugby pitch. Clean.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller201051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We booked a one bed apartment for a 2 night stay. Did not really know what to expect but was extremely pleased with the accommodation on the whole.

I will first though get a couple of things I really did not like out of the way first.

On arrival we could of been greeted with a warmer welcome. You would think we were a couple of travelling salespeople that were more of an annoyance with the woman manager on the reception....

There is virtually a book of do and don'ts dealing with the accommodation.Now I understand the need to have rules and the like for looking after property but this was over the top. Someone has way toooooooo much time on their hands and likes to make up silly comments about water heaters and which way hot water should be used.

But onto the accommodation themselves. As each one is owned privately, they are all different and have various furnishings and styles.

Our apartment was simple but light and airy with all you needed for a very comfortable stay with no frills. The kitchen was fitted out very well, fridge, full cooker, dishwasher etc, However the grill set the smoke alarm off each time it was used which was a pain. The pots crockery were fine to use had most of what you needed.

Bathroom compact with shower, basin and WC. A washing machine and dryer was a great addition to have. Fluffy white towels (but notes in the big book about what not to do with them)

Bedroom was ok size plenty of wardrobe space and draws, but do feel it the bed and bedding could of been of a better quality, pillows very cheap quality as well. There was a fan in the wardrobe and we did use it as it did get very hot, maybe air-con could be looked into.

The balcony provided a nice place to sit with a nice patio set, but the view over a waste ground was not so inspiring even if it was tidy, but you could see the green area with the ducks.

I thought the cleanliness of the apartment was very good, and even though we were near the lift noise was not a problem. We did not get to use the pool as there was so much else to do, but it looked very nice and well kept.

I really liked the area as a whole and thought it was a very good base to stay, even if it was on the more expensive side.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Englandsscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

The worst vacation of our lives. The moment we've checked-in this guy on the front-desk (old-man must be the owner/manager) was not welcoming. He was so rude and talked sarcastically and doesn't even smile on us. I don't know but I felt there was some racial problem under his skin. So please don't ever think of at least spending a night here especially if you're not caucasian. very poor rating on services and hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank batista12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in a one bedroom apartment on the street side. While the place is not cheapest option in Whitianga, in my view it is well worth the money. The fitout in the lounge is fantastic with modern furniture and decor. Did not use the pool or spa however it looked well maintained.
Overall an excellent place to stay and great location being only a 2 minute walk to bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pies1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Whent straight to Whitianga following our arrival to NZ. These apartments are modern, clean, good location and good value for money. Helpful reception staff. Used the pool and jacuzi several times whilst there. Lots of parking. Great little bakery next door ideal for sandwiches to take out in the day.

Overall great stay, would highly reccomend!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank villagirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

A good base to see the area from. Clean and well equiped appartments A 2 minute walk to the centre of town for restaurants etc

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnludkiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
512 reviews
16.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.8 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
435 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#11 of 18 in Whitianga
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Park Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Park Apartments

Address: 84 Albert Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range: $137 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marina Park Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the picturesque Whitianga Marina, and conveniently located just a two minute walk from the local shopping centre, our contemporary designed apartments are perfect for a luxury stay in the Coromandel region. In the town centre you will find an abundance of cafes, restaurants and bars, and boutique stores. It is only a short stroll to the ferry and the marina where you can choose from a number of boat tours. Other outdoor pursuits include tramping, kayaking, diving and sea fishing, or just relaxing on one of the many beautiful beaches nearby. Mercury Bay Golf Course also welcomes visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marina Park Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Park Apartments Hotel Whitianga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing