We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yallingup Forest Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aqua Resort Busselton(Busselton)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Abbey Beach Resort(Busselton)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Restawile Motel(Busselton)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
74
58
10
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
58
10
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbush shack brewerybedroom chaletsurrounded by treesbird lifeswimming poolcubby houseduplex stylecaves roadlight housemagpiewalking trailswinter holidaygum treesair conditioningfully self containedpeace and quietbed linen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 150 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We booked our 4 night stay through Groupon for $399. Our Chalet was clean and very roomy. They are double units, the walls were a little thin, and the floors a little bouncy. We didn't use the TV, we did thoroughly enjoy the veranda, the bird life was awesome, had a Kookaburra that perched within an arms length, really showing off and letting us get plenty of pictures.
Our smoke alarm went off at 11 o'clock, and continued to go off about every 10 minutes the second night we were there. After several times of this we called the emergency number, the man we got a hold of was pleasant and came right over. Although he ended up taking the alarm with him and it wasn't replaced during our stay.
We loved being so close to the beaches, was a short trip in either direction. Enabling us to enjoy a couple of days fishing.
Over all we had a good experience and would go back if we got another good deal.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I booked a 4 night stay through a Groupon voucher, for my elderly parents (in their 70's) to see the region whilst on a holiday here from the uk. The accommodation is large, clean and suits families perfectly - no problems with the accommodation.

The door lock was pretty tricky, and my parents managed to lock themselves out of their accommodation about 6pm. They called the emergency phone numbers, to find the land line had been disconnected and the mobile was turned off. They called numerous times, and we're totally at a loss what to do. The owner never responded to their calls, and they ended up spending the night sleeping in the car.

The next morning, when the owner finally rocked up, was flippant, gave excuses and asked them what they wanted him to do! Unbelievable that this man can abscond from his duty of care responsibilities, and leave guests of any age without emergency assistance, but specifically 70+ year old people to sleep in the car. Disgraceful attitude and behavior on behalf of this owner.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaHPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We were very excited to be arriving in the Margaret River region, as I've always dreamed of visiting one day! We booked a 4 night stay through Groupon and thought that $400 seemed like a good deal for unique accommodation in the area, which was to include a bottle of wine and yoga classes. I note that other reviewers have made the same observations, and I'm relieved to see it wasn't just us, but we found the manager was very rude. It was a shame, as the accommodation was spacious, clean and private, and it had the potential to be a good experience. I thought that we might have annoyed him as we arrived just after 5pm (when he was closing the office), and when I asked about our bottle of wine he didn't seem to happy to give it to us. I didn't end up chasing the yoga classes. We were pointed in the direction of our cabin and given the keys. The "chalet" is a large dual accommodation which we were lucky enough to have to ourselves. It had everything you needed, including a kitchen and shared laundry. We enjoyed kookaburras and different birds sitting on our verandah and we had more than enough space inside! This place would be perfect for a family. Good location, short drive to the beach and Dunsborough, and next door to the Bush Shack Brewery (which is awesome!).
Unfortunately, we had quite a few problems.... first a light was out, then when we went to jump in the shower the entire shower head fell off with the pressure of the water!! We decided to jump in the pool instead but were greeted with a swarm of wasps! We had hired a dvd and after a day of wine touring, sat down with dinner and realised the dvd played was broken (it wouldn't open) but as the office was shut, there wasn't much we could do! I know that all these things can happen anywhere, but when we went to notify the management the next day, we found him to be quite rude again. He did get us a temporary shower head, a new dvd player and also called the dvd store to allow us to keep it for another night as I had asked him, which was nice, but told me he was too busy to deal with the wasps.
We ended up leaving a day early to spend more time somewhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank surflovepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The resort is located off the beaten track but - still close to Dunsborough for groceries and Margaret River area for the wineries. Nearby Yallingup and Smiths Beaches are world class.

Cabins are simple and very clean, perfect for the family. Wide verandahs all the way around the cabin make for great evening reading spot.

Good outdoor bbq facilities, again very clean and tidy.

Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We booked a 4-night stay through Groupon, paying $100 per night for a 2-bedroom chalet (plus $10 extra per night for the other three members of our family of five). The deal was supposed to include a bottle of wine on arrival and a yoga class somewhere nearby. We had to chase up the bottle of wine (the manager suggesting that he'd already given it us) - that was such a hassle in itself that we didn't dare ask for our yoga lesson.... I note that previous Tripadvisor reviews suggest that the owner/manager is a bit on the rude side; well we couldn't argue with that! A most peculiar man, not someone suited to the hospitality industry that's for sure!

The chalets themselves are OK - you get what you pay for. Furnishings/facilities were basic but generally clean. Some chalets are better that others - if there are other rooms vacant on your arrival, ask to check them out as they seem to differ wildly in quality.

Alas our room (5B) lacked any hot water for the first two days we were there... hot water system was faulty (no apology from said manager) so we had to forgo showers. Had to ask the manager if we could please use the showers in another vacant chalet (that's how we know that there were more nicely furnished chalets than ours; we used 6A - a big improvement from 5B!) - but again, we had to ask for this, the manager failed to provide us with any options for showering etc.

The grounds have a tennis court, pool, BBQ area and basic playground. The tennis court was covered in moss/algae which made it very dangerous to play on after rain. BBQ area was clean. Didn't use the small pool as it was chilly but it looked clean and maintained. The kids enjoyed walking through the bush, where we saw kangaroos and possums, and kookaburras which would come up to the verandas in the hope of food.

All in all, in spite of the manager-with-a-personality-bypass, it was an OK stay and good value for money (well, it would have been if we had hot water for all of our stay!) if you are looking for something rustic but well-located in the Dunsborough-Yallingup area.

Room Tip: Ask to see all the vacant chalets before accepting the key... furnishings and facilities vary between chalets supposedly of the same 'standard'.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Itch-4-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews