We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway - fantastic food”
Review of Cape Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway - fantastic food”
Reviewed August 13, 2009

The last reviewer was not impressed by Cape Lodge which almost led me not to book it. The other positive reports seemed at odds so we thought we would try it. We found it a charming country retreat with large well equiped rooms (Superior Spa Suites) - the restaurant is simply fantastic - the best we have experienced in a long time. The last resort we went to with similarly good food was Bedarra Island. Local rumour has it when Sting stayed here he tried to snaffle the entire restaurant crew to tour with him while in Oz. The staff in all departments were great.

The last reviewer said the sofa & pillows were old and soft. Both are feather (down) filled - which is why they are so soft and in our room they definately weren't old. I don't actually like these ultra soft sofas & pillows myself, fortunately there were firmer pillows in the cupboard.

We were in a ground floor room (recommended) so we had a nice patio out the front. The upper floor balconies did look a bit small.

All the lakes were 100% full - they have had plenty of rain recently

The location is near Evans & Tate, Cullen and Saracen Estate wineries and 10 min drive to Dunsbrough or a 20 min. drive to Margaret River town.

It's not cheap - I guess you get what you pay for! We would stay here again when visiting the Margaret River region.

We did a winery / scenic tour with the Margaret River Discovery Company - a really good day out.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TedStriker8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    85
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
18
353
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

My husband and I arrived late. It was wet and cold. We had been up and travelling for over 14 hours. Reception was pleasant enough. We were delighted to hear we had received an upgrade.

No one could imagine our disappointment.

We were tired. We really couldn't appreciate the absurdity of a spa/shower facility in the middle of the room with venetian blinds on the outside to provide privacy!!!

A little better than a motel room. Bland, boring colour. A small uncomfortable sofa not even big enough for two adults to share.

A verandah that could barely accommodate the small table and chairs overlooking a dried out lake..

Boring furnishings.

Pillows that were so old it was impossible to have a good night's sleep. And the smell. I got new pillows. Equally uncomfortable but without the nasty smell.

The restaurant manager, Chris, was charming.

We lasted 3 of 6 nights.

The rest of our holiday (1 week) was spent in the incredibly beautiful, new and spotless Indijup Resort. We loved every second ot it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boris00Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Cape Lodge is one of those rare places where it is actually nicer than it looks on the internet. We had booked the cheapest rooms – the garden suites and I was worried that they might not be nice. They were lovely – as was every aspect of the stay.

Check in is at the main house where there is a lounge with coffee and muffins, a room with a computer and free access to the internet, a small gift type shop area and the reception. We arrived early and the helpful lady on reception checked the status of our room, which would be ready in about 10 mins and offered us coffee in the lounge. There is also a pool area to the right of the main building.

The room is one of around 4 garden suites I think. We were room 6. They are close to the main house and are a single story terrace block of 4, each with a little outside terrace with table and chairs and sun brolly. Inside the bedroom is spacious with a large window overlooking the lawns and towards the small lake with the restaurant on the left. There is a pleasant window seat and coffee table and comfy chair. Plenty of magazines and a couple of welcome chocs. There is a nice flat screen tv and dvd player – dvds available from reception. Also fridge and tea/coffee facilities. The bathroom is fine with an over bath shower and glass screen (rather than dreaded plastic curtain) Toiletries are Gilchrist and Soames.

Other types of room are scattered around the grounds – there seemed to be 2 double story houses, one between the garden suites and the restaurant and one nearer the pool area. Overall rooms feel private and you don’t feel “overlooked” by others.

You can book trips through reception – we went on the MR Discovery Co “Best of Best Wine trip” We also had a booking for dinner on one night.
Dinner was exquisite. The menu changes daily. Everything we ordered was delicious and we had the house wine which was absolutely fine. There was a roaring fire in the bar area where we sat before going into the dining room and another fire in the dining room. The nicest tables are along the window, looking out to the lake.

Breakfast is a real delight also. Probably one of the best we have had anywhere in the world. We really enjoyed relaxing with the papers – and the hotel is happy for you to take the papers away with you – there are plenty. I loved the birchermuesli and the rhubarb in particular. The breads and preserves were also especially tasty. The freshly prepared hot dishes were absolutely scrummy and used the best of ingredients. The mexican potatoes and home made baked beans were yum. It was lovely just watching the bird life outside too.

Cape Lodge is also well situated for the wineries – Laurance Wines and Saracen/Duckstein are close by while Driftwood is right across the road. We didn’t know that Driftwood did meals on Friday evenings otherwise we may have planned it so that we could eat there once and Cape Lodge once. As it was we went into Dunsborough for a snacky meal one night.
All in all a lovely stay in a delightful setting.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank highfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

We spent 2 nights at Cape Lodge at the end of March for a relaxing break in the wine region. We were not disappointed, the suite was amazing as was the bathroom with a circular spa bath and view over the lawns. The restaurant food quality and presentation was exquisite for breakfast and dinner - but make sure you book in advance as it gets very busy with locals. The whole experience was excellent - you must visit the wineries which are on the doorstop....The beaches all along the coast are empty with beautiful white sand. We wanted to see the migrating whales but it was the wrong season (pity) but we did see dolphins at Bunker Bay. So, don't think twice it really is as good as other reviews say it is !

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2009

Well this place was out of this world. It is a small boutique hotel that has won numerous awards. We had a huge spa in our room that was surrounded by glass overlooking the King bed. The restaurant was top notch, the room service amazing, the breakfast incredible and all the little extras are what made it. They offer afternoon tea in the guest lounge, you can have your pick of dvd's and games. There is amazing scenery and the sounds of silence with birds whistling and no civilisation in sight. Surrounded by bush but close to the beach, an amazing wonderful memorable trip.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strawberrylover81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2009

Having stayed at Cape Lodge two years ago we returned to find it better than ever. There is now one of the most tasteful, clean swimming pools we know of....set in the beautiful surrounding of the immaculately maintained Cape Lodge gardens. The service remains the best of any where we know...friendly, professional, warm and discrete. The breakfasts continue to be world class. The dinners too continue to be world class standard overseen by the passionately enthusiastic Head Chef Tony with his splendid team who choreograph the service to perfection. The dining room stayff are some of the most attentive and good humoured in the whole of Australia. As with all rave reports I hesitate as we may not be able to get in next year!!! We have modelled our breakasts dinners and our service here at Millgate House on the high standards set by Cape Lodge a bench mark for the industry. Forget the carping remarks about price... we have a saying in Yorkshire..."Ye don't get out for nout!"... Cape Lodge comes for my money as close to perfection as you can get this side of paradise...one of the most relaxing places we ever stay...Wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AUSTIN l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

Cape Lodge is to Die For.

We spent three nights here recently for our honeymoon and loved it.

From the super service when we booked to the very end it was superb.

When we booked the lady (I wish I could remember names) asked if we wanted other services, talked about room types to help us choose what room, booking in our restaurant times etc

So the room - Room 1 - was awesome. It is in the main reception area which may be a slight downfall as others in more secluded in separate buildings - but it is very quiet and the room is huge. It has a separate sitting room and TV; two bathrooms; HUGE bedroom, amazing spa etc. Highly recommended. You are also near the business room (internet access) and the communal lounge room (with an array of books, DVD's and scrummy muffins each day) which is handy.

The restaurant - as per all the other reviews - is to die for. The service is amazing... It is all round amazing but in particular an example is when I booked to stay I mentioned I was vegetarian. That was the only time I mentioned it. So when we sat down in the restaurant they handed us each a menu - mine was vego only. Love that. The service and food was amazing as well as the decor and outlook.

We were fortunate to go to a 'chefs cooking tips' session (Tony/Cape Lodge run them monthly) which you should try to go to. We spent two hours with Tony (head chef) and a fellow colleague and he gave us cooking tips, talked us through his menu's (which change daily) and made some food with him! We went through the kitchen etc as well. Really fun - and all over cheese and wine!

We also had inroom massages which Cape Lodge organised for us. Really reasonably priced ($115 for 90 minutes) for hotel based massages - and half the price of the next place we stayed.

This is now equal favourite for my husband and I for indulgent weekends away (pity we live in Canberra and cant just fly over for a weekend) - up with Lilianfels in the Blue Mountains.

Treat yourself.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura0576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
13.1 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
15.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
698 reviews
7.0 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
#3 of 13 in Yallingup
222 reviews
7.5 mi away
Empire Spa Retreat
Empire Spa Retreat
#1 of 11 in Yallingup
329 reviews
5.2 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Lodge

Property: Cape Lodge
Address: 3341 Caves Rd, Yallingup, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Yallingup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted World’s Best of the Best Hotels 2011, Best Boutique Hotel in Australia, World’s Top 20 Vineyard Hotels 2010, Conde Nast Traveller Gold List "Best for Food" 2011 & 2012. Sitting on its own secluded vineyard in the heart of the Margaret River Wine Country is one of Australia’s finest small vineyard Lodges. As you meander down the winding driveway of our intimate country estate you will discover why Cape Lodge was voted Luxury Travel Magazine’s Best Boutique Hotel in Australia and listed in Conde Nast Traveller’s Gold List 2011. Surrounded by stunning forest, lake and parkland scenery Cape Lodge is only minutes away from pristine beaches, coastline and the sparkling waters of the Indian Ocean and neighbors the great Margaret River wine estates of Mosswood, Vasse Felix, Cullen and Pierro. Described as one of Australia’s finest new generation gourmet establishments the multi award winning gourmet restaurant was ranked in the Top Ten in the World for Food and has recently opened a Gourmet Retreat and Cooking School. Cape Lodge features 22 rooms and suites, the executive five bedroom Private Residence, an all weather tennis court and a beautiful free form swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Yallingup
Cape Lodge Yallingup, Margaret River Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing