We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Centennial Heights B&B
Ranked #36 of 42 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Quite disappointing”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The room was adequate but the walls thin and lacked any serious sound insulation with intrusion from the next room. Set high off of the State Highway 25 the view from the road and the main house is great; alas the guest rooms look out across the off street parking and the pretty garden.

Facilities were passable and internet access good but the TV from the stone age with very limited in the number of channels. The bed was comfortable and the linen clean and of good quality, however, the breakfast items restricted but we were given a jar of homemade jam on our departure.
We would have appreciated more contact with the owners as this too was limited and not what we have become accustomed to whilst travelling New Zealand but this could have been due to the growing family requiring more full attention. The area is good but we would probably think twice before rebooking – not our best experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was a disappointment. Firstly the advertising said lovely views from the living area - but this was the owners place. The B&B had no views at all. Then the TV was an old clunker with 3 poor channels. Finally their was no soundproofing between the units and we were kept awake listening to every word of the long conversations next door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwimorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Nearly 10 years ago my now husband and I were helping to put on a large music event for new years in Whitianga. After the event was finished we were exhausted and the idea of driving back to Auckland was overwhelming but we were too broke to stay anywhere for the night. Some friends of ours decided to find a place to stay and managed to find this lace which had a room free. The room had a huge walk in wardrobe which easily fit a double mattress and the hosts very kindly let us share the room with our friends for a small extra cost. they had only just started up the b&b and I recall how well presented it was, the halls even smelled like lavender and every small detail was catered for. The hosts were very friendly and we shared a pleasant drink with them for the evening before retiring to bed. Even though we were young, broke, grubby from camping and barely coherent from lack of sleep, they were very accommodating and treated us just like any other guests. The breakfast the next morning was AMAZING, a huge spread which even included fresh grape juice. I still,remember that breakfast like it was yesterday, and it was lovely to eat it out on the deck. I am looking forward to one day returning with my husband for a proper stay and thanking the hosts for their kind hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We had trouble finding a place to stay over New Year so had to stay quite a way out from Whitianga. The accommodation comprised of a few rooms built into the side of a house on an estate, but what a house! We were made to feel so welcome. On our arrival we were sat down on the balcony and offered a beer. The next night our hosts were... hosting... a New Year's party which we were invited to. It was the first time we've spent New Year away from family and friends, but we made new friends that night. The beer and wine kept flowing along with the haggis (no-one else was brave enough!) An amazing experience, lovely views from the balcony, but a pity about the out of town location.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland (ex-UK)
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Johanna & Paul made us very welcome from the very first moment. Almost like being one of the family!

The view is absolutely awesome and our first opinion was that New Zealand couldn't get much better than this.

Our first trip was so good we stayed a second time! We hope to return soon for a third....

Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tattie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2008

Paul and Johanna are the best hosts you could possibly have at a B & B. The accommodations are simply wonderful. The view from Centennial Heights is one of the most breath taking views you will ever see. The next time I travel to New Zealand, I will stay at the Centennial Heights B & B, without question, and so should you. I highly recommend it.


Jeff W.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Maestrobing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2008

Centennial Heights provides pleasant luxurious hotel standard accommodation accompanied by bed and breakfast ambiance in the beautiful New Zealand seaside community of Whitianga. Hosts Paul and Johanna are very friendly and provide excellent recommendations for activities and dining in the area, while Mollie the collie was a great guide dog on our beach walk. Our room and bathroom was very clean and spacious. Most rooms have exterior access. Great value.

  • Liked — friendly hosts and fabulous views
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marwarAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
2.0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
2.1 mi away
Albert Number 6
Albert Number 6
#7 of 42 in Whitianga
127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
424 reviews
1.4 mi away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
264 reviews
3.2 mi away
Whitianga Bed & Breakfast
Whitianga Bed & Breakfast
#24 of 42 in Whitianga
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centennial Heights B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centennial Heights B&B

Property: Centennial Heights B&B
Address: 141 Centennial Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centennial Heights B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of Whitianga and stay in stylish accommodation at affordable prices. Awake to sound of tuis, spectacular sea views from the living area and enjoy a delicious self-catered breakfast. Your hosts, Lee & Marlene, will do their best to make your stay a pleasant and memorable one. Situated overlooking Simpson's and Buffalo Beaches, both are within walking distance. Whitianga is the ideal place to enjoy the sights and activities the Coromandel has to offer. We also provide local knowledge about holiday activities in the area and we also do bookings on your behalf at no extra charge. Just ask us! We will do everything possible to make your stay as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Centennial Heights B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing