We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have been more perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empire Spa Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Empire Spa Retreat
Ranked #1 of 11 Yallingup B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
1 review
“Couldn't have been more perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

...the only thing i would have changed would be to have had a few more days!

Everything was amazing - the room, the breakfast, the staff, the peacefulness, the facilities, the jacuzzi, the muffins!(baked daily and can help yourself as much as you want!).

We decided against going out to eat and instead made use of the great cooking facilities and cooked our own bbq - it was so romantic and great and we were the only people there for the whole night.

Cannot wait to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitriona_Niamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    68
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
243
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

My wife and I just spent a Friday night of our weekend booking in one of the "Loft Suites". We booked on their $1080 Indulgent Rendezvous two night package and would like to share some of our experience.

On the whole, the retreat is very nice and the staff extremely friendly. However, we did have some problems with our "Suite". When I think suite, I think luxury, and

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L_S_V_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmpireRetreat, Manager at Empire Spa Retreat, responded to this review, April 2, 2010
Hello L_S_V Australia,

We are so dissappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at Empire Retreat.

Upon your early departure you did advise us of the problem you encountered with your suites bathroom and we have since rectified the problem.

Being our cheapest suite the Loft Suites are quiet small and are located above a communal area which is advised to all clients upon booking. We do have a selection of more Luxurious suites, you may consider in the future, which all contain deluxe spa baths (unlike the Loft Suite that only contains a shower), are much larger in size and offer an outdoor decking areas with uninterupted bushland and vineyard views.

I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your package contents and your treatments at Empire Spa.

We thank you for your review as we welcome any feedback guests have about their stay so we can continue to improve our hotel.

Regards
Management
Empire Retreat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

My daughter needed to do a field trip related to tourism for some of her studies at University. As we already lived in a tourist town, she had to choose some other location. I had stayed at Empire on a couple of occasions previously and had enjoyed myself immensely both times.

We inquired about a room in the Farm House and were advised it not only had a double bed but also a fold out lounge. Turns out both the bed and the fold out bed were extremely comfortable. The room was very spacious. (Big enough to feel as though we had our own space with out being two rooms).

My daughter remarked “It had all the features of a 5 star hotel with a lot more charm.” I thought it had a very elegant feel about it with lots of interesting antiques. The attention to detail is refreshing, the quality of the towels and robes first class.

Should you be lucky enough to get room 7, make sure you pull the blinds up in the morning. The view towards Mt Duckworth takes you through a maze of wonderful trees out into the farm. I was sitting having my early morning cup of tea and was greeted by two of the friendliest 28’s (parrots) I had ever seen. This was shortly followed by a pair of Rosella’ and a passing parade of Honey eaters.

Even though the weather Gods were not too sure about the fact that it should have been spring, we were lucky enough to just get a few passing showers. A walk around the gardens is always special and I recommend a wander down to the dam and onto the vineyard.

My daughter took advantage of the Spa and had a selection of treatments. She came back ever so relaxed and pampered.” Love it” I think she said.

The Retreat had just undergone some serious renovations. Fresh paint and furnishings were in abundance everywhere and the new lay out is much better.
The pool table has been moved to where the old front desk/office and gift shop was located. This room has in turn been enlarged and a state of the art gym will be installed shortly just to the rear of that. Jay the manager was very excited about the changes. They were still working on the alterations when we were there. He was very conscious not to have the on going alterations impact on our stay in a negative way.

Tina who was in charge of front of house during our stay was as proud as punch about all the great new changes. Her helpful tips on where to go on our study tour was much appreciated. Nothing was too much trouble.

The entrance now takes you passed a delightful new garden and water feature, on into a sitting room complete with huge tile file which gets lit every night. The lounge adjacent to this room has the big TV and open fire. It’s a communal room but we were lucky enough to have it to ourselves. Lots of scatter cushions and deluxe throw rugs were in abundance, to make you feel right at home. Also an abundance of very tasteful original art works. The fire is set every morning and can be lit at any time. The dining room has had a make over and looks fresh as the proverbial daisy.

It is hard to put your finger on why Empire Retreat Spa is so different and so special. I have read a lot of the reviews posted. Different people enjoy different aspects. Perhaps it is more than just the way they have combined classic country and urban chic in their furnishings and feel, more than the great food and the excellent service. It appears at every turn you are surprised with some stunning new discovery, a sitting Buddha or the giant 200 year old teak doors. Also the way the garden envelops the development with the abundance of grass trees and giant eucalypts. I guess it is a difficult thing to single out the essence of the place. Perhaps I should not try!

In saying that, mention must be made of the entrance as you first drive off Caves Rd. The grand vista as you drive in that takes in the grassed area down to the dam, the geese and the old shearing shed at the rear is a great start. My daughter just loved the tranquility.

It seemed to set the mark for what was to come. Not overstated, just perfect.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Global46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

We just recently returned from a weekend at Empire Retreat and had a fantastic time there. Arrived mid afternoon and greeted by the very helpful Claire, who was an absolute delight during our stay. Rooms are very spacious with wonderful king bed, good sized spa bath. As pics show there is also an outside private shower though was rather too cold for that during our visit. The facilities included the spa of course, plus a communal pool room (with fire) and a communal lounge area (with massive tv). A kitchen was also available for people to make own meals (which I don't think anyone has ever done!) Our package included breakfast which was a nice array of cereals, different sweets (pancakes / mini slices), croissants, juice, toast etc plus a small selection of cooked breakfast dishes. All in all a very enjoyable experience. Location was good too - just 5 km from Dunsborough and not far from Margaret River either. Note in Dunsborough, highly recommend Food Farmacy - will do separate review of that.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank houndkwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

We were given a voucher for Empire as an engagement present, and used it for our wedding night (Friday) and the following night (Saturday).

They were very accommodating in allowing my husband to check in early on our wedding day in order to get ready, as well as allowing the photographer to take photos in the communal guest lounge area and grounds.

When we arrived late on our wedding night, I was a bit disappointed to see that they'd not made any effort to acknowledge our special event, but having said that the room itself was very nice.

In the morning, we had breakfast delivered to our room which was great - first to be delivered was some bircher muesli, bakery items, fruit plus OJ and coffee. About 15 mins later our hot food was delivered - a fairly decent serve of poached eggs, bacon, tomato and mushrooms.

Because we had lots of friends and family staying in the region over the wedding weekend, we left Empire about 10.30am on Saturday morning and didn't return until about 11pm that night. When we opened the door and switched on the light, we were greeted with our breakfast leftovers still on the table where we'd left them in the morning, an unmade bed and no fresh towels. Despite the retreat having only about 20 rooms, they'd somehow missed servicing ours. Being so late at night we figured it was too late to get it addressed, so we just went to bed. Needless to say, this was a real disappointment and completely unacceptable for this type of resort (especially at almost $400AUD a night).

The next morning we had an outdoor shower (which was great and very invigorating!) then went to breakfast in the main restaurant area. The continental selections were all set up buffet style, and orders for hot food were taken and individually prepared. Once again, the food was pretty good - but not amazing.

Unfortunately we had to check out without really taking advantage of all the amenities at Empire, namely the spa and the grounds - so please take this review in that context, I'm really only assessing the room, breakfast and overall service.

When we checked out we mentioned that our room hadn't been serviced the day before, and this was met with surprise by the staff member. She didn't look as horrified (or as apologetic) as I would expect at an establishment like Empire, and proceeded to tell us that it must have been because we'd eaten in our room rather than the restaurant, and normally they service the rooms while people are at breakfast.

We had a balance of just under $200AUD to pay over and above our voucher, and the staff member said that she would only charge us half the amount we owed to compensate.

To be honest, I found this ridiculous - at the very least we shouldn't have been charged anything extra, and just the way the whole thing was handled was quite disappointing.

Seeing everyone else's reviews it does seem that this might be an isolated incident and I fully appreciate that mistakes happen, it was just very unfortunate that it happened at the start of our honeymoon.

Despite this issue, the retreat itself is lovely and would be a great place for couples for a night or two when in the region. I do however, think it's overpriced for what you get in terms of amenities and service.

With increasing competition in this "luxury retreat" space in the Margaret River area, I think there is better value to be had elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Empire Spa and Retreat for 4 days during January. The room was fantastic. It was spacious with all the facilities we could have asked for, including an outdoor shower (didn't try this as we're not fond of bugs), big spa bath and a fridge (which is useful when it's 30 degrees) or you want to bring back food you've bought while visiting the various vineyards.

The staff were extremely helpful, making many very useful suggestions for our trip. Upon Tina’s suggest we attended a local music festival ‘Down at the Damn’, which was good fun and added to the trip. Breakfast each morning was fantastic. There was a buffet with freshly baked goods, cereals, fruit and yogurt and hot cooked breakfast if you could fit any more in.

We also spent a morning at the Spa getting a facial and a massage. The staff again were lovely and the treatment left use feeling very relaxed.

The location of Empire Retreat is also really good as it is situated between Dunsborough and Yallingup. It’s worth noting that there are few restaurants in the area that serve in the evening and those that do usually shut the kitchen around 9pm. We were caught out and ended up having to get a takeaway Pizza. I can’t remember the name of the place but it had Pig in the title and the pizza was lovely. With hindsight, we would have used the barbeque facilities at Empire Retreat.

All in all we had a fantastic stay. I’d recommend this place to anyone and hope to go back myself some day.

  • Liked — Rooms and food.
  • Disliked — We came across a Huntsman spider one night!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank And_Off_we_go_again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
195 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2009

This was our first stay at this property and it was excellent. The rooms were beautiful. Our room was as advertised with spa batch, outdoor shower, deck, and flatscreen television. There was coffee making supplies for plunger coffee and tea.

We had a larger villa that had a separate sitting area, table, and microwave. Our daughter had a room that was basically the same but without the additional space.

Breakfasts were wonderful. There was a buffet with cereals, juices, yoghurts, and fresh fruits, and four types of toast. Each day there were other freshly baked items. There is cooked breakfasts available and they were excellent. I tried all of the different cooked breakfasts and they were plentiful and good. Service was superb.

We liked the location of the property and its convenience to the restaurants in Dunsborough. The property has a full kitchen which guests are encouraged to use as well as a large barbecue. We used both to prepare two dinners. There is also a hot tub and sauna but we did not use these.

  • Liked — Service, setting, breakfasts.
  • Disliked — Limited television channels
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
6.1 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
0.6 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
22.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
5.6 mi away
Injidup Spa Retreat
Injidup Spa Retreat
#4 of 11 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
7.4 mi away
Cape Lodge
Cape Lodge
#1 of 13 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Spa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Spa Retreat

Property: Empire Spa Retreat
Address: 1958 Caves Rd, Yallingup, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Yallingup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Empire Spa Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a world of luxury and seclusion like no other…Empire Spa Retreat is nestled within 265 acres of tranquil undulating pastures, undisturbed bushland and the Empire Estate vineyard. With 10 spacious, stylishly appointed suites, this luxury hosted accommodation ensures complete sanctuary from the frenetic pace of urban life. During your stay immerse yourself in the indulgence of Empire Spa. This state-of-the-art, purpose built spa is designed to pamper your body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Empire Spa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Spa Retreat Hotel Yallingup
Empire Retreat Hotel
Empire Spa Retreat Yallingup, Margaret River Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing