We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deep underground is spectacular”
Review of Ngilgi Cave

Ngilgi Cave
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$138.66*
and up
Margaret River Indulge and Discover Day Tour
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in Yallingup
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore the ancient wonders of Ngilgi Cave! The Cave is warm in winter and cool in summer. Ngilgi Cave is located just off Caves Road, a short distance north of Yallingup, beneath the limestone ridge which forms Cape Naturaliste. The fascinating association with a rich Aboriginal legend describing the battle between a good spirit (Ngilgi) and an evil spirit (Wolgine) gives Ngilgi Cave its name. Explore the cave and experience stunning stalactite, stalagmite, helictite and shawl formations. Visit an interpretive area detailing Ngilgi Cave's interesting history. A cafe, playground, barbecue facilities and walk trails make Ngilgi Cave a fun place to visit for the entire family. OPENING HOURS 9.00Am to 5.00Pm (First tour at 9.30Am Last entry to Ngilgi Cave at 4.00Pm.)
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Deep underground is spectacular”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We loved this cave. Lots of indigenous and historical history. The kids (5 and 8) had a ball scuttling through the crawl tunnel and wondering at the coloured lights on the stalactites. The formations are very impressive and the guide on duty at the very bottom showed us some interesting features. It is a very deep cave and there are a lot of stairs so take it slow if you aren't as fit as you'd like to be ;)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ozturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeographeBay_Tourism, Attractions Manager at Ngilgi Cave, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed learning about the cave’s history and the Aboriginal Dreamtime story of the good spirit Ngilgi. We hope that what you learnt stays with you.

We also love the image you have taken of the stalactites, it’s beautiful, thank you for sharing!

Best wishes,

Attractions Manager

Learn more about the best things to see and do in the Geographe Bay region at www.geographebay.com or by joining us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/RechargeatGeographeBay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    181
    21
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good eye opener even for locals”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This cave is very well lit up and managed. The staff were very enthusiastic and helpful as well. We arrived in the morning and there was not too many people there at the time but they still do the semi guided tours within 15 mins of you arriving. The cave takes around an hour to walk, and didn't puff me out as much as I thought it would. The funny old man at the table in the main area was very entertaining and knowledgeable, he gave us a good laugh.

This cave is great for an explore, and with all the colours from the lights it photographs very well. I would recommend this experience to anyone! It is a tad pricey though... but what isn't in WA

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeographeBay_Tourism, Manager at Ngilgi Cave, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent visit to Ngilgi Cave. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you found our staff helpful and informative.

We hope to see you at the cave again soon. You may be interested to learn we often run special offers, such as our ‘Above and Below’ discount pass, enabling families to save money when visiting both Ngilgi Cave and Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse. Find out more at www.geographebay.com/ngilgi-cave.

Kind regards,

Attractions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll be back for more.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My partner and I opted for the two hour adventure cave as he had some time to kill and were looking for something different to do. Our tour guide, Tod was funny, friendly and more than happy to chat away with us about nothing.

Without sounding too self-deprecating, I’m not incredibly fit and I managed this caving trip alright. The higher levels of carbon dioxide in the cave do mean that you get out of breath faster, however Tod had already said that it’s best to take regular breaks so you catch your breath pretty quick. The tight squeezes throughout some of the cave are actually pretty fun, and makes it feel like you’re actually going on an adventure. Having said that, I imagine if you’re claustrophobic you may not fair too well.

Our adventure took us down to an old river bed that is now dry, and covered partially by crystals. It’s more than worth the trip getting down there as it is awesome to look at. When we got down there we sat around for about 20 minutes with our torches off, just taking in the absolute black of the caves and listening to the water drip on the ground. It was very calming and quite the experience.

I took my DSLR on our trip, and while I think it was worth it and I got a handful of good photos, I wouldn’t take it again. Taking care of the camera, while trying to climb up, down and through small holes was a tad troublesome. If you want to take photos I’d recommend taking one of the “tough” compact digital cameras instead as they’re pretty rugged and you can just chuck it in your pocket.

Tod mentioned that there’s three hour caving trips you can do that are a little more physically taxing and involves slightly more technical climbing. We’ll be heading back in a few months to give that a go.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeographeBay_Tourism, Manager at Ngilgi Cave, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments and photographs of the Explorer Adventure Tour!

I am pleased to learn that you had such a great experience with Tod as your guide, and I am sure that your advice will be very useful to fellow travellers.

We hope to see you at the cave again soon. If you would like to keep in touch and share your photographs or further comments about your trip, you can find us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/RechargeatGeographeBay.

Best wishes,

Attractions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must return for the full adventure!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

For our trip, we agreed to visit one of the many caves along Caves Road, and we were very pleased in selecting Ngilgi Cave!
We opted for the Express Adventure Tour, but as we didn't book in advance we had to wait a short while for an available guide. We were very grateful that even for just the two of us, they managed to fit us in.
For the express tour, you get to wear the helmet and gloves, and it was interesting to learn that the gloves are meant to protect the crystals from our hands, and not the other way around :)
One of the highlights was sitting deep in the caves, with all the lights turned off, listening to the drip drip drip of water forming new stalagmites/stalactites somewhere in the distance.

If anything, the express tour made us want to return again for the full 4 hour adventure!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyTYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Family were a little concerned if I would manage going down into the caves, being less fleet of foot, most of the steps were reasonably easy and had good handrails. So I was able to enjoy the beauty of the caves and when the guide who was informative and kept the pace as slow as the slowest person left us to continue to we could take our time. The actual site well laid out, well worth a visit, there was a family with a cute little girl who again coped well with the steps and entertained us with her remarks, so would say suitable for the whole spectrum of visitors

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pommie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ngilgi Cave also viewed

Yallingup, Margaret River Region
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
 
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
Cape Naturaliste, Dunsborough
 

Been to Ngilgi Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing