We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Shame”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rest Point Holiday Village
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Such a Shame”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently stayed at Restpoint caravan park, We were a little taken back at the cold welcome we recieved upon arrival.....but it got worse. The ammenities were dirty in disrepair, everywhere you looked were out of order signs or just out of order. A two burner portable gas cooker was in the campers kitchen, to supposedly accommodate the park. The laundry had two dryers (one out of order) one filled with sticky goo that coated all my clothing,so i had to shell out another $3.00 to re-wash it. They put on an evening video for the kiddies in one of the buildings,a great idea, but unfortunately no one from management remembered to turn it off after finishing,so we listened to the credits repeating over and over (as they were booming) untill one of the patrons turned it off themself.The potholes are everywhere,filled with dirty water. Its such a shame as you can see the park was once loved and organised,the beautiful (but now faded) paintings off birdlife and local fish on the buildings, and the position of the park is glorious,right on the water so the kids are free to enjoy what the jetty and water had to offer.This park seems antiquated and forgotton. We wont return, the lack of cleanliness of the park over rides the beautiful spot.

Room Tip: Take own caravan or camper with own shower etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthFoodie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    16
    7
    11
See reviews for
38
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was taught as a youngster if you had nothing nice to say you should not say anything. I feel this best describes the facilities and our stay at Rest Point Holiday Village. Happy to share them on a more personal level. but I cannot recommend this place at all until it has a major over hall.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Walpole hotels

Byford, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is our 2nd year of going to Rest Point Holiday Village. We choose a 3 bedroom cabin
this time to cater for 3 adults and 2 children ( 4 + 7yrs). 2 rooms had a good double bed
in each and the 3rd bedroom had 4 single beds. Mattress's were very comfortable. Linen and towels supplied, were clean and good quality. The cabins themselves were clean and comfortable.
Kitchen has plenty of utensils and cutlery. We had a slight problem with the fridge the 1st night.
The staff were very kind and friendly and offer to replace the fridge the following morning . Fantastic service !!

The views from the cabin were awesome. We spent the days either fishing off the jetty or
out fishing in a boat. The kids had a great time and met plenty of other children. The bush
walks were also wonderful. The children were able to view lots of wildlife. They were keen to get up early to see the kangaroos . One evening we were able to have a campfire and toast marshmellows.

This in no upmarket caravan park, which is why the price is very reasonable, and it wont suit everyone... but we loved it and will be back next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjimup
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have been going to Rest Point for many years and find it very enjoyable. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help you with what ever you need.The fishing is great most of the time. We highly recommend it.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very disappointed that the facilities had not improved since last time. Used Rest point as a final leg to get home after touring further south. Met up with friends and was prepared to leave after day 2. Constant stench from septic system and when it did go, was back just in time for dinner. Park is a mess, poor facilities and minimal ablutions.
Could be a great park but seems very neglected. Only shade was at the foreshore.
Will be spending next trip as far away as possible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

First went to Rest Point in 1955. Facilities were a little different then, cold showers, cart water from a spring, fishing was great. Been going there ever since, my daughters love the place. I have been about 30 times, mainly for fishing. Not so plentiful now but can still get a good feed of herring , whiting , skippy & black bream. The bush walks are wonderful and there's plenty to see around Walpole and within a short drive. I want Rest Point to remain as it is , I would hate to see it become an upmarket resort. At present it is affordable to everyone and a beautiful place to spend a week or two. See you at Easter.

Room Tip: I like camping ( tents ) under the peppies, the original camp ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Best location. Having a nice time until some drunken yobbos started blasting a karaoke set, equipt with amplifiers. We made a noise complaint along with other clients but management chose to ignore it.

Worst service, please look for other accommodation.

The facilities are akin to cesspits.

Avoid.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnjcitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walpole hotels
7.7 mi away
Walpole Wilderness Resort
1.2 mi away
Tree Top Walk Motel
Tree Top Walk Motel
#2 of 3 in Walpole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coalmine Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Walpole Lodge
Walpole Lodge
#6 of 9 in Walpole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tinglewood Cabins
Tinglewood Cabins
#1 of 9 in Walpole
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
5.8 mi away
Che Sara Sara Chalets
Che Sara Sara Chalets
#4 of 9 in Walpole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rest Point Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rest Point Holiday Village

Property: Rest Point Holiday Village
Address: Rest Point Road | Walpole, Walpole, Western Australia 6398, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Walpole
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Walpole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravan & Camping Sites. 1,2 & 3 Bedroom Units, Cabin, A Frame and Villa Accommodation. Restpoint Holiday Village is located to the West of Walpole on the spectacular Walpole/Nornalup Inlet, our park offers everything from camping to fully equipped cottages and units. Our park is set right on the water's edge, offering superb opportunities for water sports including some of the best fishing in the state, crabbing, kayaking, sailing....Any water activity. Walking distance from the town centre and the Walpole Country Club is just next door, catering for the golfer of the family. Entertainment for the kids include fishing from the jetty, our new jumping pillow, Activity Area in the barn, with movies each night during holiday seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rest Point Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing