We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay the area”
Review of Windmills Break

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windmills Break
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yallingup
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“The best place to stay the area”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We recently spent four nights at Windmills Break and would definitely recommend this boutique hotel. The rooms are a good size and the king size beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms have all the required features. Everything was very clean. The breakfasts (included in the tariff) were very good and the choice was excellent. We had originally planned to have only one dinner, but ended up staying in on three nights. This was because the menu had a very good range at a reasonable price for the South West and the quality of the food was outstanding. In addition, there were little touches like a daily newspaper, bottles of water, glasses of port, chocolates, dessert wine tastings and a bottle of wine on departure all complimentary.
Being positioned between Dunsborough and Yallingup makes visiting both towns very easy and they are only minutes away.
A special mention must be made of one staff member. Erin was there when we arrived, we saw her during each day and she was on hand serving us every night. Nothing was too difficult for her and the ease with which she interacted with the guests was both professional and friendly. She is a treasure.
We will definitely be staying at Windmill Breaks the next time we are 'down south'.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    72
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
258
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The most impressive part of our recent stay at Windmills Break was the staff. Without exception, each of the staff members that we interacted with on our 2 night stay were friendly and polite, and very helpful. From check in, where we were walked to our room and shown around our room, to dinners and breakfasts, we were impressed.
The property itself is well located, and well presented. Our room was neat, tidy and large. The lounge and bar area were a cosy area on the winter afternoons to sit and read a book in front of the open fire and to partake in a nip of the free port on offer.
We ate at the restaurant both nights and were satisfied with our food. Breakfasts (which were included in the price of the room) were also excellent.
It is an expensive place to stay, but in comparison to other Australian accommodations that we have stayed at with similar prices, we felt that the price was more acceptable because of the good attitude of the staff and the way they made the guests feel so welcome. This is not necessarily a common trait in all Australian hotels, like it is in some of the bigger overseas resorts.
Perhaps the best way to recommend this hotel is by saying that we look forward to being able to go back one day in the not too distant future, so long as we have someone to again look after the kids for a few days!

Room Tip: This is not a resort for children and it is written in numerous places on the property that it does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VactionTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Windmills Break for one night and were very impressed by the service offered by the friendly staff.  The room was extremely clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was big with a Jacuzzi that was good for relaxation, particularly after sightseeing for a whole day.  We sat in the lounge next to the fireplace and enjoyed the quiet and cosy atmosphere there.   Dinner at the restaurant was superb and the food was tasty.   Moreover, with free Wi-Fi, we could obtain updated information and further refined our itinerary.  Should we visit Margaret River or Yallingup in the future, we would definitely stay in Windmills Break again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonnieHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Large bedroom, huge bathroom with a massive bath. Plenty of large towels and DVD's. Muffins and biscuits available if you are peckish at anytime with a large range of teas and coffee. Dining area and lounge area huge and very warm with an open fireplace. The outdoors area is beautifully set out (must come back in summer to use that stunning pool or play tennis!!).
Staff very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast yummy!!!
Thank you John for sending the top I left there back to me!!
Highly recommend Windmills break if you feel like being pampered!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthwestSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the lovely Windills Break and it was fantastic. On arrival we were made to feel completely at home in this intimate hotel. It was apparently fully booked for the weekend, but we often felt like we had the whole place to ourselves.

We had planned to spend more time exploring the region, but once we arrived the beautiful room, beautiful grounds and friendly staff had us hooked. We did strike out for a wine tour one day, but otherwise spent the weekend enjoying the facilities at Windmills. We lounging by the fire in the restraunt area, borrowed a number of DVDs, got wrinkled in the spa and had an amazing massage on site.

We ate at the hotel restaurant every night because the menu was so wonderful we just had to keep going back to try everything - and because we couldn't bear to miss our favourite dessert - the chocolate pave. The breakfasts were equally delicious.

We also have to comment on the staff and service - every single person there was extremely friendly - happy for a chat and always totally accomodating.

We will definitly be back at Windmills Break - the sooner the better!

Room Tip: All rooms look out over the gardens and would be equally wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had 2 nights in a premier spa apartment in June, and it was just lovely! Happy, friendly, helpful staff - that are not pretentious in any way. We felt very welcomed and relaxed from the minute we got there. The spa in our main bathroom was HUGE. The bed was comfy. The towels were soft and luxurious and large. We ate in the restaurant one night, service was great and food was yummy. What more could you want? Add to all of this, heaps of dvds to choose from to watch, muffins, chocolates and hot drinks available all day, gorgeous grounds with lots of birds and little secret spots, and that lovely double sided fire made it a wonderful winter break. And when we checked out, we were given 2 bottles of complementary wine. Smiles all round. Would love to return one day, perhaps in summer to try out the pool.
(P.S. Ignore any negative reviews, I think some people are just too hard to please.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in Windmills Break and we were extremely impressed with the quality of the service, the food and the overall feel of the place. It felt like a home from home. The open fire in the restaurant/lounge area was very cosy and we enjoyed curling up with our books or playing a game of Scrabble. The staff were extremely attentive throughout our stay and quickly sorted out a heater for our room when we mentioned we were feeling the cold.

We ended up having dinner twice in the restaurant and obviously breakfast every morning. Breakfast did not disappoint with healthy portions and delicious, local produce. Notable at dinner was the rabbit pate and the freshly caught octopus from Geographe Bay.

We really love the Margaret River and hope to return soon. We would definitely stay in Windmill's Break again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StoneCircles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
6.3 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
22.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
702 reviews
3.1 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
#3 of 13 in Yallingup
223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empire Spa Retreat
Empire Spa Retreat
#1 of 12 in Yallingup
329 reviews
12.5 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmills Break? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmills Break

Property: Windmills Break
Address: 2024 Caves Rd | PO Box 126, Yallingup, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yallingup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windmills Break 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windmills Break is a luxury 5 star resort located in Yallingup Western Australia - part of the Margaret River Wine Region. A Full Gourmet Breakfast is usually included in your tariff. With swimming pool, spa, gymnasium, tennis court and luxury furnishings in all rooms - Windmills Break is a small luxury resort. The property is fully licensed and has two 2 bars with food available most evenings. Room service is available. Windmills is a perfect romantic getaway destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windmills Break reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmills Break Hotel Yallingup
Windmills Break Yallingup, Margaret River Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing