We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience for the price paid”
Review of Hotel Rottnest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rottnest
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience for the price paid”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I travelled to Rottnest for New Years Eve with my mother and friends - we stayed at the Rottnest Hotel. I'll start with the positives in the review. The room is perfectly located close to the hotel and settlement. We had the rooms that overlook the water so it was a great setting for an evening of celebrations. Everything in the room worked and the airconditioner kept up with the high temperatures outside. OK, positives over, now for the bad news. Overall I felt robbed - almost $400 a night and I still cannot see the value in the money. Our sliding door to the outdoor patio was jammed, the outdoor furniture was full of spider webs and some fixtures in the bathroom were rusted - basic maintenance was lacking - the room was not as 'polished' as it should be for the price. There is no wifi either which I find primitive for a hotel that charges so much for a basic room. The room appeared beautifully cleaned but both my mother and I woke with bites on us after sharing the main bed which remained on the skin for weeks after. Furthermore the rollerbed booked for my partner fell off the booking and we had to request it again. We were also told that dinner could be ordered in the hotel until 9pm on new years eve. We went to the bar at 8:40pm and was told the kitchen was closed. I find this ridiculous for an Internationally-renowned venue to not serve food late on new years eve! We went to the nearby cafe who were also closing their kitchen but managed to squeeze out a meal for us. Lucky, because we had no other food as we were there for one night and to our knowledge none of the other settlement food outlets were open. CRAZY considering it was new years....best views in town and no-one offers a dinner package for NYE!? Is the Rottnest Island Authority and Hotel Rottnest out of touch with international travellers - not all like to drink booze with drunks in the pub. So it was a very disappointing experience and I understand why most Perth people prefer to go to Bali for a 'better value for money' holiday. Won't be back to Hotel Rottnest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay...but pack the bug spray for the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatinIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    82
    73
    32
    22
See reviews for
58
120
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Was there oz day weekend, from the look of it . it's a real trend setters easy to pick place to drink! ........... I was wrong very wrong staff are there to make money and give no customer experience, the food was basic and hard to pick off the menu. I upped for the pizza, I may as well have chewed on those pig ear you give your dog! Then wash that down with a plastic (disposable) pint costing me $11.50, and my wife drinking the only wine on offer that may as well come out of a goon bag that sandleford vinegar! then to have kids running around every! In saying all that lucky for these "investors" (money makers) not hospitality people they have the views, it's a shame for what has come of the quokka arms it now looks and feel like a circus! Ran by greedy clowns!

Room Tip: Did not say there I didn't think they had rooms if so wouldn't motel rottnest best describe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthAussie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rottnest Island hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We really enjoyed wandering down to the "Pub" each evening and watching the sun set over the ocean. The food was great and reasonably priced - we ate here every night we were at Rottnest.
Over the weekend there was a great band and everyone from 2 to 72 enjoyed it. Service was fairly prompt and courteous. We love the relaxed and happy atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I can't recommend staying at the hotel, like other accommodation on the island it is overpriced and the service is poor. However the public bars are a great place to spend time and relax over a beer or three. Service can be problematic at peak times (weekend evenings) but the bar staff seem to work tirelessly to serve the punters. Drinks are on the high side bit not dissimilar to top-end bars on the mainland. Food is quite good and served reasonably quickly. Can't fault the ambience and view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimoR313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

After riding pushbikes around for 2 hours under a hot sun on Rottnest Island West Australia last weekend, to get off the bikes and walk a few paces and sit down at the pub was bliss. The chicken pizza was wonderful, and to have a visit from a Quoka and Peacock walking amongst the tables was very special! I wonder how the management of the pub organise that? The staff were very relaxed, friendly and efficient. Wonderful way to finish a day on Rottnest!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieJanEtte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Don't get me wrong Rottnest Island is beautiful! I visited Rottnest for one night with friends and had a lovely time! The food at the hotel is delicious and not overly priced and the location is amazing but I found the price of the rooms to be overpriced for what they are!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

A relaxing lunch at the Rottnest Hotel watching boats bobbing in Thompsons Bay is hard to beat on a hot day. The fan-cooled bar area or the casual bar under the peppermint trees at the waters edge is not the only difficult choice. We found choosing from the menu was also a challenge. The Shark Bay Whiting with chips and a salad was simple but absolutely perfect. My husbands burger was equally satisfying and my daughter is still remembering the chips! Unusually for Western Australia, the service was very good, friendly, timely and efficient. While the value of the Australian dollar is significantly diminished on Rottnest in general, the pleasant experience of well cooked whiting, a superb view and a clean and charming environment is a great holiday memory. The place has a vibe like no other.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rrhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rottnest Island
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
198 reviews
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fremantle
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 64 in Perth
273 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cottesloe
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rottnest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rottnest

Property: Hotel Rottnest
Address: 1 Bedford Ave, Cockburn, Rottnest Island, Western Australia 6161, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cockburn > Rottnest Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rottnest Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rottnest 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accommodation at Hotel Rottnest is second to none on the island, being the only resort style accommodation on Rottnest Island that is on the beach. Our Bayside rooms are the top of the range on Rottnest with private courtyards that overlook the majestic Thompson Bay, and are the only Rottnest Island accommodation with reverse-cycle air-conditioning. Spend your Rottnest holiday in resort style comfort only minutes from Fremantle. There is no better place to sit and sip on a glass of champagne and watch the world go by or to rejuvenate after a day of adventure on this serene island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rottnest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rottnest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing