We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Weekend”
Review of Empire Spa Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Empire Spa Retreat
Ranked #2 of 12 Yallingup B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had an enjoyable weekend at Empire in November 2013 to unwind after engagement celebrations. Empire Retreat came well recommended so we booked a luxury villa for 2 nights.

Both my fiancee and I are big fans of the Margaret River region for the hiking, caves, beer, beaches and of course, wine. This, whilst far from our first visit to the area, was our first at a retreat style venue.

Located about 5km west of Dunsborough and 5km east of Yallingup, the location is handy for access to dinner spots whilst still being within a modest 30-45min drive from most of the wineries and caves.

The Good - The setting was nice, not sensational, but peaceful. The villas are large and pleasant. Staff are welcoming but distant enough so you really feel alone whilst staying there. Kangaroos, possums and frogs all add to the natural setting. A nice lake if you feel like a stroll. The day spa is excellent and well worth a visit. I can certainly recommend the Revive massage. Lunch at Vasse Felix was fantastic.

The Not so Good - The villa was very nice but it was more about solitude than views or setting. Overall quality and delivery doesn't match the asking price. Lacks polish.

The retreat offers some small but pleasant common rooms, a kitchen, a pool room and a small grassed area that is very appealing. The open plan room featured a fireplace, large bed, nice shower/spa, table and chairs, small kitchenette with microwave (time for a new one!) and a nice lounge area. The balcony, whilst small was secluded and more than adequate. With the fireplace going I think this would make a great winter get away.

Empire Retreat is a great place to stay, nice setting and good location to base yourself for a trip to the area. The villas offer the solitude required to share some relaxing times with a partner, a good book and a glass of wine.

We suggest a package deal as they offer better value combining lunch, a massage, wine and breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveInWestOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for Empire Spa Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 329 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Me & my partner stayed at empire on a the indulgent rendezvous package in September.

Pros: Romantic location and grounds – no noise, no traffic sounds – it was so peaceful and relaxing. Lovely massages with experienced, proffessionals. Breakfast was another highlight – absolutely delightful. Poached eggs were perfect and great selection of fruit, cereals and muffins. – even the coffee was gorgeous! Rooms very clean and maid service great! Nice little hamper of useful items too (to borrow), like umbrella, matches and torch.

Cons: Although the room was nice - for what we paid I felt it could have been that little bit better. The robes were starting to get that rough texture from too many washes. We also got “upsold” a bag of Epsom salts at the spa - $25 for a bag of salt and clay. As much as it was our fault for buying it, I did felt the sales pitch was a little bit strong right after a massage, and we kind of felt obligated. Mind you, that’s probably a reflection on us.

Overall though, im nitpicking, and we had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in September on a wintery weekend in a Courtyard Suite.

The room itself was lovely with a comfortable king size bed and lovely spa bath for a cosy two people. While the room was lovely, I think next time we'd choose one of the villas for some more living space.

Empire itself has lovely rustic grounds and it is worth while just spending some time wandering around the property. We had a couples 90 minute massage in the day spa that was the perfect way to start our weekend. The day spa is a definite must for that extra bit of pampering.

Breakfast on both mornings was lovely with a choice of several egg dishes - which could be a probem for non-egg lovers. There was also a small buffet of cereal, breads and muffins. Make sure you try the home made muffins - delightful!

A highlight for us was the open fire in the living area. We spent a few hours on a rainy afternoon with our books and red wine in front of the fire. This also gave is the opportunity to flick through the paper and magazines provided by Empire.

We will definitely be back to Empire and highly recommend it to those looking for a romanitc weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Opt for a villa for extra living space
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelFryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed for our honeymoon in the courtyard suite no.5 with the indulgent rendezvous package. This included lunch at Vasse Felix winery and 2 massages at the day spa.
Our room was perfect, secluded and tranquil. Very clean and comfortable with a huge spa and beautiful soaps and bath products. There was even a basket filled with little necessities like candles, matches, torch, umbrella and such. The bed was large and comfy and two welcome chocolates awaited us as well as two bottles of wine.
The mini fridge was stocked with luxury nibbles and refreshments from the region to purchase.
Fluffy robes and slippers completed our room!
The first night we had the tv room and fire place to ourselves with a cup of tea and muffins from the share kitchen in the main guest house after a fun game of pool.
Breakfast was great, an array of cereal, youghurt, berries, toast, spreads, pastries, fresh muffins, juice and yummy eggs anyway you want them - just ask for bacon too. Coffee and tea made for you. The grounds are lovely and ideal for a morning stroll after brekkie.
The massages at the beautiful day spa by expert staff were heavenly. However you need to book with them when you book your accomodation as we found out. The package was a gift and was assumed we would have been automatically saved a place, this was not so but they fit us in and thank goodness they did, as said it was the BEST!!
Lunch at Vasse Felix was exceptional. Food was yummy and service exceptional. It was perfect. There are beautiful walks and beaches very close by to Empire.
Must add when we were at breakfast our room was cleaned, towels replaced and bed made. It was a nice touch. The outside spa wasnt working but can imagine how nice it would have been with the views from it. Our room was under the loft rooms and you could hear them walking around when it was quiet but it didnt bother us.
A good holiday all in all and we highly recommend Empire. Its a little expensive and needs a bit of polish if you want to nit pick, however we want to stay again and you should too :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greengurl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Empire has it all for a relaxing, private couples getaway.
The accommodation if very peaceful, the rooms great and service friendly and not intrusive at all.
Breakfast is very good and served in a dining room which has a lovely view of the grounds.
While we stayed in a courtyard suite which was lovely, next time will probably stay in one of the villa type rooms with a balcony. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheetsW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

By far one of the best places in WA..beautiful location, great staff and blissfully relaxing day spa. A great place to truly get away from the hustle and bustle, even for just a few days, and feel revived and relaxed afterwards.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in a deluxe balcony suite. The property is very nice. The main house is warm and inviting. The walk to our suite was via a wooden walkway through green bush gardens. Our suite (no1) was modern yet comfortable and very large in size. We were immediately drawn to the large spa bath! Out on the balcony was a lovely view of native Australian plants and green fields beyond. There was an outdoor shower but it was way too cold during our stay to use it! The king size bed was comfortable to sleep in and the complimentary breakfast in the morning was delicious and filling. We would stay here again for sure and take advantage of the spa facilities next time!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyAndCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
5.9 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
0.5 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
324 reviews
22.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
#3 of 13 in Yallingup
227 reviews
3.6 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
156 reviews
5.6 mi away
Injidup Spa Retreat
Injidup Spa Retreat
#4 of 12 in Yallingup
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Spa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Spa Retreat

Address: 1958 Caves Rd, Yallingup, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Yallingup
Price Range: $221 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Empire Spa Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a world of luxury and seclusion like no other…Empire Spa Retreat is nestled within 265 acres of tranquil undulating pastures, undisturbed bushland and the Empire Estate vineyard. With 10 spacious, stylishly appointed suites, this luxury hosted accommodation ensures complete sanctuary from the frenetic pace of urban life. During your stay immerse yourself in the indulgence of Empire Spa. This state-of-the-art, purpose built spa is designed to pamper your body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Empire Spa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Spa Retreat Hotel Yallingup
Empire Retreat Hotel
Empire Spa Retreat Yallingup, Margaret River Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing