We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not value for money”
Review of Rottnest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rottnest Lodge
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not value for money”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed at Rottnest Lodge for the Oz Day long weekend in a lakeside room. I have to agree with other reviewers that (like the rest of Rottnest) it is a rip-off for what is provided. There is no air-conditioning, even though the room was supposed to be a “Superior King Room” – fortunately it wasn’t a heatwave that weekend! There was also clearly insufficient staff in key areas as housekeeping did not come until mid-afternoon – interrupting a pleasant post-swim siesta. There was a problem with the plumbing resulting in an unpleasant smell in the ensuite the whole weekend as there didn’t seem to be anyone available for maintenance.

The included buffet breakfast was only served between 7:30 and 9:30 and the seating area is too small for the number of rooms/guests the Lodge can accommodate, resulting in a wait for a table regardless of the time one went to breakfast. The menu choices were pretty basic and prone to run out frequently, with again a wait for replenishment.
Reception staff were friendly and welcoming but limited in knowledge of island activities/options.

The natural beauty of Rottnest is undeniable and the walking/cycling/bus culture a refreshing change from other resort locations, but quality accommodation and food outlets are seriously lacking. The Rottnest Lodge tries to market itself as an upmarket short-duration choice compared to the RIA units/cottages but sadly it is not.

If you must stay on the island and can’t get into an RIA unit/cottage, and you find the Rottnest Hotel too noisy, then the Lodge is really the only other choice. The mid-priced rooms are probably best value, but the lakeside rooms have the advantage of peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms near the lake are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimoR313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    288
    234
    92
    72
See reviews for
265
325
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We just love Rottnest Island and living in Perth recommend it to all visitors to make the trip, a jewel of an island just off our coast. Going by boat and hiring a bike (a must) will set you back nearly $100. 25 years ago just $8. Cycle to nearby bays and take goggles and snorkle, all just magic.
But the Hotel, Well!!!!
Third world charm at 1st world prices. I feel sorry for the staff, the hotel looks like it is run on a shoestring. Do complain and things just might be repaired. Be patient at breakfast and don't be late.
The swimming pool makes it great if you have kids with you. Looking forward to the Hotel being renovated, but I dread to think what we will have to pay then.

Room Tip: The vLakeside rooms are quiet and in good condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisBuckels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rottnest Island hotels

East Fremantle
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at Rottnest Lodge- first time in years. Had Lakeside room which was spacious, clean and very well appointed, with fridge, lovely bathroom and furnishings. Because it was a spur of the moment booking there was only one room available, and it is pretty pricey at $350 per night. Included breakfast but just the bare minimum on offer and food was quite ordinary- anyone could have wandered in to dine there as no-one checked! Was still a nice break and the Lodge has had some money invested to make it stylish. Given that Rottnest Island Accommodation is now fairly expensive too, it's an easy way to stay a night or two.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I gotta say after reading TA we were pleasantly surprised by the lodge. We booked the rooms by the lake which have been recently refurbished and they were great - modern, spacious and the bed was massive. There was no aircon but we survived with the fan, just.
Pool was small and crowded but we expected that in January. The lobby was nice but the rest of the hotel felt like a holiday camp.
The lakeside rooms are very peaceful and the lodge is in a great location near all the shops and local amenities.
Breakfast was average but we had dinner in the hotel one night and were really impressed.
Yes rooms are overpriced but what do you expect for Rottnest Island.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misslcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Don't get me wrong Rottnest Island is beautiful! I visited Rottnest for one night with friends and had a lovely time! The food at the hotel is delicious and not overly priced and the location is amazing but I found the price of the rooms to be overpriced for what they are!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough Beach, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had an outstanding overnight stay The Lodge. The staff were really courteous and helpful at getting us checked in early. We loved the pool, all the facilities were clean and The Lodge was happy to look after our luggage until we caught the last ferry home. Worldclass service at The Lodge as usual. We can't wait to go back. Thank you Rottnest Lodge...

Room Tip: Any they are all just fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raelene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERTH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on the 14th & 15th Jan 2013, nice Premium Lakeside Rooms but definitely need Air-Cond. The room was like a Hot Box. It would also be nice to have a fly-screen door on the front so you can open the door and let the breeze go through the room. Had dinner in the restaurant and the duck ravioli was over cooked and the sauce was really salty. The salmon was nice and my sons Pork Belly was just okay (not crispy). I had a massage and it was a hot day but I am afraid that the portable air cooler just was not doing the job like a air-cond would do to make it more enjoyable. Massage I must say was very good. we really enjoyed the stay but need to either put an air-cond in the room or a cheaper version put at least a fly-screen door on the front door so you can have a breeze go through. thank you

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air-cond
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLSON72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rottnest Island
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
198 reviews
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fremantle
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 64 in Perth
273 reviews
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rottnest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rottnest Lodge

Property: Rottnest Lodge
Address: Kitson Street, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 6161, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cockburn > Rottnest Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rottnest Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rottnest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rottnest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rottnest Hotel Rottnest Island
Rottnest Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing