We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

A very nice place for a romantic getaway. We stayed in a Forest Spa Suite. The room was very large and well appointed, with a lovely view over the lake. The main living area provided a Flat screen TV, king size bed, lounges and plenty of wardrobe space.

The bathroom had a large circular spa easily big enough for two, large walk in shower and underfloor heating. Robes and slippers were supplied.

Mini bar prices were on par with the majority of hotels. Room service prices were quite good and there was enough of a selection to suit most tastes.

Check in/out was pleasant and efficient, and the grounds of the lodge are very nice.

All in all an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bullseye72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    81
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
18
344
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth WA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We didn't fully test Cape Lodge as we only stayed one night (which caused no problems - some places like you to stay 3 nights on a long weekend). However the staff were charming, the room beautiful and large, the swimming pool excellent and the breakfast overlooking the lake magnificent. Not cheap but a wonderful treat. Next time we'll stay longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminyak, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This review is long over due as we stayed for 3 nights early July last year. However, this location deserves to be shared with others. Cape Lodge is located on a wonderful spot in the region, surrounded by nature it gives a nice desolate feel, away from the daily rush.
The room we had was very spacious and all we required was included.
Internet connection indeed not great but to be expected in such a remote area.
The service was perfect and there when required. The restaurant served fantastic food, we had one chef's dinner there and it was really great. Also the wines served were very good. Breakfasts were good and enjoyable and we also tried the wine tasting offered, do go!
All in all a very good stay and we would recommend this place for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNBmnagelkerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The perfect location for a romantic getaway. Polite and attentive service by all staff at all times. Cape Lodge show cases the region's produce in a manner fitting the beautiful surrounds. The amenities are world class and our Garden View Room was restful and comfortable. The restaurant was salubrious and the restaurant service was timely, friendly and of a high standard.

Central to many of the regions wineries our only complaint was that our length of stay was too short.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Nestled in a beautiful landscape along Caves Road, this Lodge not only features luxury accomodation, great breakfast and superb dinner quality but also offers very attentative service. Due to the size of the property it is very quiet and peaceful - you do not hear any traffic noise from Caves Rd. at all. The unit we were in (23) had a nice balcony facing a lake which is surrounded by old trees and the athmosphere was just lovely. What a shame that the eight days we had there passed by so quickly...A great spot to relax and to explore the Margaret River wineries from there.
It is really worth coming back to Cape Lodge...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rural glos.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Spacious grounds, walking trail beautifully appointed rooms and A1 service and food. Very convenient for wine tours and lingering lunches in the scores of nearby wineries together with stunning walks along the cape to cape trail.The staff are helpful and informal.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apple_gardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We planned to stay for a full week in Cape Lodge but because of the Leeuwin concert this weekend we were only allowed to stay for 3 nights, but we got the best room (s) in the hotel. The Residence which is such a great home/private residence with your own lake and golf course we are spoilt for life I am afraid. Restaurants bar swimming pool and service is of such a high standard you can hardly believe you are in Australia. We loved the food in the restaurant and also the roomservice under the kerry trees in the middle of the grass, great quality. Hope to return to this great hotel asap.

Room Tip: The residence is a great private home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inez1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
13.1 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
7.0 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
15.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
7.5 mi away
Empire Spa Retreat
Empire Spa Retreat
#1 of 11 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
6.2 mi away
Seashells Yallingup
Seashells Yallingup
#2 of 13 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Lodge

Property: Cape Lodge
Address: 3341 Caves Rd, Yallingup, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Yallingup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted World’s Best of the Best Hotels 2011, Best Boutique Hotel in Australia, World’s Top 20 Vineyard Hotels 2010, Conde Nast Traveller Gold List "Best for Food" 2011 & 2012. Sitting on its own secluded vineyard in the heart of the Margaret River Wine Country is one of Australia’s finest small vineyard Lodges. As you meander down the winding driveway of our intimate country estate you will discover why Cape Lodge was voted Luxury Travel Magazine’s Best Boutique Hotel in Australia and listed in Conde Nast Traveller’s Gold List 2011. Surrounded by stunning forest, lake and parkland scenery Cape Lodge is only minutes away from pristine beaches, coastline and the sparkling waters of the Indian Ocean and neighbors the great Margaret River wine estates of Mosswood, Vasse Felix, Cullen and Pierro. Described as one of Australia’s finest new generation gourmet establishments the multi award winning gourmet restaurant was ranked in the Top Ten in the World for Food and has recently opened a Gourmet Retreat and Cooking School. Cape Lodge features 22 rooms and suites, the executive five bedroom Private Residence, an all weather tennis court and a beautiful free form swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Yallingup
Cape Lodge Yallingup, Margaret River Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing