We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow wow wow”
Review of Cape Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2008

WOW WOW WOW. What more can I say. 4 of us stayed 2 weekends ago at The Residence at Cape Lodge, celebrating a birthday.

The Residence used to be the owners residence. It is a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom open planned house with its own lake, lawns and putting green. The house is very comfortable, well appointed, well fitted out, and extremley livable.

Service and food at Cape Lodge is what makes this property outstanding. The receptionist is extremley efficent, overheard us talking about visitng a restaurant in the area for lunch and asked if she could make a reservation for us.

The dining experience is superb. The sommelier (Latecia from France) is one of the smartest, most knowledgable sommeliers I have ever met. She is a young lady with a good knowledge of wine, can pair wines with food easily, and a bubbly personality. There are a number of french staff at the property, and at times we felt like we were in France. Service overall was very flawless, smooth, professional but unobtrusive. Cape Lodge has a phenomal wine cellar which after a day of tasting superb wines makes it even more difficult to choose from

Tony Howell - the chef and his team produce great food. We had dinner twice (once in the house), and the quality, flavour and presentation fo food was outstanding. All dishes are available either as en Entree or Main course. On our 2nd night we pretty much ordered one of everything off the menu as Entree portions to try it all. We noted that they used local produce where possible, and the tastes were subliminal. Breakfast is also a top notch affair with the usual 'full english' but also dishes such as Whiting (local fish), smoked salomn with scrambled eggs, french toast, etc.

To get around the grounds, we walked, but there are also Club Cars that can ferry you from your room to reception to restaurant, etc. On site there is a tennis court, beautiful walking trails and manicured gardens.

Overall Cape Lodge is a great place to get away to relax, see the region from but more so eat and be happy :)

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank roadwarriorafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
There are newer reviews for Cape Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 443 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2008

beautiful hotel, pricey, but a treat. about 25 minute drive from margaret river town. beautiful grounds, rooms lovely, very spacious & nicely decorated. food AMAZING! staff excellent, could not do enough for us.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank betDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2008

I wanted a weekend away for my 52nd birthday and decided on Cape Lodge. My husband reeled slightly when I told him the price ($495 per night), but nevertheless, came along willingly.

After a 3.5 hr drive from Perth the driveway into the beautiful grounds of Cape Lodge was a welcome sight. We were greeted by Veronique who showed us to our room and gave us a map of the region.

The "Superior Spa Suite" was no better than any other five star hotel, however our outlook onto the grounds was wonderful. Cape Lodge is a haven of tranquility, with only the sounds of nature to intrude - such a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of city life.

One disappointment was that the television a small, old model. located quite a distance from the sofa or bed. We felt that patrons willing to pay almost $500 per night expect a larger, flat screen TV. Why put up with something inferior to own facilities in a "luxury" hotel.

There was definitely no "wow" factor about the room and one certainly didn't feel there was anything "luxurious" about it - other than the quiet, peaceful environment and the small number of other guests, providing a high level of privacy (which my husband interpreted as slightly elitist and I interpreted as "wonderful.")

The restaurant was marvellous - beautifully appointed with attentive and friendly staff and a wonderful view of the lake. The menu was varied and not overly or pretentiously "posh."

We would visit Cape Lodge again, but only for the peace, serenity and the food, as our room was nothing out of the ordinary. We also noted that most other patrons were in their 60s, so in our early 50s, we felt like the "youngsters." We'd also wait until we found a reduced tariff on wotif.com rather than pay the full price.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sue-Murray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2007

Cape Lodge has beautiful grounds and we especially enjoyed the delicious breakfasts. It was great to have breakfast on our porch overlooking the lake. We also enjoyed a very tasty dinner at the restaurant on the property, and the staff were friendly and professional. But the rooms themselves were unremarkable, and had the feel of a business hotel rather than a boutique resort. There was nothing cosy about them. Overall, Cape Lodge is a place we would return to for a meal, but we would probably stay somewhere else, because there are other places in Margaret River in a similar setting but better priced.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tiana99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
Thank RURA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elmar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Trav10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
13.1 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
15.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
704 reviews
7.0 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
#3 of 13 in Yallingup
226 reviews
5.2 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
155 reviews
7.5 mi away
Empire Spa Retreat
Empire Spa Retreat
#2 of 12 in Yallingup
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Lodge

Address: 3341 Caves Rd, Yallingup, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Yallingup
Price Range: $264 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted World’s Best of the Best Hotels 2011, Best Boutique Hotel in Australia, World’s Top 20 Vineyard Hotels 2010, Conde Nast Traveller Gold List "Best for Food" 2011 & 2012. Sitting on its own secluded vineyard in the heart of the Margaret River Wine Country is one of Australia’s finest small vineyard Lodges. As you meander down the winding driveway of our intimate country estate you will discover why Cape Lodge was voted Luxury Travel Magazine’s Best Boutique Hotel in Australia and listed in Conde Nast Traveller’s Gold List 2011. Surrounded by stunning forest, lake and parkland scenery Cape Lodge is only minutes away from pristine beaches, coastline and the sparkling waters of the Indian Ocean and neighbors the great Margaret River wine estates of Mosswood, Vasse Felix, Cullen and Pierro. Described as one of Australia’s finest new generation gourmet establishments the multi award winning gourmet restaurant was ranked in the Top Ten in the World for Food and has recently opened a Gourmet Retreat and Cooking School. Cape Lodge features 22 rooms and suites, the executive five bedroom Private Residence, an all weather tennis court and a beautiful free form swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Yallingup
Cape Lodge Yallingup, Margaret River Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing