We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look elsewhere for lodging”
Review of Cape Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Look elsewhere for lodging”
Reviewed May 13, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this lodge for two nights. Rooms are nice in terms of space. Food and ancillary services such as laundry are obscenely overpriced. A snack and vegetable platter for two at a charge of $180. We had small load of laundry that cost $170. The restaurant has a wonderful reputation, we did not have a chance to eat there. Breakfast is included as was nightly wine tasting. The accommodations were nice, but not to value with price, the setting was beautiful and afternoon tea time a plus.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rama J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remy_G_B, Manager at Cape Lodge, responded to this review, May 21, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. Needless to say we were extremely alarmed by your comments regarding the prices of our laundry and all day dining services and as a result we have conducted an investigation of these charges.

Our laundry and dry cleaning is sent off site and having checked have found the pricing to be in line with laundry charges throughout Australia. We have also checked the charge to your account which did equate to the amount of items which were sent to the laundry for cleaning and appreciate theses may appear high when compared to some other countries.

In regard to your comment about our All Day Dining prices the $180.00 price point mentioned in your review is for one of our signature Gourmet Seafood Dinner Platters for 2 people consisting of a full 3 course room service menu which includes of a large selection of fresh local seafood, entree, dessert and a bottle of wine.

Our All Day Dining menu also offers a selection of lighter dishes including salads, sandwiches, cheese plates and fresh steamed greens priced between $15.00 and $22.00 and I apologise that you may not have seen this as an option.

All in all were are extremely disappointed that you felt that Cape Lodge was overpriced as we are exceedingly proud of the excellent guest feedback we generally receive and view any shortfalls in the quality of our service and facilities extremely seriously. We genuinely welcome, appreciate and listen to all guest feedback in view that can constantly improve upon and deliver a fantastic hotel experience in our beautiful part of the World.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    81
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
18
347
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

It seems obvious from reading through some of the previous reviews that quibbles about the accommodation depend on which of several separate buildings, from an old original row of cottages to newer two-story blocks, you stay in. I had a huge room - an open plan suite I guess - on the first floor of one of the newer blocks near the restaurant. It had a very comfortable king size bed and the bathroom (with underfloor heating which was good in a chilly spell) featured a jacuzzi bath set in a large bay window overlooking the small lake, and separate walk-in shower. The balcony had table and chairs, but it was too cold to make much use of it. The rooms are fairly minimalist, and it strikes me as a place that has undergone a lot of upgrading to transform it from a more basic hotel into an Small Luxury Hotel property. Because it is a member of SLH you know it meets a certain standard, and should have no worries about the quality, but I suspect had it been purpose built from scratch rather than upgraded, the rooms would feel a little nicer: it would be unfair to describe it as the world's most luxurious Travelodge, but there's some truth in that. I'd stay there again though - my room was spacious and comfortable and had lots of nice touches like fruit, chocolates, cafetiere coffee and huge flat-screen TV.

The restaurant, overlooking the lake, is a definite reason to visit here. I ate in it twice, and the food was really excellent - very refined, Michelin star-type cuisine with local, seasonal ingredients and lots of fish, seafood and game. My veggie companion was well catered for too and it was her favourite food of this two-week business trip I believe. Breakfasts are excellent - cooked to order, and lovely muffins, etc.

The other great things about this accommodation are the grounds - really nice, filled with native plants and birdlife, and its very close proximity to the vineyards if that is part of your reason for being in the area. It;s also easy to get to the town of Margaret River where there's a good choice of shops and restaurants ('Must' was my favourite).

I am awarding 4 stars to the property based purely on the 'upgraded' feel and the fact that they failed to gete Internet working for 3 days, which was pretty essential to me as a business traveller. But really it is a 4.5 place, as it is lovely, different, and a place where I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotsmantravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2010

We stayed in one of the Garden rooms (the cheapest at $395 a night). Comfortable, nicely decorated but certainly not top notch nor good value. Bedside cabinet was chipped, no dressing table or desk, bathroom was no more than adequate, window was ill fitting, and on the first night we woke up at 2 to find a live cockroach in our bed. Grounds are attractive and pretty well maintained allowing for the recent lack of rain; plenty of wild life to keep you amused. Public rooms (lounge and restaurant bar) are superb. The food was quite outstanding and unlike the rooms not overpriced. Superb dhu fish, scallops and fillet of beef. Waiting staff polite and attentive but not intrusive. Breakfast also superb. I'd be surprised if there is a better restaurant in WA. Hotel seemed well below capacity (possibly fewer one third of 22 rooms occupied) which was surprising given the time of year but reflects the price of rooms perhaps. My advice - stay somewhere else nearby but eat here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthFiffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights over Christmas and had a lovely time. Rooms are in small blocks (4 per block) scattered around the grounds. We had a superior spa suite overlooking the lake with our own Kookaburra outside our window for most of the time we were there. The rooms were large, clean, modern with a large flat screen TV & DVD player (large library of films available at the hotel) and most importantly large comfy beds. The only criticism I could find with the whole hotel was the shower wasn't up to mutch!
Restaurant was excellent overlooking the lake with great food.
Very Very peaceful and relaxing. Not a place to take children - not because there's nothing for them to do (which there isn't) but because the other guests will definitely not appreciate them.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Floffy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2009

a wonderful place for relaxation & peace... quiet & well set up... staff are friendly & helpful... we stayed in the Forest Spa Suite & the room was big & very spacious with a bathroom complete with a jacuzzi... the room deco a bit dated.. a nice view of the lake & forest from our veranda... blissful...

stayed for 3 nights, Taste of Margaret River package... well worth it!!!...

a small quaint property... lovely garden... beautiful scenery...

the restaurant is great offering truly EXCELLENT food with good wines to go with it... dinner menu changes everyday... what a treat!!!

mobile phone on roaming did not have coverage unless we were out of the Cape Lodge area & no internet access in our suite. there is however a computer at the reception area & wifi at the restaurant & reception but could not get connected. quite hard as we were foreigners away from home...

all said & done, enjoyed my stay there and will go back... would also recommend Cape Lodge to others.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

I love Cape Lodge. Last time we went we got one of their best rooms (forest spa I think) that was the newest and most expensive - and it was gorgeous. The spa was big and had a big picture window framing green views. We were thrilled with it.

The food is fantastic and the restaurant service was excellent. The breakfast is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AthenaIsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

I have been in the Travel Industry for 35 years and have very high expectations for a 5 star property. Cape Lodge totally fulfilled all my expectations. On my second stay we were in a Forest Spa Suite which was truly magnificent. The food was to rave about and the service was excellent. I can highly recommend the property to all discerning travelers Judy Ashton

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
13.1 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
7.0 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
15.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
7.5 mi away
Empire Spa Retreat
Empire Spa Retreat
#1 of 11 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
6.2 mi away
Seashells Yallingup
Seashells Yallingup
#2 of 13 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Lodge

Property: Cape Lodge
Address: 3341 Caves Rd, Yallingup, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Yallingup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted World’s Best of the Best Hotels 2011, Best Boutique Hotel in Australia, World’s Top 20 Vineyard Hotels 2010, Conde Nast Traveller Gold List "Best for Food" 2011 & 2012. Sitting on its own secluded vineyard in the heart of the Margaret River Wine Country is one of Australia’s finest small vineyard Lodges. As you meander down the winding driveway of our intimate country estate you will discover why Cape Lodge was voted Luxury Travel Magazine’s Best Boutique Hotel in Australia and listed in Conde Nast Traveller’s Gold List 2011. Surrounded by stunning forest, lake and parkland scenery Cape Lodge is only minutes away from pristine beaches, coastline and the sparkling waters of the Indian Ocean and neighbors the great Margaret River wine estates of Mosswood, Vasse Felix, Cullen and Pierro. Described as one of Australia’s finest new generation gourmet establishments the multi award winning gourmet restaurant was ranked in the Top Ten in the World for Food and has recently opened a Gourmet Retreat and Cooking School. Cape Lodge features 22 rooms and suites, the executive five bedroom Private Residence, an all weather tennis court and a beautiful free form swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Cape Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Yallingup
Cape Lodge Yallingup, Margaret River Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing