We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rottnest Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rottnest Lodge
London
Level Contributor
134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Although the lodge doesn't have great views like the villas, it's right in the middle of the main town so close to everything. It's ideal for a night or two, but no longer. The villas are best if you're there for longer.

A lot of the rooms are in the old prison, and have been refurbished to a high standard that's fresh, clean, and perfect for coming off the beach all sandy and salty. The beds are comfortable and the service good, and of course you have the swimming pool! Although it's unheated and quite cold...but perfect in the heat of the summer.

I think it's quite pricey for what it is really, and it needs more modernising to be able to charge the prices it does.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    285
    230
    91
    69
See reviews for
260
317
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We chose to stay at Rottnest Lodge overnight and took advantage of the package offered by the Rottnest ferry company which included breakfast. We booked a standard room and were extremely happy with how quiet and secluded the accommodation was, as well as the standard of the room itself. The lodge is an old building and we appreciated the ambience being kept with the tiled floors and shuttered windows. The bathroom was well appointed and spacious.

We had dinner at the Riva restaurant and the cocktails were excellent as was the pizza (recommended!). Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and we were very well fuelled for a long day of biking around the island. The service staff was courteous and helpful and we had a fantastic time! Heartily recommended for people wanting a bit of peace and old world charm at an island paradise!

Room Tip: The standard rooms seemed the best even though they are the cheapest because they are away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed 2 Days and after Travelling for 4 weeks around WA expected much better accommodation for the money paid, this was the one place everyone was looking forward to staying at - an idyllic island location. We did not check in till late in the day and went straight back out again for dinner at a different location. When we got back to the room we discovered the bathroom smelt, there were no batteries, no heater (nights were still cold) and the phone was dead, Night Staff were great and sorted out a new room, but the room quality was still poor/needs to be updated. Day staff were very indifferent to any issues. If you want a good breakfast get there early when there is plenty of freshly cooked food. Overall the room facilities were very basic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ness K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rottnest Island hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

My fiance and I went to Rottnest island with 2 other couples. We stayed at the Rottnest Lodge, which was satisfactory accommodation. The rooms were clean and fine for an over night stay. The rooms are however outdated and could do with some refurbishment. We had a great evening on the Saturday having a couple of drinks walking around checking out the menus and restaurants in the surrounding area. We decided to eat at the hotel restaurant as it had an impressive selection of Italian cuisine. We arrived at the restaurant at approx. 8:30pm and ordered a drink and starters - mostly oysters between us and a prawn dish. We waited until 9:20pm before asking where our food was as none of the staff had appoligised or told us about any long waiting period. When the starters came out the quantity of oysters was wrong, we asked why we had double the amount, the waitress said nothing and took them away, she then came back and said we could have them all because the chef was in a good mood. But this wasn't explained until after we had queried the amount and asked if we had to pay for them, again the waitress was rude and argumentative. We enjoyed the food and ordered another drink each, 2 of the drinks were wrong and had to be changed. We then had to wait until 9:45pm before receiving our main course! We complained about having to wait until nearly 10pm at night before eating our main course when we arrived in the restaurant at 8:30pm! The manageress had gone home for the night so the 'front of house' said he would discount our drinks from the bill. My friend hadn't had a drink and the drinks only came to $37 when the food bill was £210! We weren't happy with our compensation and were left very disapointed with the whole experience. Don't waste your time or money on this place!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R0byn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Admittedly we booked the last room on the island at relatively short notice on a long weekend. It was ok - but the room was very small with no character.

Included breakfast - the dining room was a bit overwhelmed - uncooked bacon, weak coffee - they kept running out of food & plates & cutlery.

Staff were pleasant & helpful.

Nothing good management couldn't fix.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lferretter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the lodge for one night recently having stayed there previously some 27 years ago. Our room was situated in the circular area facing a large courtyard which our door opened onto.There are quite a number of other rooms similar to ours but also cater for singles/doubles and family type rooms.There is quite an array of differant types of birds that greet you in the morning sun along with the quokkas which makes for a refreshing start for the day.Our room was good and contained a bathroom and a small refrigerator with tea making facilities with a TV and the bed was quite comfortable.It also had a portable fan but no airconditioning.The breakfast was superb and this area faced the inground pool which was available to the hotel guests.The desk service was very good and had the facilility for guests to have their luggage picked by Rottnest Ferries when returning to the mainland.Overall it was very nice but do not expect the rooms to be appointed similar to city hotels as a number of buildings and areas on the island are heritage listed such as this one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyFroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

ACCOMMODATION:
Deluxe Room "Palm Court".
We stayed in room no 24. This is on the corner of the lodge and Verandah faces onto walking intersections. Great for watching the world go by... If you are after something very private - Might not be the room for you.. Our Room was part of a special package. I think we therefore ended up paying $180 a night. Very Happy
STAFF and SERVICE: Hotel Staff were brilliant. Received a complimentary Bottle of Champagne as was our Wedding Anniversary Weekend. Thanks Rottnest Lodge
Cleaning Staff were superb. SPOTLESS
BREAKFAST @ Marlin Restaurant: All I can say is YUMMO and great FULL BUFFET. We received this as part of our package. However I think it normally costs $25pp. But is so worth it...
DINNER @ Adjoining Governors Bar: Had Chicken Curry with Poppadums. Paid I think around $18. Again can not fault food..
OVERALL: Great Atmosphere - Even though some rooms older. VERY CLEAN. Staff very friendly and great serivce :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikaQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rottnest Island
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Hotel Rottnest
#2 of 4 in Rottnest Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rottnest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rottnest Lodge

Property: Rottnest Lodge
Address: Kitson Street, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 6161, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cockburn > Rottnest Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rottnest Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rottnest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Rottnest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rottnest Hotel Rottnest Island
Rottnest Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing