We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Propety”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Windmills Break

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windmills Break
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yallingup
Certificate of Excellence
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Propety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed for a week at Windmills Break last year and had a wonderful time. It was mid season so it was warm, not hot but perfect for walking their beautiful gardens. We had dinner there several nights and the service and food was excellent. Because we had such a great time, we decided to rent a house in Dunsborough for 3 months and have dined at Windmills several times. Again the food was really good and the service excellent

Room Tip: We loved staying right in the main hotel not in the cottages. I get up early so was able to go out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    68
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
247
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

A friendly welcome started off what was to become a most pleasant and relaxing stay. Windmills is a very convenient base to explore the local region. The rooms are well kept and clean, the external grounds provides many quiet nooks to read a book or whatever,the service is 100% courteous and the food is of a top standard. My only suggestion is that the dinner could be enhanced by providing a wider selection of wines by the glass, so one could try more of the local vino during the meal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meikant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Relaxing and friendly with well laid out grounds providing plenty of quiet spots to unwind. Staff were attentive although kept very busy during the evening service. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Food was pleasant but the cold plates with dinner meant it got cold too quickly, having mentioned that and got a complimentary cheeseboard, disappointed that breakfast was again on cold plates. Despite that we hope to return, though will investigate other evening eateries first

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SueandMarkinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed for three nights and wished we could have stayed longer! Our room and bathroom (spa bath) was lovely. We were in room 3 which was next to the dining area - there was no noise at all. We were welcomed warmly on arrival, shown around and breakfast etc was explained to us. We were then escorted to our room where again everything was explained. VIP treatment. Our room faced the garden which was delightful. The gardens were beautiful but unfortunately due to the cool weather we didn't get to experience the lovely pool. Next time. Dinner at Windmills is a 5 star experience. Windmills are lucky to have a gifted and innovative Chef. We only ate there one night as the restaurant was not open the other two nights of our stay. We would definitely have eaten there every night if possible. The service was excellent at the restaurant. Commendable. My husband and I felt very spoilt and relaxed here. Windmills is well placed to access the Margaret River wineries and other fantastic sites such as Prevelly where the Margaret River meets the sea and Cape Leeuwin where two oceans met. Did we mention the DVD collection and the nightly port? Wish we were still there!! I travel extensively for work staying in many 5 star properties throughout Australia. This is truly one of the best. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trysh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here for a birthday treat. Lovely location and convenient for Dunsborough, Yallingup and beaches, but only if you have a car.

Rooms are nicely fitted out and well equipped and we had a great spa bath. Good selection of dvd's available to borrow for free.

Staff were generally pretty good, but lacked the personal touch that you get at neighbouring Empire Retreat. The main dining and bar area is an attractive space with lovely log fire in the winter. It was cool and rainy during our stay, so we didn't get to sit outside. However, looks like the grounds are very peaceful.

Dinner was very good with adequate service. Breakfast a bit limited, but had a great cooked breakfast. Help yourself cafetieres in the lounge all day are most welcome (and include decaff. option).

Negatives are minimal, but there is a slightly soulless feeling to the place and you have to drive to get anywhere with nothing really within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

A few of months ago, we were lucky enough to squeeze in a quick break at Windmills - Food and service, excellent - spa suite is extremely comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very relaxing time spent in the area and lovely to come back to Windmills to sleep :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sythie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
240 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had an excellent weekend break away at Windmills, everything is as you would want. The grounds and facilities are excellent, the staff are helpful walking us around the grounds and into our room. We had a huge spa bath, great for unwinding after the drive down from Perth.
The best part of our stay was the restaurant, a true dining experience. 10/10 for the entree, main and dessert. We had wine to match, excellent. The fires in the dining room make a great atmosphere. Breakfast was as good as dinner, reading the paper in the sunny dining room.
We would recommend Windmills Break to anyone visiting Margaret River region.

Room Tip: Ask for a spa room with the garden view window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meatm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
6.3 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
22.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
3.1 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empire Spa Retreat
Empire Spa Retreat
#1 of 11 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seashells Yallingup
Seashells Yallingup
#2 of 13 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmills Break? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmills Break

Property: Windmills Break
Address: 2024 Caves Rd | PO Box 126, Yallingup, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yallingup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windmills Break 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windmills Break is a luxury 5 star resort located in Yallingup Western Australia - part of the Margaret River Wine Region. A Full Gourmet Breakfast is usually included in your tariff. With swimming pool, spa, gymnasium, tennis court and luxury furnishings in all rooms - Windmills Break is a small luxury resort. The property is fully licensed and has two 2 bars with food available most evenings. Room service is available. Windmills is a perfect romantic getaway destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windmills Break reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmills Break Hotel Yallingup
Windmills Break Yallingup, Margaret River Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing