We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rottnest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rottnest Lodge
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed in a quod room, much akin to youth hostel accommodation, unfortunately with a premium price tag ($210 per night). The furniture is old and tatty, the fridge extremely noisy (so much so we had to turn it off overnight) and no airconditioning, just a small desk fan which worked, but only on one speed (high). I have no problem staying in basic accommodation, just don't expect to pay so much for it.
Breakfast was ok, the hot food quite dry.

Room Tip: If you want premium accommodation, go for the lake side rooms. There is better value elsewhere on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255103Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2014
Dear 255103Marie,

We appreciate that you took the time to review your stay with us at Rottnest lodge and are disappointed to read that you were unhappy with your room.

Pictures and descriptions of all of the room types here at The Lodge are available on our website and are a fair representation of the rooms. The majority of the buildings and structures here at the Lodge are very old and form a part of the unique heritage listed buildings here on Rottnest Island.

Due to this we have large limitations regarding any changes that can be made. Despite these restrictions, we do have on going refurbishments throughout The Lodge and hope that you find future stays in our alternative room types more to your liking.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    286
    231
    92
    70
See reviews for
262
319
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We're from Perth, and visited Rottnest when relatives were holidaying from the UK. This was the first time I've stayed in the Rottnest Lodge (I've been to the island a few times) and I would probably only ever book here again if I were really desperate.

The building used to be a prison, and that was apparent with the bars on the windows of our room. They were blacked out with black paint, giving the room a very dingy atmosphere. When we checked in, the room had just been cleaned, but smelt very strongly of bleach and cleaning products. We were unable to stay in the room for very long because of this.
No air-con, only a small desk fan.
The two people on the bunk beds found that the mattresses were very thin, and could feel the every slat underneath.
We booked a quad room for 4 people, and the beds were very close together, with barely any privacy. I would not recommend this type of room for couples travelling together.
This is a very expensive hotel and the rooms are very basic (we paid $340 for one night but did book rather late), so I would advise you to rethink staying here if you're on a budget, or prefer high-end hotels.

On the positive note, I can't fault the friendliness of the staff, and they are the only reason I gave this hotel a rating of 2. They were so unbelievably lovely, and very helpful in a number of matters.
The breakfast was fairly decent, and included in the price.
We were able to use the facilities of the hotel before, and long after check out.
There are two pools, a children's one, and a normal sized one (average size). Both seemed clean, and provided small floatie devices for the children to play with. However, we found it difficult to find a sunbed, and had to resort to sitting on the floor.
Very easy to access via bike, right next to the shopping centre, and well within walking distance of the cinema/mini golf course.

Room Tip: Don't book a quad room - opt for two separate rooms instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelesor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with ourselves at the Rottnest Lodge.
The Quod rooms are our most basic room types here at the Lodge. The windows to the rooms do not have any bars at all. Outside each window is a wooden security screen designed to offer privacy for the guests in the room which is what you may be referring to.
We have a range of room types catering to everything from couples looking for a romantic island getaway to families looking to enjoy everything our beautiful island has to offer. Alternative room types to the Quod rooms may be more to your liking for future stays. As you booked very last minute these room types may not have been available and recommend booking well in advance if looking to stay during our peak time over the Christmas / New Year period.
We pride ourselves on our high level of customer service and are pleased that you found this to be to your liking during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back and know you will find our alternative room types more to your liking for future stays.
Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rottnest Island hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Rottnest is such a wonderful place . I am not sure why but everything to do with the Rottnest lodge is so very very average.

The rooms are OK but the general service states you are lucky to be here and be grateful.

I think I will stay in a tent next time, at least that way I can enjoy Rottnest and avoid that terrible service.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Checkedout77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Here at the Rottnest Lodge we pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient service and were disappointed that you did not find this to be the case during your recent stay.
We hope that for future stays with ourselves that you find the service to the consistently high levels that we are known for.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Rottnest is a beautiful island with a beautifully rocky coastline and clear blue waters.

Rottnest Lodge, disappointingly, leaves much to be desired. Worn out and dated, I would stop short of saying the rooms were clean, as the ceilings and gates were laced with spiderwebs. For the family lodge that sleeps six, there is only a single tiny bathroom, which was an inconvenience. The design of the lodge is poor, with lots of sunlight streaming in in the mornings (could have blackout curtains) and the terribly noisy crows woke you up at 5 in the morning. Breakfast was mediocre at best and the tables were mostly dirty.

I would return to Rottnest again, but perhaps only for the day.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2014
Dear thequeeeen,

Thank you for your review.

As mentioned in many a previous response. The majority of the buildings and structures here at the Lodge are very old and form a part of the unique heritage listed buildings here on Rottnest Island.

Due to this we have large limitations regarding any changes that can be made. Despite these restrictions, we do have on going refurbishments throughout The Lodge and hope that you find future stays in our alternative room types more to your liking.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, aus
Level Contributor
149 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Rottnest Island is absolutely gorgeous. An absolute must visit spot and I hope to be back one day. Accommodation on the island is very 'rustic' (I'm being polite here...) I'll be honest, rustic just isn't my thing.

The hotels is very basic but pictures on their website are reflective of what you get. We had a premium lakeside room which was far nicer than the other rooms available. It's a shame that staff weren't friendlier, especially given the exorbitant rates charged. Food was dreadful (don't bother paying for breakfast) and the pool is a bit rubbish. (The local supermarket/deli is incredibly impressive and the ocean is incredible so these didn't affect our stay.) Overall a disappointing experience, especially given rates charged.

But go to Rotto regardless, it's breathtaking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marniemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review, December 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay at Rottnest Lodge and are very pleased to hear how stunned you were with your Premium Lakeside Room along with the peace and tranquillity they provide.

Our full cooked buffet breakfast is prepared fresh each morning, however I have passed on your comments to our head chef as we are always looking to maintain the quality of our breakfast to the high standards that our guest are accustomed to and apologize that this was not the case for your stay.

We receive outstanding reviews regarding our staff and high standards of customer service, which is very pleasing as we pride ourselves on our high levels of customer service and all our staff are extremely friendly, efficient and professional so it is disappointing to read you didn't feel they were friendly.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Lodge when you have the time to return.

Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

A well presented hotel on the outside, the room we stayed in was a little dated and tired. It was very clean however and the bed comfortable enough. The lack of aircon meant sleeping with the window open, which meant getting woken up early by the crows and other hotel guests etc. Overall however a pleasant stay, with very helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent and the pool area well maintained. We loved Rottnest and hope to visit again in the future, shame about all the flies!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phase_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review, December 23, 2014
Dear Phase_K,

It's greatly appreciated that you took the time to write a review of your experience at Rottnest Lodge and that you had an enjoyable experience.

In keeping with the islands goal of being environmentally friendly and sustainable, we receive our power from a wind generator here on the island. Unfortunately this does not allow the use of air conditioning in the rooms.

We would love to welcome you back to Rottnest Lodge for future stays.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Lodge gets a bad wrap. Too expensive for Rottnest. Well, I understand that viewpoint as up until now we have always done the 'family' thing and rented the holiday villas on the island. I will continue to do that, however, when it came to a 'couples' weekend away, the Lodge was the perfect spot.
We stayed in a Lakeside room. Spacious room with modern appointments with King size bed, private balcony overlooking the lake. The serenity of this location was priceless. The Lodge's facilities were perfect for us. The pool area was relaxing (even though there were kids in there splashing and making lots of noise). The staff met our every need, upon request to point of requesting a combination of two main meals made into one. A big stretch, but upon speaking to the chef, he was willing to accommodate. Nice!
We had a relaxing, romantic weekend at the Lodge and would recommend it to everyone! Loved it!

Room Tip: Room 81 is by the roadside which is a plus and a negative. Plus - privacy, with little noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartandteens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and look forward to welcoming back to the Rottnest Lodge again in the near future.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rottnest Island
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Hotel Rottnest
#2 of 4 in Rottnest Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rottnest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rottnest Lodge

Property: Rottnest Lodge
Address: Kitson Street, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 6161, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cockburn > Rottnest Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rottnest Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rottnest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rottnest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rottnest Hotel Rottnest Island
Rottnest Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing