We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply gorgeous”
Review of Empire Spa Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Empire Spa Retreat
Ranked #2 of 12 Yallingup B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed in a luxury villa for two nights and it was a wonderful experience. A beautiful location, stunning interior decorating, and an outdoor shower! We visited the spa and had one of the best massages ever. I cannot recommend Empire Spa highly enough.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MediaTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 340 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

We splurged on the Luxury Villa Package for my birthday and added an additional night, staying a total of three nights. The ambiance was relaxed, the place tastefully decorated and private—just what we were looking for. From our first email message requesting information until the moment we checked out, we were given top-notch service. We enjoyed walking around the peaceful grounds, relaxing in the communal hot tub (which we had it to ourselves), and reading on the verandah of our villa, as well as a memorable lunch at Vasse Felix and superior massages in the onsite spa, both which were included in the package price. The staff went out of their way to arrange massage therapists to accommodate our schedule, and we thoroughly enjoyed the friendly and professional service throughout our stay.

The only negative comment I feel the need to mention is that the “gourmet” breakfasts were… not. That part of the experience was incongruous with an otherwise exceptional stay. The staff were lovely, however, the breakfast items were underwhelming (dry eggs with unattractive garnish, flavorless fruit, etc). Fresh-baked muffins were the one standout. If Empire Retreat can improve on what’s coming out of the kitchen, this place would get an “excellent” review from me without hesitation.

Room Tip: Villa #9 was very quiet and comfy, but tv blocks outdoor views when on upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emeraldcitysister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at Empire Retreat for 4 nights over Easter, in Luxury villa no 9. We have stayed there over 10 times since it first opened in 1999 varying in stays from 1 to 7 nights. We keep going back for a number of reasons:
- great service and hospitality. The management of the facility by Marion and Caitlin is first class. They are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Foremost in their minds is for you to enjoy your stay. Their housekeeper Noy plus other helpers look after the rooms/villas and also nothing is too much trouble for them (e.g. an extra rollaway bed)
- excellent facilities. The rooms are beautifully furnished. (Note: reference other commentaries, new curtains have been installed and they look great). In the luxury villa you have very private and quite accommodation (except for the fun of possums and other nocturnal creatures!), large sitting area/mini kitchen with microwaye and coffee machine, 2 chairs / and table, and open fireplace for when the weather is cooler. It is perfect for ‘eating in’. We always enjoy the outside shower overlooking the wonderful bushland. The outdoor deck is a perfect place to have a pre-dinner drink watching the sunset and taking in all the various birdlife.
There is also a communal kitchen in the old farmhouse and bbq etc for you to prepare a more substantial meal.
- nice touches. For example they have scented soaps from Vasse Virgin.
- great breakfast. This is served either inside or outside, and Andrea serves up a delicious cooked breakfast in addition to normal continental breakfast offerings. Also you can have the option to have breakfast in your room. They can arrange hampers for you to enjoy in your room/villa.
- the location is nicely situated between Dunsborough and Yallingup for access to the beaches, shopping, walking, and also it is within easy drive of the wineries and other local attractions.
We simply recommend you try and enjoy!

Room Tip: Luxury Villa no 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doyoulikeourname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent our honeymoon there and we couldn't have asked for anything better. Clean, spacious, modern villa and very private compared to other retreats we have stayed at. The gourmet hamper and wine is a fantastic way to start the afternoon off unwinding. The outdoor shower is a treat and something you just have to experience. Showering outdoors under the trees is truly a peaceful experience. Breakfast was awesome and then there's the day spa...well what can I say, they take you to another world. If you love being pampered and need to unwind that's the place to go.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonC176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed in the Courtyard Suite for 4 nights recently and the room was just lovely! A huge jacuzzi bath surrounded by windows that opened right out onto a private walled space filled with all sorts of palm trees. The king size bed was big enough to take a walk around and super comfy. The room was kept spotless and smelling beautiful all weekend by the lovely cheerful cleaners.

The whole retreat has a really laid back vibe and everyone made themselves at home very quickly - watching TV in the lounge, playing pool or having a BBQ. It really is just like a gorgeous glamorous hostel! With no backpackers ;)

Its hard to decide whether sipping champagne in the outdoor hot tub or my wonderful massage was the highlight of our stay in Empire.

The small touches made it really special - tea and cake always available and a gift of wine when we checked out.

The only possible suggestion I have to make it better are new pillows -they're pretty lumpy and I am an expert in snoozing!

As Manu would say about breakfast 'where is the sauce'?! Nice breakfast, but a little bit bland for me.I think when you're in a resort of this standard you expect excellence with everything and the breakfast fell a little short of that.

It was a fantastic stay in a beautiful location close to Dunsborough. Friendly, helpful staff and just the thing if you want a relaxing few nights away! Do it!

Room Tip: The courtyard suite was absolutely silent and just beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishSailor08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I have just spent 2 days at Empire Retreat and I am back at work today daydreaming of returning! The accomodation was lovely. From the moment you drive down the windy road and step foot into the lounge area you can't help but feel relaxed. We stayed in a loft suite which was spacious, modern and well equipped.
The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was a nice touch in a beautiful spot.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper the loft suite isn't the best choice as you may be woken by the kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LissA7982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I found that When you enter the empire spa retreat, you enter another world. a world that will take away all stress and concerns of the outside world.
The staff at the day spa and the retreat were the best I have come across. They transport you
to a place of peace and total relaxation. I have the opulence day package and an extra massage and all I can say it was unbelievable. The Courtisy hamper was fantastic. The wine is really enjoyable and the gourmet breakfasts were really enjoyable. I would highly recommend the Empire Spa Retreat to anyone looking to escape and be pampered. 5 star in my opinion.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Courtyard Room, a beautiful large suite. The room is very private with high walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
5.9 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
22.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
728 reviews
2.4 mi away
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
#3 of 13 in Yallingup
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Yallingup
167 reviews
5.6 mi away
Injidup Spa Retreat
Injidup Spa Retreat
#4 of 12 in Yallingup
122 reviews
7.5 mi away
Cape Lodge
Cape Lodge
#2 of 13 in Yallingup
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Spa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Spa Retreat

Address: 1958 Caves Rd, Yallingup, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Yallingup
Price Range: $201 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Empire Spa Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a world of luxury and seclusion like no other…Empire Spa Retreat is nestled within 265 acres of tranquil undulating pastures, undisturbed bushland and the Empire Estate vineyard. With 10 spacious, stylishly appointed suites, this luxury hosted accommodation ensures complete sanctuary from the frenetic pace of urban life. During your stay immerse yourself in the indulgence of Empire Spa. This state-of-the-art, purpose built spa is designed to pamper your body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Empire Spa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Spa Retreat Hotel Yallingup
Empire Retreat Hotel
Empire Spa Retreat Yallingup, Margaret River Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing