We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Yanchep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yanchep Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Yanchep B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This review concerns the restaurant at the Yanchep Inn Hotel. My family went to the partake of the Friday Ribs Night. Having placed our order we were very disappointed to be told by the waitress five minutes later that there were no ribs available. Very poor that there were no ribs available on an advertised weekly Ribs Night and the obvious lack of communication within the restaurant with the waitress not being informed prior to orders being taken. We all went to eat elsewhere.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 98 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Managers and staff are amazing. the rooms are newly renovated- i see them often when delivering bridal flowers. The cave is amazing also. Food is brilliant...the staff are always quick to deal with you. Time frame can be long for food- depending on how many locals are in the pub and have ordered food before you have! We are usually happy to wait as the food is always great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josiej2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a very Ying and Yang sort of place. It can't quite make up it's mind as to what it wants to be.

Firstly the positive. It's in a National Park and if you're interested in kangaroos, koalas and other wildlife roaming free within touching distance you'll be really at home here.

Our reception was welcoming and the staff all tried hard to make us feel valued.

The Inn looks interesting from the outside though it has a very schizophrenic feel. It has a mock Tudor exterior though the black painted beams were not very convincing and it has a part Art Deco interior. The restaurant and bar areas are OK and I must say we did have a good evening meal on a Saturday night with a live duo crooning through some sixties ballads.

On the surface all is very well and good but on looking a little deeper the tables are worn and many of the chairs had broken backs and unsafe legs. The paintings around the dining area looked like they had been purchased as a job lot from a bankrupt stock sale and had been placed around the dado shelf with no idea of their look, feel or appropriateness.

We had booked a king bed room overlooking the lake and at $200 for the night expected to get something that was a cut above the ordinary. How disappointed we were. The room and indeed the whole block had been put together as cheaply as possible. The room itself was OK in size but the walls were either of bare limestone blocks or a very badly painted pastel blue giving it an unfinished feel. The furnishing were of the poorest kind looking like they had been picked up at a car boot sale. There was no luxury here just the very bare essentials. As for the bathroom, the cockroaches, dead flies and ants were enough to put anyone off.

The bed was not a king bed but two singles pushed together. The sheets were of the thinnest and cheapest material and there was only one pillow each. The bedside clock-radio did not work and there was no telephone connection to call for housekeeping to rectify the faults.

On the plus side the wifi worked though the broadband width was small resulting in a very slow download rate.

Overall this is a very poor place. We left with a feeling of being ripped off, that the owners were inconsiderate and greedy and that we would never return.

Our conclusion would be if you are considering visiting then please do so for the views in the park, the wildlife and to a certain extent the restaurant. But do not sleep here, there are far better options available close by in Jurien Bay, Two Rocks or Burns Beach where you will be able to find far better accommodation at a lower cost.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gallimaufry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed in what is classed as Spa room and paid a higher room rate to do so. Yes it did have a spa but it was really just a bath tub with spa jets. The room itself was just a standard room and nothing special to justify the price.

The biggest gripe I have with this hotel is that the stairwell leading up to our room was covered with dead mosquitoes and not just a few but thousands (guessing). They were piled up in the corner on each step. These should be vacuumed daily. We attended a wedding and the poor bride would have had to hitch her dress up around her knees to avoid dragging her dress through them.

On the positive side though the food was great as were the staff and the grounds are beautiful.
This could be a top quality place to stay if they upped their game a little.

Room Tip: talking to people who stayed at the old Inn I would recommend not staying in that part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozdi2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The food was great, the staff were friendly but the not so cheap and nasty motel type rooms need some TLC and updating oh and a carpark closer to them would be a bonus.
I paid less for a 2 bedroom apartment in Melbourne than I did for this very basic room. Our screen door out onto the balcony kept on coming off the runners and this didn't help the insect problem at night.
The cement stairs up to our room were covered in dead insects.
Towels, bathmats, handtowels were supplied by no facewasher......
Got up the next morning to make a coffee and once I had the sachet of Blend 43 open I found it to be rock hard.
On the upside the view from the balcony was great and as i mentioned the food and staff were wonderful :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vics63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Fantastic setting to stay at. The Inn itself is full of atmosphere and is quite old. Staff were friendly enough at reception with the manager taking us to our rooms. We had booked the last room available on the Father's Day weekend which meant we stayed in a King Suite with Spa and Lakeside Views. This is their most expensive accommodation and set in a block to the side of the original Inn. We had an upstairs room and had views of the lake and watched the birds and kangaroos grazing on the lawns below. The Koala Sanctuary was nearby. Families played on the lawns and it was a lovely peaceful setting. However I need to comment on the lack of cleanliness both outside and inside of our accommodation. Outside you climbed the cement stairs amongst dead insects, spider webs and goodness only knows what lying on the steps to reach your room. This area has not been cleaned in months. The room inside was better but still the glass wasn't very clean both leading onton the balcony and in the bathroom. The floors could have been cleaned a bit better as well. The room did however have a kitchenette with everything you might need, a very comfortable Kingsize bed. pillows were okay and the toilet and spa were clean. Shower was good too. The bathroom was decorated with a lot of thought and in its day would have definitely been thought of as a luxury bathroom but the mirror was old and scratched now and it looked to be a very ordinary bath with a spa knob. The room was a disappointment and they really need to look at revamping the place. Regular cleaning of the outside might not put you off before you even enter the room. The upside we found was the Restaurant back at the old Inn. We dined there on the Saturday night and really enjoyed both the meal and the entertainment. The service from the staff was great and nothing was too much trouble. We also breakfasted there and the buffet breakfast food was good. Would love to stay there again but would check if any renovating has happened beforehand. Also note that even though you are staying at the Inn you still have to pay the $11 National Park Fee to enter.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyideals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived to friendly staff and were given a up grade to spa bath room . Room was clean but a bit dull a few pictures on the wall would be nice. A huge bed which was nice . Lovely view from the room . Meals basic but nice. Overall had a lovely anniversary weekend. Would stay again but would be extra food with us

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neenienoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanchep
10.2 mi away
The Marina Hotel
The Marina Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mindarie
151 reviews
24.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
24.5 mi away
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Burns Beach Bed & Breakfast
Burns Beach Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Burns Beach
153 reviews
14.7 mi away
Joondalup Resort
Joondalup Resort
#1 of 1 in Connolly
239 reviews
10.7 mi away
SeaScapes Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yanchep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yanchep Inn

Address: 3499 Wanneroo Road | Yanchep National Park, Yanchep, Wanneroo, Western Australia 6035, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Wanneroo > Yanchep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yanchep
Price Range: $58 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yanchep Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yanchep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing