We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So relaxing!”
Review of Windmills Break

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windmills Break
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yallingup
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, UK
1 review
“So relaxing!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

A lovely place to unwind in a great spot. Windmills has great staff, well equiped and comfy rooms and the (free) port by the fire in the evening is the icing on the cake. My wife and I have stayed here before and on this visit to MR being pregnant all she wanted to do was come to Windmills, do not much and well, mainly just sit and read by the fire, drink tea and eat the free muffins. We can always recommend Madfish/Howard Park for good wine, Voyager for the amazing grounds and rose garden and for some lovely pottery give Willyabrup Dreaming a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    70
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
254
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had an amazing time break away at Windmills. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms and gardens were beautiful. Breakfast was lovely start to the day in the cozy restaurant and the Expresso Martinis by the fire each evening was the perfect way to end our day. We didn't venture far during the day with Clancy's Fish Pub 3ks east and Caves House 3ks west, perfect positioning!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jtare81b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My partner gifted me a luxurious three night stay here for my birthday. The staff are very helpful, friendly and professional without being overbearing. Only disappointment was an unexpected closure of the restaurant during our stay however Windmills is so close to Dunsborough this wasn't really a problem. The included gourmet breakfast is the best we have ever experienced and can also be served in your room for added luxury. We will definitely be returning to this little slice of paradise again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frommyisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

With baby due in a couple of months, my husband and I wanted a quiet and relaxing holiday retreat to enjoy our time together. The Windmills break was the perfect place for us to have chosen. The most impressive thing were the staff. All of them were so personable and friendly and we felt like they couldn't do enough to make our stay the best possible. It's this kind of service that is lacking in so many hotels in Australia and such simple things make the biggest impression. We were lucky enough to be given a room upgrade as we booked in for a week. The room was spacious with quality furniture and the king sized bed was very comfortable. Our favorite spot was next to the beautiful fireplace in the lobby with cosy chairs. We spent hours chatting by the fire, reading our books or playing one of the many board games they supply. Extra touches like all day muffins, pastries, chocolate, port, hot drinks etc were wonderful and a great bonus. Breakfast was great with lots of choice and we absolutely loved the dinner menu. The food was top class and reasonably priced for the area. We left feeling relaxed and felt this was one of the best weeks away. We hope to be back soon if we can find a baby sitter!!! Thanks again for a lovely stay Windmills break.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenpotter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We recently spent four nights at Windmills Break and would definitely recommend this boutique hotel. The rooms are a good size and the king size beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms have all the required features. Everything was very clean. The breakfasts (included in the tariff) were very good and the choice was excellent. We had originally planned to have only one dinner, but ended up staying in on three nights. This was because the menu had a very good range at a reasonable price for the South West and the quality of the food was outstanding. In addition, there were little touches like a daily newspaper, bottles of water, glasses of port, chocolates, dessert wine tastings and a bottle of wine on departure all complimentary.
Being positioned between Dunsborough and Yallingup makes visiting both towns very easy and they are only minutes away.
A special mention must be made of one staff member. Erin was there when we arrived, we saw her during each day and she was on hand serving us every night. Nothing was too difficult for her and the ease with which she interacted with the guests was both professional and friendly. She is a treasure.
We will definitely be staying at Windmill Breaks the next time we are 'down south'.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The most impressive part of our recent stay at Windmills Break was the staff. Without exception, each of the staff members that we interacted with on our 2 night stay were friendly and polite, and very helpful. From check in, where we were walked to our room and shown around our room, to dinners and breakfasts, we were impressed.
The property itself is well located, and well presented. Our room was neat, tidy and large. The lounge and bar area were a cosy area on the winter afternoons to sit and read a book in front of the open fire and to partake in a nip of the free port on offer.
We ate at the restaurant both nights and were satisfied with our food. Breakfasts (which were included in the price of the room) were also excellent.
It is an expensive place to stay, but in comparison to other Australian accommodations that we have stayed at with similar prices, we felt that the price was more acceptable because of the good attitude of the staff and the way they made the guests feel so welcome. This is not necessarily a common trait in all Australian hotels, like it is in some of the bigger overseas resorts.
Perhaps the best way to recommend this hotel is by saying that we look forward to being able to go back one day in the not too distant future, so long as we have someone to again look after the kids for a few days!

Room Tip: This is not a resort for children and it is written in numerous places on the property that it does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VactionTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Windmills Break for one night and were very impressed by the service offered by the friendly staff.  The room was extremely clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was big with a Jacuzzi that was good for relaxation, particularly after sightseeing for a whole day.  We sat in the lounge next to the fireplace and enjoyed the quiet and cosy atmosphere there.   Dinner at the restaurant was superb and the food was tasty.   Moreover, with free Wi-Fi, we could obtain updated information and further refined our itinerary.  Should we visit Margaret River or Yallingup in the future, we would definitely stay in Windmills Break again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonnieHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
6.3 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
22.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
3.1 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empire Spa Retreat
Empire Spa Retreat
#1 of 11 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seashells Yallingup
Seashells Yallingup
#2 of 13 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmills Break? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmills Break

Property: Windmills Break
Address: 2024 Caves Rd | PO Box 126, Yallingup, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yallingup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windmills Break 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windmills Break is a luxury 5 star resort located in Yallingup Western Australia - part of the Margaret River Wine Region. A Full Gourmet Breakfast is usually included in your tariff. With swimming pool, spa, gymnasium, tennis court and luxury furnishings in all rooms - Windmills Break is a small luxury resort. The property is fully licensed and has two 2 bars with food available most evenings. Room service is available. Windmills is a perfect romantic getaway destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windmills Break reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmills Break Hotel Yallingup
Windmills Break Yallingup, Margaret River Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing