We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Esplanade Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“All round happy”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights over Easter for my sisters wedding in the area. there was a big group of us (I believe the Saturday night all apparements were filled with wedding guests) I got to see 6 different appartments and they were all great!

We had a 2 bedroom that was on first floor overlooked the pool. we had ensuites on both rooms and an extra toilet off the kitchen that was also a laundry. it wasnt large but it did the job and big enough.

My Mum's room was also a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom and was really big! they had a big living room and balcony overlooking the Esplanade. it was a great room and I think it was only a little bit more expensive than ours. The girls in the bridal party got ready in here and there was heaps of room for the Hair dresser and make up lady to move around we were not squashed. At one time there was about 12 people in there plenty of space.

Dad's was a 3 bedroom that over looked the Esplanade it was a good size and the lay out was good.

Another in our party was a one bedroom that was pretty small but fine, if just 2 people it is perfect and a lot better than staying at a hotel with just a room.

Another in our party had a 2 bed 2 bath towards the back and I think this was inbetween our size and Mums size.

So they are all different but everyone was happy with what their room had and size, cleanliness etc.

Being a wedding group (and the hens/bucks was on one of the nights) we were a bit roudy and was only spoken to once about noise (which is fair enough)

We were all happy with the appartments and enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom on the second floor overlooking the water, was by far the best one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatLouBak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    28
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
28
30
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
RobertLondon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights during a stay in Whitianga. Had a 2 bedroom apartment situated at the back of the building. One bathroom with access to bed 1 and lounge. Small balcony overlooking the pool. Staff were helpful, apartment was clean and well equipped.

Used 'Blonde' restaurant once. The food portions were huge. Also used 'Salt' a few minutes walk away. If you are a foody I recommend 'Salt'.

Room Tip: Try for a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Came upon this block of apartments on the harbour's edge at the last minute and loved it: huge apartment overlooking the harbour; immaculately presented, furnished and clean; very modern; right on the edge of the town near bars and restaurants; sound safe parking; a great location for exploring the surrounding beaches. And great value for money.

Room Tip: Negotiate on price, and try to go for an apartment on the front high up (I looked at two others that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The online pictures look amazing, big bright with plenty of space. Our apartment was certainly none of these. We were on the south side of the building with no sun so the apartment felt very small and dark. Also the neighbours bedroom looked directly onto our balcony and straight into our bedroom so didn't feel private at all. I think over all this apartment was very badly designed.
The view from the bedroom to the marina was really nice though. The apartment was clean but there was allot of stains on the carpet. We did see some other apartments the next day through the door as they were being cleaned, they looked lovely just like in the pictures. I would advise asking for one of the bigger apartments on the sunny side of the building. This was our ten year anniversary so felt a bit let down, we even left a day early. Management were not very friendly either plus the spa cool was empty and full of leaves. On a positive note we went kayaking to cathedral Cove, it was amazing. one of the best things we have done ever.

Room Tip: ask for a larger apartment on the sunny side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chope66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orewa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Location, Location, Location.
This was our third visit to the Esplanade apartments and look you coudn't find a better place to stay anywhere in NZ. Great location, great apartments, very friendly hosts.
Park the car and walk to everything the town has to offer.
The Blonde restaurant in the same building is just great, great food and excellent service.
The gym and sauna was adequate and the outside pool was very refreshing.
We will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jontyorewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed her with my friend from Kerikeri on holiday visiting her, had a harbour view room which was excellent. Clean tidy and beautiful views could not fault our stay here. Pool fair size also found this to be clean also the spa. Did not have a problem with hosts found them to be really helpful,also ate at Blondes didn't have problem there either as stated by a previous reviewer. Close to beach, ferry and restaurants. I would stay here again, the only draw back was I have travelled the world and have never had to pay for my stay at registration only when leaving.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waimara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here with my wife and 7 month old child for two nights. Apartments are in a great location, close to buffalo beach, ferry, restaurants and main street shops. We had the smallest configuration two bedroom apartment but still a very decent size with lounge room separating both rooms. Bathroom was big, kitchen had all facilities including oven and cooktop. Sky tv in room was great. Had read other reviews citing noise as a problem. We had an apartment that faced onto the pool (a bit higher than the pool level). There was some minor noise but nothing that stopped me having a granny nap during the day. Pool shuts at 8pm anyway. Our room was very well sound insulated and we never heard any other guests. I note the most recent reviewer had a issue with the hosts - in my experience we found our host Kelvin to be great and a real character. Three main downsides: no air con means that the rooms on the north side (pool side) do get warm during the day but ocean breeze at night does cool things down quickly; wifi is not free when it should be given the high season cost; and our bed was also too soft and saggy for our liking. These things are why this gets 4 stars and not 5. However, on balance the room, location and service mean that I would stay here again. But get air con please!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn_Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
0.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
76 reviews
1.1 mi away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marina Park Apartments
Marina Park Apartments
#6 of 23 in Whitianga
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterfront Apartments
Waterfront Apartments
#3 of 23 in Whitianga
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Apartments

Property: Esplanade Apartments
Address: 8 Esplanade, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplanade Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade Apartments are only a stone's throw away from the Whitianga town centre, beach and harbour. Guests have the choice of modern one, two or three bedroom apartments, with en suites, open plan living and access to resort style facilities including spa, swimming pool . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Esplanade Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing