We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but let down by stingy approach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seashells Yallingup
Certificate of Excellence
perth
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good but let down by stingy approach”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Room and location are excellent. Room is very spacious and well equipped. View from balcony is beautiful. We have stayed a couple of times before and really enjoyed it.
What is really disappointing for an otherwise excellent place is the management have now decided to become stingy. 4 Tea bags and 4 coffees to last your full stay and similarly for toiletries one very small shampoo (just OK for one person with short hair). If you want more then it costs $4 (one extra small shampoo, conditioner , bath gel and soap). The overseas people we came with who had another room said they had not experienced this before, anywhere.
Tony n Val

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jubilee107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royce C, General Manager at Seashells Yallingup, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Tony and Val

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It was nice to read you found the views beautiful, the rooms well equipped and you were on a return visit. To address your concern about the amenities, Seashells Yallingup provides self-contained apartments allowing people to make themselves at home, using the full kitchen and laundry facilities. We supply an initial supply of amenities in each apartment for your convenience on arrival, but this supply is not necessarily expected to last the entire length of your stay.

We hope to be able to welcome you back Seashells again soon.

Kind Regards,

Royce Cleaver
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    136
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
66
255
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Simply excellent. In every way.. Fabulous beach at Yallingup, reached by a short walk through the gardens. Decent pub next door. Very well appointed, good wifi, two bathrooms two bedrooms in our appartment, just sheer top quality luxury accommodation. Washer/dryer worked silently and efficiently, fabulous view from the veranda. We had a great breakfast at Shana's by the beach as well. Great for a few days by the beach, or to explore the area

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lorasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royce C, General Manager at Seashells Yallingup, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Lorasmum,

Thank you for your review. It sounds like you were able to take full advantage of the apartment features and all the offerings of Yallingup. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Royce Cleaver
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a 5 night stay with my wife and daughter. Modern, well equipped kitchen and bathroom, clean and tidy. Caves Hotel bar next door and Yallingup beach a ten minute walk away. Private balcony overlooking the gardens. A great place, and quiet too.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CJHM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royce C, General Manager at Seashells Yallingup, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear CJHM74,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, the Seashells team do enjoy reading them! I hope to be able to welcome you back to the property again soon.

Best Regards,

Royce Cleaver
Property Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

A simple but beautiful place to stay. The accommodation is high standard and very comfortable. After hours check in was efficient and well organised. Our one bedroom apartment is well appointed and very impressive. The surrounds are attractive and relaxing. Proximity to the beach and wineries is good. We are more than happy to recommend this place to others.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DTscientia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royce C, General Manager at Seashells Yallingup, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and recommendation, it is lovely to read you had a comfortable stay, were impressed with the accommodation and found the late arrival procedure well organised. I hope you get the opportunity to stay again with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Royce Cleaver
Property Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Overlooking the beautiful gardens of the historic Caves House Hotel, full of twenty-eight parrots, white cockatoo's, pink and grey galah's, Kookaburra's and many more birds which join you on the balcony in welcome to this first class accommodation in one of the world's most beautiful regions. Self-contained rooms are large, stylishly furnished with a balcony overlooking the gardens, some with glimpses of the sea, just a short walk away. The resort is located on the edge of the Margaret River wine district with over 130 wineries, most open for tastings and many with excellent restaurants and gardens. There are also beautiful white sandy beaches and Jarrah and Karri Forrest's close by. I have been here many times and I will continue to come again and again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royce C, General Manager at Seashells Yallingup, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear James O,

Thank you so much for you detailed & comprehensive review. The property is very fortunate to be surrounded by such well cared for gardens that attract an abundance of bird life. I agree Yallingup is the ideal location to base yourself in the Margaret River wine region with the beach, caves, wineries, breweries and other attractions just minutes away. Being self-contained, our apartment are a great option for those who want to gather some of the region's gorgeous gourmet food and enjoy it back at Seashells. I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Royce Cleaver
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for one night and were very impressed with the 1 bedroom apartment. It is modern and clean and well laid out, we had a quiet room on the top story and awoke to bird's chirping in the morning. We do not hesitate recommending this accommodation to family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royce C, General Manager at Seashells Yallingup, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear cpcow,

Thank you for your comments and recommendation. The setting of the apartments overlooking the gardens is special, especially In the morning with the birds are out and about. I hope you get the chance to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Royce Cleaver
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here during the week and our room was very quiet just the way we like it. The rooms were spacious and absolutely spotless. Fully fitted kitchen which we didn't use (it was MY holiday after all), and loved the short walk to beautifully restored Caves House to have our breakfast on the deck. Did have a couple of hours where the people above sounded like they were playing cricket inside but not really a problem, just turned the TV up a bit. The walk to the beach is beautiful but it would be a 10 minute long hot uphill walk back from the beach in summer and there's no pool on site. Only complaints I have were on our last night I discovered there was no plug for the spa and too late to contact the front desk, and the internet kept dropping out. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ground floor has lovely deck but is not closed off and therefore open to the grounds, great for kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mistylaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royce C, General Manager at Seashells Yallingup, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear isnowornever

Thank you for taking the time to review Seashells Yallingup. I am glad you were able to enjoy your holiday and stay out of the kitchen! I agree Caves House is a great place for a meal. Thank you for your comments on the cleanliness of the apartment. I’m sorry to read you did not have a plug for the spa, I wish this was picked up earlier in your stay. I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Royce Cleaver
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
6.9 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
1.8 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
323 reviews
1.5 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
Yallingup Luxury Retreat
#3 of 13 in Yallingup
223 reviews
14.0 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
1,415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caves House Hotel Yallingup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashells Yallingup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashells Yallingup

Property: Seashells Yallingup
Address: Yallingup Beach Road, Yallingup, Western Australia 6282, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Yallingup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seashells Yallingup 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than a three hour drive south of Perth in the heart of the Margaret River wine region is the 4.5 star Seashells Yallingup. Set in beautiful extensive gardens by Yallingup Beach, the property is adjacent to the beautifully-restored, heritage-listed Caves House. Seashells Yallingup has been architecturally designed to complement the art-deco ambience of the property and integrate into the surrounding heritage gardens which are right on the doorstep of the self-contained and spacious apartments.Seashells Yallingup is ideal for singles, couples and families with different styles of accommodation including studio spa rooms or 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. Meeting and conference facilities are available for up to 150 delegates and broadband internet connections in every room and apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seashells Yallingup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashells Yallingup Margaret River Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing