We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cell Block "H"”
Review of Rottnest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rottnest Lodge
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Was a very dissapionting stay at the "Lodge"! Should really be called the "Cell" I have never been to prision but would imagine this would be very close. The room had leaks (as it was raining constantley) and had no ventelation, cramped dark and depressing. The service was poor due to the lack of training as not many staff could answer simple questions and at the empty bar it took over 5 minutes to get served because no one was was there! The dishwasher must need replacing as some of the breakfast plates were dirty, not to Appetizing! All in all i would not recomend this place as it needs a Major overhall starting at managment. I would suggest looking for alternitive places to stay.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, this place is nasty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Crackers777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at the lodge.

The quod room type are our most basic room here at the lodge for guests looking for an economical accommodation option. We are unaware of any issues with any of the rooms here at the lodge in regard to a leak of any sort. We ask that you contact ourselves in regards to the issue that you had during your stay so it may be rectified.

We pride ourselves on our customer service and alway receive high praise from guests and was disapointed to hear you did not find this to be the case during your recent stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rottnest Lodge to experience the high level of customer service we are known for and would recommend one of our lakeside rooms as they will be more to your liking.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed overnight in a standard twin room. It was as expected for a holiday Island. We were visited by a MOUSE late at night. After alerting staff at the restaurant, the duty manager came to bring a trap. We appreciated this but were still uneasy. The room perhaps isn't used as often.

The restaurant was fabulous for both dinner and breakfast. I alerted them to my garlic allergy and a special seafood pasta dish was prepared just for me. The buffet breakfast was comprehensive and wait staff were friendly & efficient. Girls at the front desk were helpful and efficient as well. Centrally located in a unique place. We also tried out the bar at the back and found the barman there very friendly too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, Manager at Rottnest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2014

Dear Julene M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Rottnest Lodge.

Our Riva restaurant offers a varying variety of dishes daily and can also cater to any dietary requirements if you let the restaurant know of your specific needs & am very pleased to hear that your specific dietary requirements were met with the ease and friendliness.

All staff are outstanding with their friendly & efficient ways and appreciate you stating as much in your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed at the Rottnest Lodge for two night over the long weekend. We have been before a couple of years ago. The weather was wet & cold but we still enjoyed our stay. All staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a couple of problems. When we got to our room someone was already in there. So back to reception and we got another room, upgraded to a 'Deluxe' Room. Then to find the TV couldn't receive the local channels. The reception manager called in (without calling him) and said there seems to be a problem in the lodge. David came back a few minutes later and offered another room with a better TV. We had Foxtel so we were happy. The room had the old feel with high ceilings, bigger than a standard hotel room. Extra door out to a veranda. Very nice. We had dinner at the lodge the first night. This was the best meal & service we had on our stay at Rottnest. Food was very nice with a good selection on the menus. And the service was great, thanks David. It is good the staff have the time to talk and help with what is on the menu. Meal & drinks was a bit pricy at $180 but didn't mind as it was very good. The buffet breakfast has a good selection and was included in the room price. The crows and the occasional peacock are a bit noisy early in the morning. I would recommend the Rottnest Lodge and we will stay again.

Room Tip: The 'Deluxe' rooms are well worth it from the 'Standard' rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alcatraz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed in a premium lakeside river room which was a nice room with a lovely aspect over the lake from your terrace where you can sit and watch the sunset with your own pre dinner drinks and snacks. Unfortunately when it comes to the main hotel I can't say I can recommend it - the food at dinner was passable, but over priced for the quality;the waitress we had did not know her menu and what the meal consisted of, worse than that she guessed and was wrong! The cooked breakfast was a disgrace - bacon both raw and overcooked in the same bain-marie, eggs both scrambled and poached sitting for too long and looked like rubber and the rest just passable. It is hard to believe that a qualified breakfast chef would look at what he / she put out and think, ''yep, I have satisfied my customers with that". Add to that the pool was closed for two days for maintenance, with no explanation as to why at reception.
There is little choice on Rottnest and it is all expensive, understandably given the location, however if Rottnest Lodge is trying to put itself above the rest as "the premier accommodation on the Island" don't spend the extra money.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are nice, with a good aspect from your little terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drumrunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight at Rottnest Lodge (in a Premium Lakeside Room) and we were very pleased with the overall experience. Breakfast is included in the cost of the room which makes the overall cost of the stay pretty reasonable for the standard of the accommodation. There is too much to see for a single day visit to this beautiful Island, make sure you spend at least two days (or longer if you can).

Room Tip: The Premium Lakeside Rooms are well positioned, quiet and have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RegN2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Spent a delightful and restful three days on Rottnest Island 20 minutes off the West Australian coastline from Fremantle. The premium room that The General Manager put us in was spacious and beautifully fitted out with a King double and a single with a balcony overlooking the salt lakes and to the West of the island and the gun and lighthouse. We could, also, see the wind turbine which powers the island.

Dinner the first night in the Rottnest Lodge was sensational. I had the fillet steak on a bed of square cut potatoes and my 88 year old Mother enjoyed the slow cooked pork belly.

Breakfast is a big hit. Eat as much as you like from a huge selection and the service from arrival from David at reception to everyone is outstanding. The building is being upgraded now it is in the management of Karma Royal Group- Chakra and John Spence and we cannot wait for this and the pool to be heated in winter!

Well done everyone and thank you very much

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeithBales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed one night in a Premium room. The room was lovely and in a nice location. The problem being the connecting door. Our neighbours had just got engaged and rang every one of their friends and family over the period of about 5 hours. (It was quite rainy so we had been out and about between showers but then returned to the room). We could hear every work said. They could have quite easily been in our room the conversations were so clear. If you stayed in these rooms and didnt have anyone in the room next door I would have no complaint at all but for $270 a night off season they really have to do something about the noise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rottnest Island
12.9 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
14.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
12.7 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cottesloe
229 reviews
13 mi away
Norfolk Hotel
Norfolk Hotel
#8 of 8 in Fremantle
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rottnest
Hotel Rottnest
#2 of 4 in Rottnest Island
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rottnest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rottnest Lodge

Address: Kitson Street, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 6161, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cockburn > Rottnest Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rottnest Island
Price Range: $194 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rottnest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Rottnest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rottnest Hotel Rottnest Island
Rottnest Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing