We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location”
Review of Hotel Rottnest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rottnest
perth
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have a love hate relationship with Hotel Rottnest. It is the best accommodation option that you will find on the island if you want Air conditioning, flatscreen tv and a room serviced daily. It is in a beautiful location on the beach and next door to the pub but the staff come across as if they do not want to be there. Service needs work or alternatively the prices should be lowered to reflect the service given. I found the cleaners gave me more of a smile and a happy chat than the rest of the staff.

Overall it is a lovely hotel and very relaxing, lots of space at the pub to sit down and watch the beach. It was very nice to return to the hotel after a day of cycling. The hotel has been recently renovated and much of its heritage has been maintained which is great to see. Quokkas sometimes come up into the pub and the resident peacock as well.

We stayed in the courtyard room and it is furnished to suit the beach lifestyle with photos of the island and hard floor covering.

The hotel location is incredibly handy as you can walk to the settlement, beach and other eateries. You can park your bicycles in front of the courtyard.

We had a super relaxing time at The Hotel but we wish the service is improved.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leanne_pearc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    85
    74
    33
    23
See reviews for
62
122
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Good thing this place has a captive market over summer, as the only reason you would eat here is the view over the bay, and the cold beer (don't try the bubbly, its terrible they must have left it out in the sun). Food was over priced and tasteless. Staff were not knowledgable and arogant. All up not a pleasant experience, which is a pity considering the location of the venue.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Testing123Testing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rottnest Island hotels

Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I travelled to Rottnest for New Years Eve with my mother and friends - we stayed at the Rottnest Hotel. I'll start with the positives in the review. The room is perfectly located close to the hotel and settlement. We had the rooms that overlook the water so it was a great setting for an evening of celebrations. Everything in the room worked and the airconditioner kept up with the high temperatures outside. OK, positives over, now for the bad news. Overall I felt robbed - almost $400 a night and I still cannot see the value in the money. Our sliding door to the outdoor patio was jammed, the outdoor furniture was full of spider webs and some fixtures in the bathroom were rusted - basic maintenance was lacking - the room was not as 'polished' as it should be for the price. There is no wifi either which I find primitive for a hotel that charges so much for a basic room. The room appeared beautifully cleaned but both my mother and I woke with bites on us after sharing the main bed which remained on the skin for weeks after. Furthermore the rollerbed booked for my partner fell off the booking and we had to request it again. We were also told that dinner could be ordered in the hotel until 9pm on new years eve. We went to the bar at 8:40pm and was told the kitchen was closed. I find this ridiculous for an Internationally-renowned venue to not serve food late on new years eve! We went to the nearby cafe who were also closing their kitchen but managed to squeeze out a meal for us. Lucky, because we had no other food as we were there for one night and to our knowledge none of the other settlement food outlets were open. CRAZY considering it was new years....best views in town and no-one offers a dinner package for NYE!? Is the Rottnest Island Authority and Hotel Rottnest out of touch with international travellers - not all like to drink booze with drunks in the pub. So it was a very disappointing experience and I understand why most Perth people prefer to go to Bali for a 'better value for money' holiday. Won't be back to Hotel Rottnest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay...but pack the bug spray for the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatinIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Was there oz day weekend, from the look of it . it's a real trend setters easy to pick place to drink! ........... I was wrong very wrong staff are there to make money and give no customer experience, the food was basic and hard to pick off the menu. I upped for the pizza, I may as well have chewed on those pig ear you give your dog! Then wash that down with a plastic (disposable) pint costing me $11.50, and my wife drinking the only wine on offer that may as well come out of a goon bag that sandleford vinegar! then to have kids running around every! In saying all that lucky for these "investors" (money makers) not hospitality people they have the views, it's a shame for what has come of the quokka arms it now looks and feel like a circus! Ran by greedy clowns!

Room Tip: Did not say there I didn't think they had rooms if so wouldn't motel rottnest best describe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthAussie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We really enjoyed wandering down to the "Pub" each evening and watching the sun set over the ocean. The food was great and reasonably priced - we ate here every night we were at Rottnest.
Over the weekend there was a great band and everyone from 2 to 72 enjoyed it. Service was fairly prompt and courteous. We love the relaxed and happy atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I can't recommend staying at the hotel, like other accommodation on the island it is overpriced and the service is poor. However the public bars are a great place to spend time and relax over a beer or three. Service can be problematic at peak times (weekend evenings) but the bar staff seem to work tirelessly to serve the punters. Drinks are on the high side bit not dissimilar to top-end bars on the mainland. Food is quite good and served reasonably quickly. Can't fault the ambience and view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimoR313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

After riding pushbikes around for 2 hours under a hot sun on Rottnest Island West Australia last weekend, to get off the bikes and walk a few paces and sit down at the pub was bliss. The chicken pizza was wonderful, and to have a visit from a Quoka and Peacock walking amongst the tables was very special! I wonder how the management of the pub organise that? The staff were very relaxed, friendly and efficient. Wonderful way to finish a day on Rottnest!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieJanEtte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rottnest Island
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 8 in Fremantle
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 65 in Perth
1,562 reviews
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
208 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 65 in Perth
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rottnest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rottnest

Property: Hotel Rottnest
Address: 1 Bedford Ave, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 6161, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cockburn > Rottnest Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rottnest Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rottnest 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accommodation at Hotel Rottnest is second to none on the island, being the only resort style accommodation on Rottnest Island that is on the beach. Our Bayside rooms are the top of the range on Rottnest with private courtyards that overlook the majestic Thompson Bay, and are the only Rottnest Island accommodation with reverse-cycle air-conditioning. Spend your Rottnest holiday in resort style comfort only minutes from Fremantle. There is no better place to sit and sip on a glass of champagne and watch the world go by or to rejuvenate after a day of adventure on this serene island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rottnest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rottnest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing