We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Definitely worth a visit"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of "Seclusions" of Yallingup

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
"Seclusions" of Yallingup
Ranked #3 of 11 Yallingup B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“"Definitely worth a visit"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

With a gap in our busy work schedules and the advantage of few days over a long weekend we made our way to Yallingup to stay at this great B&B. Not being the types that enjoy so called "Old World" charm it was refreshing to be guests at a property that felt and looked new with a funky Balinese twist.

We chose to stay in the "Coastal Room". The room was very clean and tidy and was easily warmed with the adequate air conditioner. The bed and linen was very comfortable. The traditional chocolate and port night cap was on offer both nights of our stay and we made every effort to find our way to the bottom of carafe. Breakfast each morning had plenty of variety and was cooked and presented to perfection. YUMMO. We recommend very much Frans lemon butter!!.

Our hosts made every effort to make our stay extremely comfortable and treated us like a part of their family and we had to remind ourselves that we were actually guests in someone else’s lovely home.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at "Seclusions" of Yallingup, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate the time taken to do this as it reflects on what we are about to our prospective guests. We are so glad you enjoyed your time away 'down south' at our beautiful 'funky' Bali style property. We like to give our guests as much privacy as possible and in that respect sometimes we are more like a small hotel than a B&B (or so we have been told)
I will refill the port carafe just for you :) and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    30
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
132
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband and I recently took an impromptu break from everyday life and chose to recharge our batteries at Seclusions. Our children were being cared for by good friends and the time away in the peace and beauty of the establishment was such a treat for us. We have visited the south west many many times and stayed in some delightful hotels, houses, apartments. This was no exception. Fran was incredibly helpful and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble and we really felt like honoured guests in her home. It was evident that she likes to take care of people and she does it well. Her breakfasts are sublime, and as I wrote in Visitors Book, my only complaint was that I left a couple of kilos heavier than when i arrived! We spent a fair bit of time in the property, enjoying the tranquility and facilities. The private decking area was beautiful, although with the torrential rain during our stay, we did not get much opportunity to use it. We enjoyed the lounge room with books, and enormous tv for dvds and sat peacefully for hours putting together a jigsaw that we had meant to do for the last 5 years!
We will certainly be visiting again Fran, it was a home away from home and as your motto states " Arrive as guests, leave as friends" - or something along those lines I seem to remember - well we really felt you lived up to this promise. Many thanks! Sarah and Dean - very happy campers!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dean g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at "Seclusions" of Yallingup, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Many thanks for your kind review, and yes, it certainly did rain whilst you were here but you didnt let that stop you from totally enjoying your break away from the hectic lifestyles in the city and family pressures. We do try to be welcoming and helpful as possible so that our guests find their way around the areas many attractions without wasting too much time on the road.
I'm glad you liked my Lemon Butter. You'll need to return in summer and taste some more of my preserves like the yummy Strawberry Conserve with big chunks of luscious fruit in.
Bring back the jigsaw and try to get it finished.....:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

My partner and I enjoyed our three day weekend stay with many thanks to the hospitality and knowledge provided by the hosts. We greatly appreciated their dinner recommendations and assistance with providing a great experience. The room we picked had carpeted flooring, perfect for the chilly winter mornings, and the decor was charming and oozing in comfort. We enjoyed having our own decking to look out into the forest where they served us tea and cookies. In addition, the morning breakfasts were delicious with a great selection of yoghurts, drinks, and a hearty choice of omelettes or a continental option. If you want a quiet escape from the busy city then Seclusions is a perfect choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CameronLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at "Seclusions" of Yallingup, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
We are glad you found us to be helpful during your stay with us, and you certainly had some great meals out. It's so nice to be appreciated. I am also happy that you enjoyed the breakfasts with the varying menu options. All in all, it's very pleasing to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us because that's what it's all about.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We recently purchased a room for three nights at Seclusions through a deal advertised on Wotif.com. On first impressions, the owners were more than helpful and accommodating to our needs. The room was modestly fashioned and cosy. The loose hair on the tiles/carpet and no WIFI were a bit of a turn off. These were not deal-breakers in what promised to be a lovely weekend.

The only issue with our stay occurred on the final day and affected our impression of the entire stay. After a day out at the wineries, wild weather forced us to return to the B&B soaking wet. The storms cut the power and access to the property with the result being no running water, no light, no heat and no sheltered place to park.

We were informed on arrival that there were no contingencies in place (i.e. back-up power generator) and the last storm had taken out the power for three days. With no real option of staying at the B&B soaking wet for the night, we approached the owner to negotiate a possible partial refund or transfer of the nights accommodation.

The result was disappointing.

The owner cited that as we had stayed late (it was 3:30), she was unwilling to either transfer the night (as we had received such 'discounted' rates) nor refund any portion of the nights accommodation as they had lost the ability to re-sell the room. The owner maintained that as we had showered in the morning and breakfast was still able to be provided the next morning (gas cooktop facilities still working within the owner's room) the decision to leave was a 'personal choice' and not a result of lack of facilities.

Soaking wet, cold and at this point aggravated we left Seclusions on the verbal promise that we may potentially negotiate a discounted rate on our next stay (valid only for three months and no 'guarantees'). This service was not what I expected from a 4.5 star establishment. I understand this is a small business and winter is not a high yielding period for the area however, customer care should have prevailed in these unfortunate circumstances.

Usually it is the flexibility and consideration small business owners have that sets them apart from their larger competitors and keeps customers coming back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKS145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franb51, Owner at "Seclusions" of Yallingup, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of Seclusions. We feel we would like to respond to your issues as follows:
*thank you for saying we were very friendly and accommodating because thats a huge part of being a host at a B&B
*the only time the WiFi was not working was when the power went off on the last day of your stay at 2pm. If you had problems before that, you shoul;d have brought it to our attention.
* your comment of hair on the tiles etc is intriguing because we thoroughly clean the rooms between guests and check them again before new guests check in. I had pointed out to you the Guest Folder and even verbally told you that the room was NOT serviced daily (but that we still emptied bins, replaced used amenities and washed glasses etc PLUS refreshed the towels so you always had a dry one) - so that indicates to me, the hair may very well have been your own!!
* the parking issue - even we do not have covered parking and in the wake of the storm with Category 2 cyclonic winds, would not have prevented any damage even if we had undercover parking.
* there are torches in the rooms and also flameless candles if you had desired to stay but at that stage (2hrs into the storm) no-one knew how long it'd be out for, and you elected to go home - your choice.

When you came back from your lunch, you told us you wanted to go home to check your property was safe. It was only later you then asked, initially, for a refund of 1n accomm and I suggested you contact Wotif about that. I also pointed out our Canx Policy which is clearly stated on our website.
I feel your main 'gripe' here is lack of monetary refund. However, as I pointed out to you at the time, you already had a Voucher for $50 and I was willing to increase that value should you wish to stay again within 3 months (that is because it is now winter season and would still be then). I did NOT say "NO GUARANTEES" at all. The rate you stayed at was dramatically less than the standard rack rate of the room 3n @ $245 = $735; plus wine $25; plus voucher $50 = sum total $810 and thats not including the late check-out which you didnt use. You paid $240 in total but still maintain that this was not a 'deal breaker'!! You already had used the inclusions of wine, restaurant voucher, and return voucher. The only thing you hadnt used was the Late Checkout.

We sincerely hope we have clarified these issues for you. And the offer of a further discount on your return voucher still stands should you wish to use it. It is not our intention that any of our guests goes away unhappy or disgruntled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend in this stylish, tranquil B&B. The Bali suite's decor was lovely and the four poster bed, incredibly comforable. The breakfast was sublime!
Our hosts were informative and gracious. A really unique experience!

Room Tip: The surrounding bushland is lovely so make sure you pack your walking shoes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at "Seclusions" of Yallingup, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here. The bushland around us is definately very pretty and long walks are a treat. We often find guests wanting information on the walking trails which can include the Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse or even the Rails to Trails. Some guests bring their bikes too. We are all about what the guest wants out of their stay with us.
I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfasts - you probably needed to walk it off after :)
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Seclusions over our wedding weekend in April and it was fantastic. A quiet secluded room with our own decking overlooking the Jarrah forest, a VERY comfortable bed and a delicious breakfast served up every morning by our helpful hosts. I recommend the Bali suite, and if the weather is fine, eating breakfast outside on the decking or under the gazebo.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HanaM_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at "Seclusions" of Yallingup, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your wedding experience with us. We do try our utmost to make it the most memorable day of your lives. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay even though it does tend to be somewhat hectic with family and friends visiting for the wedding. Breakfast in the gazebo is certainly lovely especially when the sun is out and the birds are singing. We are so glad you chose to share your wediing with us and wish you both the best for your future together. Come back again for your anniversary :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

My partner and I spent one night at Seclusions of Yallingup and we were treated really well. The Bali suite we stayed in was immaculate, clean, spacious and very private. The King size bed was very comfortable and we wanted for nothing as all the mod cons were provided. The location is very secluded and there are only 2 suites so there isn't any noise from other guests and no common walls are shared between suites. There is a no kids policy which is fabulous for couples and definitely helps with the romance! The location of Seclusions really does help you switch off from the rat race back in Perth as it is surrounded by natural bush land and loads of trees and birds. We saw a black cockatoo and a Kookaburra while there. Seclusions is also near Caves Road so Yallingup beach isn't far away nor are the wineries or olive farms. The breakfast Fran cooks is awesome and the home made conserves are a nice and very tasty touch. Fran is lovely too because she is very welcoming, hospitable and very knowledgeable about, what Yallingup and the surrounding region, has to offer in terms of the local attractions. I left there relaxed despite being there only one day. I didn't want to leave to be honest.

Room Tip: Choose the Bali Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patster70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at "Seclusions" of Yallingup, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your very brief stay with us and sincere apologies for my tardy response here. We do get a lot of 'lovers' requesting the Bali Suite and its 4 poster bed, and I am glad you found it very comfy too. I'm happy that you found us knowledgeable and helpful in getting the most out of your brief stay - maybe longer next time?? We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
3.7 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
10.1 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
3.3 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Empire Spa Retreat
Empire Spa Retreat
#1 of 11 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.6 mi away
Seashells Yallingup
Seashells Yallingup
#2 of 13 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sienna Lodge
Sienna Lodge
#5 of 11 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to "Seclusions" of Yallingup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about "Seclusions" of Yallingup

Property: "Seclusions" of Yallingup
Address: 58 Zamia Gr, Yallingup, Western Australia 6282, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Yallingup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — "Seclusions" of Yallingup 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new luxury B&B hidden away on 7 acres of pretty bushland in the heart of the Mgt Rvr wine region. Catering to only 2 discerning couples. When privacy is paramount ESCAPE to Seclusions of Yallingup. You won't be disappointed!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your "Seclusions" of Yallingup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
"Seclusions" Of Yallingup Margaret River Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing