We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful environment”
Review of Cape Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is a carefully thought out combination of very well appointed rooms in beautiful surrounds with privacy. Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant provides a high quality experience with local produce carefully crafted and thoughful staff who provide great service. The location also provides a great bolt hole for exploring all that Margaret River has to offer; however be warned once you travel down the road to the accommodation you may not wish to leave and explore! The only disappointment was that the garden view room did not have a bath!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 456 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2012

We used Cape Lodge as a one night filler as we were swapping between houses. We looked forward to this as a luxury treat but the moment we arrived we were more than a bit stunned. Our room – a Forest Suite – is super ordinary. Externally the building is very bulk standard council house architecture - also tired and needs a paint. Indeed a bit of a clean – lots of dead bugs and dirty windows. The room is OK – nothing to moan about but does not feel luxurious. Truly surprised and definitely not value for money.
On the brighter side the view over the mini lake is charming. We sat happily and watched the birds play. Very pleasant. We were in the second block of rooms of this type and did not get the morning sun – the other one did so I would try for that if you like sitting outside in the morning as our balcony was downright chilly at the end of March.
The main reason for coming here however was the restaurant and this did not disappoint. While a tad stuffy – spread out tables, white linen etc. – the service was charming and the food pretty sensational.
This really saved the day for us and for this reason I would come back again. So hotel three stars, restaurant and nature five stars - hence the four.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleetcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay at Cape Lodge and spent three nights in one of the garden view rooms. The room was comfortable and well appointed, although total privacy was in doubt with some ill-fitting window blinds. On previous visits we have experienced a forest spa suite and also a king room in the main lodge; overall though, I think we preferred the light and airy ambience of the garden view room.
There are some excellent places to stay in and around Margaret River these days, but the main reason for returning to Cape Lodge was to enjoy the wonderful food and service provided by the team in the kitchen and restaurant. If you appreciate well prepared and presented food, you'll enjoy dining at Cape Lodge.

Room Tip: We booked a garden room this time which was comfortable and well appointed, but we were aware of noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Cape Lodge has the perfect location. All the wineries are right on your doorstep and you are a stone throw away from Dunsborough and Smith's beach.

The restaurant and the grounds are the real highlight of the property. Its vast lusciuos grounds are delighful and the pool is a nice retreat to laze the afternoon away if cellar dooring ain't your thing. The restaurant really is top notch, and you pay for what you get. WIth beautiful views over the lake, its the perfect way to enjoy the first class meals their chef creates.

We attended a wedding in January and had a blast. The staff were courteous and we enjoyes the resorts location given we explored the region from Dunsborough to Prevelly.

I felt however the accommodation was a real let down and didn't quite live up to the financial outlay. My room was average at best, they were very small for the price, and although it is remote WA, I found creepy crawlies in my room every day which house keeping can move along?? Creepy crawlies aside, Cape Lodge is a beautiful place to stay, but in my opinion at $500+ per night I found the resort a little on the rich side given the quality of the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is the perfect location to explore the Margaret River wine region.
Very good accommodation, excellent fine dining and staff that really care.
We stayed in the residence which can have up to 7 bedrooms available, 3 in the main house and 4 in the adjacent annex with 2 ensuites. The only drawback was that it had no pool of its own and there is only one small main pool which gets crowded if you join it.
If your a beach lover its only a 5 minute drive away and blissful out of season.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpursfanN17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Its the little things that matter, and the little things that create a wonderful experience at Cape Lodge. It is everything you expect. The understated luxury and elegance of the standard rooms will make for a wonderful Margaret River stay. The delightfulness of the gardens, the many birds and the welcome relief of the pool on the hot summer evenings. The restaurant was a terrific experience with fabulous quality and delightful combinations that was produced with obvious love and care by the kitchen. Breakfast was equally good with the difference clear to other 5 star places you may stay. No buffet for hot food, but cooked to order and once again the thoughtful construction of the dishes make for breakfast taste bud heaven! But lets talk about the little things...Cold filtered water at the pool, handmade room chocolates, a posy of flowers, an offering of fresh muffins from breakfast for morning tea on your touring and lots of excellent advice from the helpful local staff of wineries and restaurants to visit. My only regret is that its too far from Sydney to escape for a wonderful weekend escape! but I'll be back though on my next WA holiday!

Room Tip: Standard Garden room was terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

The lodge is perfectly located to visit the Margaret River or to go to the beach just 5 Km away. It's located in a splendid and very relaxing park where you can have a walk around the pond. You can also decide to relax around the (small) pool which is very appreciated when the temperature is over 30 degrees as it was the case last January.
Our room was very nice, well decorated, with a small balcony giving onto the park and the pond.
The best part of this lodge is probably its restaurant which is open for dinner, which is relatively rare in the Margaret River, and which is very good. The food is delicious and the service perfect with in particular good advices for the choice of the wine. We spent 3 nights in cape Lodge and had our dinner everyday at their restaurant and it was everyday a flawless experience.

This is of course not cheap but really if you want a perfect place to fully relax and treat yourself, this is it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliedecock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
13.1 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
5.2 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Yallingup
169 reviews
5.5 mi away
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
#3 of 13 in Yallingup
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Injidup Spa Retreat
Injidup Spa Retreat
#4 of 12 in Yallingup
122 reviews
6.2 mi away
Seashells Yallingup
Seashells Yallingup
#1 of 13 in Yallingup
429 reviews
7.5 mi away
Empire Spa Retreat
Empire Spa Retreat
#2 of 12 in Yallingup
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Lodge

Address: 3341 Caves Rd, Yallingup, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Yallingup
Price Range: $246 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted World’s Best of the Best Hotels 2011, Best Boutique Hotel in Australia, World’s Top 20 Vineyard Hotels 2010, Conde Nast Traveller Gold List "Best for Food" 2011 & 2012. Sitting on its own secluded vineyard in the heart of the Margaret River Wine Country is one of Australia’s finest small vineyard Lodges. As you meander down the winding driveway of our intimate country estate you will discover why Cape Lodge was voted Luxury Travel Magazine’s Best Boutique Hotel in Australia and listed in Conde Nast Traveller’s Gold List 2011. Surrounded by stunning forest, lake and parkland scenery Cape Lodge is only minutes away from pristine beaches, coastline and the sparkling waters of the Indian Ocean and neighbors the great Margaret River wine estates of Mosswood, Vasse Felix, Cullen and Pierro. Described as one of Australia’s finest new generation gourmet establishments the multi award winning gourmet restaurant was ranked in the Top Ten in the World for Food and has recently opened a Gourmet Retreat and Cooking School. Cape Lodge features 22 rooms and suites, the executive five bedroom Private Residence, an all weather tennis court and a beautiful free form swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Yallingup
Cape Lodge Yallingup, Margaret River Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing