We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cape Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aqua Resort Busselton(Busselton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbey Beach Resort(Busselton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveler rating
343
96
36
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
96
36
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the lakemargaret rivergarden roombreakfast and dinnertasting menucourse dinnerbeautiful groundsunderfloor heatingworld classroom was largeown winespecial treatbucket listmain buildingwestern australiawedding anniversarythree nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 486 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Cape Lodge is a superb hotel spoilt only by the extremely small portions served in the restaurant. The starter portions are like the Chef's samples and the main courses are like small entrees. I have never seen such small portions anywhere in the world. The food was excellent but why give such ludicrously small portions ? I dont like being over faced by large platefuls of food but Cape Lodge goes far too far the other way. The belly pork for $44 ( without sides) was two pieces of fatty pork about 1inch by 1 inch by1 inch . Ludicrously small. It was so small it was as if someone was playing a joke. But this was very much for real. For 5 of us with only an average bottle of wine we spent over $500 .Only two of us had entrees and none of us had a sweet. We were all still hungry afterwards but watch you dont touch some of the nuts, crisps, or chocolates will look like they are complimentary as they are most certainly not.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The grounds are beautiful - it's like staying in a park. However, the garden room is extraordinarily expensive for what is essentially basic accommodation. The room is relatively small and the bushes outside the window are up to the roof so you actually can't see out the window - and the room is very dark. Garden rooms are essentially a row of four attached 'chalets' with direct entry from the gardens - similar to chalets at a campsite. In the restaurant, the service is excellent and tables are placed well apart. Food was fabulous but over priced. I have stayed in much better hotels here and abroad for half the price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and felt that the garden view room, which was the "cheapest" category was overpriced at $554/night (including a substantial breakfast).
What hit me when we entered the room was how claustrophobic it was. The bushes out of the beautiful bay window were so high you couldn't see out to enjoy the garden! Can I suggest to the grounds people that they trim the bushes down so that you can at least see out. It made the room very dark and gloomy.
The grounds are exquisite and the pool was quiet and water was refreshing.
Would I come back? No. But it was a nice place to spend a few quiet days. I expected more pampering from such a renowned hotel for that price.
The restaurant was well appointed and the food delicious but the service was very slow.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room so at least you can see outside your window
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatF690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is tucked away a distance from Margaret River and a distance from Yallingup so you need a car. The whole experience is just excellent. I love places that have a library/sitting room for you to read magazines, books, big plush sofas and wing back chairs, muffins and coffee on call all day. There is always that hour or so before dinner when you want to chill out - the pool is good too - there are lovely walks on the property, only short but pleasant. The restaurant is excellent, breakfast and dinner - both very good. Lovely options indicative of a fine dining resaurant. Service is superb. Nothing is too much trouble. This is something you might not do for every long weekend but it is definitely the 'special occasion' answer, when it was the last of our 5 nights I was really sad to be leaving, could have stayed for longer - we did so much whilst at the Margaret River another couple of days just to enjoy the Lodge facilities would have been wonderful. Highly Recommend. We had a suite (which was wonderful) but we would be just as happy with smaller accommodation next time and take real advantage of the sitting room, the chairs on the grass under the trees, the pool and the other amenities offered when you want your own space. We will definitely be back. Such a luxurious experience.

Room Tip: I am sure any of the rooms would be a treat, if you like suites, we had Suite 1, it was excellent, huge space, sitting room, bedroom and 2 great bathrooms. However I am sure that is not necessary - we will probably pick a room overlooking the pond next time, we passed them on our walks around the resort - they looked very peaceful, with balconies and views. If it is a really special occasion or a splurge, do get the suite though - it is really spacious. The whole place is wonderful. Make sure you get breakfast, beautiful restaurant venue and great choices and service.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WizardCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed 4 nights recently. Very nice setting and gardens, friendly staff, excellent breakfast included in the room price. But a bit disappointed about the garden view room, the "cheapest"
category still charged at 475 $ weekend and 399 $ weekdays. Fine room but no two seater sofa,
so one person condemned to sit on floor or bed (?). Spacious bathroom but "forgotten" to install bath tub (or over budget ?) shower, toilet, sink only. Nice outdoor seating area but no cushions
on hardwood chairs. Excellent bed, very clean room.
With a little extra such as a two seater sofa and cushions outside, the value for money would have been better. Maybe an incentive for the management.
Must add that although booked and paid 5 months ago at higher tariff, the price of our stay has been reduced to the actual lower March rates. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrewBernhardt, General Manager at Cape Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback. Your suggestion of cushions for the outdoor furniture is appreciated which we take this into consideration. As far as seating in the Garden Rooms is concened each room has a lounge chair and a cushioned window seat along the bay window with room for 2 people however we will also look into the possibility of adding another chair.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us- With Best Regards Drew Bernhardt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews