We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place - Exceptional Hosts - You won't be disappointed”
Review of Pipi Dune B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pipi Dune B&B
Ranked #4 of 42 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Place - Exceptional Hosts - You won't be disappointed”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This was our most enjoyable bed and breakfast stay on our trip in New Zealand. The room, while a little on the small side, had a private bath and entrance and was in new condition. Breakfast to order was ready for us each morning at the time of our choosing. It was delicious and there was cookies and tea available every day. Everything was very clean and the common area had a kitchen/bar with an attached comfortable living room with big screen TV and no-charge Wi-Fi. When we mentioned that we were going to "Hot Water Beach" (a nearby attraction) Vern appeared with a small shovel, large bucket, and beach towels, the essentials for making and cooling down your own Jacuzzi on the beach. Both Vern and Joan are exceptional hosts and will do their very best to ensure your stay is the very best!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Csprings99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    37
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
139
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were welcomed by cheery faces and great conversation by Vern and Joan. They made sure that us and our children were settled in properly and had everything we needed. It was a hot, sunny weekend and so it was lovely to stay in a place that was cool when we needed a break from the sun. It's only a short walk to the beach and such a family friendly area. I'm heavily pregnant so it was such a blessing to have comfortable beds and they offered me as many pillows as I needed! Lovely linen provided and breakfast met everyones liking. Thank you so much for such a great weekend away - highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorelleRenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were welcomed with tea, french press coffee, biscuits, and smiles...all the comforts of home! Breakfasts were delicious, cooked by Joan in her kitchen upstairs and delivered by Vern to the guest area downstairs via a fun little lift/elevator. (There was also a kitchen downstairs for guest use.) I loved the sliding glass doors and veranda just outside our room, planted with tropical flowers. Vern and Joan were so helpful and gracious, we felt like we were with friends. They went above and beyond to make us comfortable. We appreciated the use of the washer and dryer while we were there; a cooler, beach towels, bucket, and spade for Hot Water Beach; lemon curd and New Zealand honey; directions to the passenger ferry and advice on weather. We highly recommend Pipi Dune!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Springbrook77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The owners are very friendly, welcoming and talkative. The house is beautiful - downstairs for the guest, upstairs for the owners.

The choice of cooked breakfast is great.

The place is very clean and comfortable, the rooms not too big and there is a shared kitchen.

Overall, a very good choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Pipi Dune B&B in April 2013. The location of the B&B is very good, short drive to all places we wanted to see in the area. Joan and Vern were very helpful to assist us planning our activities. The hotel is very confortable, great breakfasts, and hosts very friendly. We felt like visiting friends. We will go back if we visit new zealand again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hab_and_Ber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at Pipi Dune in Feb this year for 2 nights. A very charming place just a stone's throw away from the coromandel coast. Very clean, quiet and comfortable room. The breakfast was scrumptious each morning and the hosts were very helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived. A model for excellent service and genuine hospitality. We would definitely choose to stay at PPDune on our next visit to the Coromandel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RudolfJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Vern & Joan provided an extremely warm welcome during our stay in Whitianga. They were very knowledgeable & enthusiastic in assisting us plan our activities. Joan's breakfasts were very good quality. The rooms were very nice although could have been a bit larger to accommodate our hefty luggage. The use of the common kitchen and large living area was very much appreciated.

In summary we would have no hesitation in recommending this Pipi Dune

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredTravellers03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
0.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 42 in Whitianga
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
320 reviews
1.2 mi away
At Parkland Place
At Parkland Place
#5 of 42 in Whitianga
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pipi Dune B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipi Dune B&B

Property: Pipi Dune B&B
Address: 5 Pipi Dune, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pipi Dune B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pipi Dune is a purpose built Bed & Breakfast with separate guest accommodation. Located in a quiet cul de sac and within easy walking distance of pictureque Buffalo Beach, guests can walk along the sand on their way to the town centre with its trendy restaurants and cafes.We have a guest lounge, kitchenette & satellite T.V. Also free of charge is wifi, a BBQ area and off street parking.A cooked breakfast from our menu is served at a time that suits our guests, is inclusive and part of our service. There is a self serve option.We are very happy to offer advice on where to go and what to see in our very scenic part of New Zealand.We provide picnic equipment & spades for Hot Water Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Pipi Dune B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing