We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not meet expectations for the price paid”
Review of Hotel Rottnest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rottnest
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Did not meet expectations for the price paid”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Did not meet expectations for the price paid. We sighted several long black hairs in the bathroom, and black hairs on the bed sheets. One of the glasses was dirty. Room did not feel fully furnished. Quality of sleep was not good as we were woken up several times throughout the night from noise outside.

However, the location was nice and central and we were allowed early check in which was a positive, however perhaps would've been better if we checked in at a normal time and they spent the extra time cleaning the room more thoroughly...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aju91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    80
    73
    32
    21
See reviews for
58
118
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Rottnest Hotel was gorgeous! Great Staff, beautiful wine, and nice view. Loved how the Quokkas and Peacocks were wandering around freely. Nice seating and lots of it. The place looks flash but is actually very casual even staff were wearing their own sunnies giving it a laid back feel. After the long bike ride around the island it was nice to finish the day having drinks at Rottnest Hotel. Defiantly one of Australia’s hidden little treasures!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shara May L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed in a courtyard room in March this year. Modern but basic accomodation, wardrobe part of bathroom, in fact a shelf and a rail hand basin toilet and shower combination. The main disappointment however is that there is no breakfast room and on asking we were told to go "down the road" to Dome or a take-away!! We were informed that if we had requested the night before a continental basket could have been arranged in the room, but no information re this had been given on booking or in the room. As we had paid over $260 per night for this basic accomodation
Without any ocean view it seemed very unprofessional. The meals they provide for lunch and dinner are quite good and as the location is one of the best on the island it is very well patronised at all times. Beautiful island and needs a more professional approach in this, the only real option for hotel accomodation, on the island, especially at the prices which are in line with far better accomodation in major cities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank City/Countrycousin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
438 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This is my all time favourite place to eat on Rotto. Every time we come the food is fantastic, staff are friendly and great service.
Perfect place to relax in the sun and enjoy a great meal.
Prices are also reasonable especially compared to the prices elsewhere on Rotto

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0wi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Didn't stay here, but felt compelled to write a review on the food as there are limited places to eat out on Rotto. The menu is small, pizzas, steak, seafood, salads. Its go to the bar order and pay. I had the crispy skinned barramundi which came with citrus cous cous and salad. It was great, cleaned the plate. My teenage niece had the caesar salad. I saw a steak go buy and it looked fantastic. Don't be put off taking kids here, if you are going early the place is full families early for dinner. Like everything on Rotto, its not cheap, but its good food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

my husband and I stayed in Hotel Rottnest for 2 nights in April 2013. We had an absolute ball. Our hotel room was clean, spacious and had a flat screen TV.
The island is spectacular. We hired bikes on the island when we arrived and we cycled for a few hours that day and went to a beautiful beach. White sand, clear water, absolutely stunning. After our cycle we went back to hotel rottenest for beers and watch the sun go down. the view from the outdoor area is beautiful. We didn't eat in this hotel as we hadn't heard great things about it and we didn't want to be disappointed so i jumped on the urban spoon website to see what our options were. We ate in a nearby restaurant in the Rottnest lodge. Nice food, lovely service and ambiance. Our second day consisted of cycling the whole island which we both thoroughly enjoyed. Lots of wildlife and beautiful scenery.
We ate in the pub called 'Gov's bar' which was nice pub grub. There are 3 cafes to choose from, if your after good coffee i would choose 'The Lane'.
There is a supermarket too that is well equipped. The island is a little expensive but i would highly recommend it and i will definitely be going back. the beauty surpassed the cost.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileenc20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have recently stayed at this hotel and stayed in the "bayside room", which is very expensive for what it is and you are paying for the view only. The room itself has no privacy, the walls are paper thin, you cannot sit peacefully on your balcony without seeing or hearing your neighbour breathe!! If you want to party and get no sleep, then go to this hotel, if you want a peaceful weekend or weekday - look elsewhere!! The reception/hotel staff are very unprofessional and the cleaners were the only praise. We would never recommend this hotel for accommodation. The island itself is beautiful, so look elsewhere for accommodation on the island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 426jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rottnest Island hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rottnest Island
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 81 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fremantle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rottnest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rottnest

Property: Hotel Rottnest
Address: 1 Bedford Ave, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 6161, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cockburn > Rottnest Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rottnest Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rottnest 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accommodation at Hotel Rottnest is second to none on the island, being the only resort style accommodation on Rottnest Island that is on the beach. Our Bayside rooms are the top of the range on Rottnest with private courtyards that overlook the majestic Thompson Bay, and are the only Rottnest Island accommodation with reverse-cycle air-conditioning. Spend your Rottnest holiday in resort style comfort only minutes from Fremantle. There is no better place to sit and sip on a glass of champagne and watch the world go by or to rejuvenate after a day of adventure on this serene island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rottnest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rottnest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing