We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rottnest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rottnest Lodge
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

You may not need a map to find the hotel, because its so close to the jetty. The staff were nice and breakfast at the restaurant was delicious. It's a bit old facility, but still we enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne-may0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    286
    231
    92
    70
See reviews for
262
319
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed at the lodge for 3 nights and the accommodation was great. Stay away from the cooked breakfast provided in the cost unless you like uncooked and cold bacon, scrambled eggs with no taste, poached eggs that have the consistency of boiled eggs and patato cake that are like mash. The highlight of breakfast was the toast!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rottnest Island hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the rottnest lodge earlier this year and we booked for 3 nights in a standard room and trust me it was standard ! It felt like a prison. It was dark, unclean sheets and very small. It wasn't what we expected at all. We went down to reception to see if we could upgrade, the receptionist was lovely. She upgraded us to a lakeside room which was beautiful. Very clean and modern. It didn't feel like a cell at all. Unfortunately because of the upgrade we could only afford 2 night instead of 3 but those two nights were very relaxing. Only problem was the price of the rooms.Thank you for a lovely stay in the end.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abigail30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
277 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed in a standard lakeside room for 4 nights. We gave this 3 stars but for Rottnest this should be a 4 or 5 star compared to the other accommodations. If you are going to stay on Rottnest this is fine as it is clean, easily accessible to everything, breakfast included and we had a good view of the lake. The only drawback was the very thin walls as we could hear everything the people beside of us were saying and also doing late at night. Enough said on that! They have a bar area in the main entry of the lodge and the staff seem very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartyParty4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

The lodges bar is 15-20 meters from the room where you stay which attracts roudy guests and loud music. Could not sleep. This is not a place to stay for people who want to relax and bring their kids.
The decor inside the room is terrible with a whale poster on the wall. I would never stay here again or ever recommend this place to anyone. Don't be fooled by the photos on the website that make the rooms look appealing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Guest10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

So sorry for the employees though seriously it has been 15 years since I lasted stayed there and it hasn't changed with the same quilt covers as 15 years ago. If you are lucky enough to obtain the lakeside rooms jump for it or request it. I stayed at the quadrangle and it was oppressive and felt like being in a cell. I would have been happy to go camping instead. The food is very average.
They staffed obviously try very hard and I take my hat off to them.
There is other accommodation on the island. Not worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

When we booked one nights accommodation we were not informed that we were not allowed a newborn in the premium rooms, my partner booked & we were waiting for confirmation - no email & no call - we had to call them. Then upon calling we were told that we could only have a superior room since we were not allowed three in a premium room - no cot allowed. My partner called again & spoke with David who was extremely helpful & said that we could definitely have a premium room with a cot - which us what we had paid for. The room was nice & clean - though we had an adjoining door which we could hear every word the neighbouring couple said. We were told to ring the following morning to see of we could have a late check out as we had a newborn & we were getting the 4.30 ferry back to Perth. David said we should be ok to do so but just to confirm. We called & spike with Renae who informed us that we could have an extra hour - as it was raining we decided we couldn't spend a day on the island in the rain so we were able to get an early ferry at 9. My partner accidentally informed reception of the incorrect time - we notice our luggage hadn't gotten to the boat so we called reception. Renae informed us that there was no ferry to Hillarys at 9am & that our luggage would go to Freo on the 10am ferry. I informed her that we were infant in the 9am ferry waiting to leave - 15 mins to go. My partner had to race back to reception to retrieve the bags & run all the way back to the ferry since Renae seemed incapable if organising or even looking to see of our luggage had been moved. It's disappointing that all it takes is a staff member to ruin a lovely mini stay in Rotto! We also called to order a baby bath as in the hotels book/notes it said they were provided - however upon requesting one we were told that they do not do thus service??
We will return to beautiful Rottmest but we will definitely not book at the Rottnest Lodge & we will inform all family & friends to book elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hellsdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rottnest Island
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Hotel Rottnest
#2 of 4 in Rottnest Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rottnest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rottnest Lodge

Property: Rottnest Lodge
Address: Kitson Street, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 6161, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cockburn > Rottnest Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rottnest Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rottnest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rottnest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rottnest Hotel Rottnest Island
Rottnest Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing