We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place with Kangaroos and koalas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yanchep National Park

Yanchep National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$131.07*
and up
Pinnacles and Yanchep National Park Day Trip from Perth Including Lobster Shack...
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Yanchep
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Please note, due to low water levels, there are currently no row boats at Yanchep National Park. Whether you‘re looking for a day trip near Perth or a quick stop on your journey to the Pinnacles or further north, Yanchep National Park (just 45 minutes north of Perth city) provides you the opportunity to experience kangaroos, koalas, limestone caves and Aboriginal culture in a natural setting. Enjoy a game of golf on our 9 hole natural course, book your special occasion in our purpose made Cabaret Cave, walk along one the park’s trails (ranging in distance from 500mtrs to 55kms), enjoy a picnic in the natural surrounds or savor your appetite at one of the dining facilities located in the park.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place with Kangaroos and koalas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We liked this park very much for its great natural view, gentle breeze. You can see lots of Kangaroos in the afternoon and Koalas who sleep 23 hrs each day and live only 15 years..So its nice to see both of them in one place. There are lots of BBQ points.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RuhulBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    173
    37
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An excellent day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

A car is needed to visit the National Park as there is no public transport and the distances would make it impossible to get around without a car.

There were ample opportunities to see Koalas sleeping in the trees and coming down to feed in the special compound where eucalyptus leaves are left for them to feed on. There were also ample opportunities to see Kangaroos which come out in large numbers to feed at dusk. there are some around the day too especially if the grass is wet.
Plenty of parrots and birds of all colours are also to be seen.

There are a number of BBQ's available for use on the green behind the restaurant.
The restaurant offers a range of meals and snacks to suit most, and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

I visited this park 3 times at different times of the day and was delighted each time.

I understand that a fee is paid on entry for a car which can be used for visits up to 1 year

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Keithwhitley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
203 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Kangaroos and koalas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

On a day trip from Perth to observe the grey kangaroos and koalas. Whilst initially seeing a few kangaroos by the near golf course there were plenty sat under the trees and in the bush by the lake. Excellent photo opportunity, you could get quite close.
Entered the koala sanctuary and spotted a few koalas asleep and one actually eating.
Only there for one hour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marrowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice laid back area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Enjoyed the wildlife, getting up as close as we could good café and tourist information, barbeque areas and lots of seating to accommodate. Children love this park

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J20SOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A good day trip from Perth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Even with the lake dried up, this park is still worth a visit. We only stayed for an hour (as we were on our way to the Pinnacles) but otherwise would have liked to stay and explore the park further. Whilst there we did the Crystal Cave tour and took a walk through the Koala sanctuary (seeing Kangaroos around the park on the way).

If you are visiting the caves, ensure you arrive at the park 15 to 30 minutes ahead of time as you need to buy the tickets first before driving to the caves further into the park.

Also keep the national park entrance fee receipt as you can get into other National Parks (including the Pinnacles) for free on the same day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OTRA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yanchep National Park also viewed

 

Been to Yanchep National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing