We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful informative”

Rottnest Island Visitor Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.79*
and up
Rottnest Island Round-Trip Ferry from Perth or Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rottnest Island Visitor Centre is located in Thomson Bay near the main jetty. Ask the helpful and friendly staff for maps and information about attractions, tours, bus services, bike hire and mooring rentals. If you are staying in Rottnest Island Authority accommodation you can check in at the Visitor Centre from 2pm daily. Please phone for opening hours and other helpful information.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Helpful informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I found the centre clean, neat cool and the people Helpful and Informative definatley a first stop if you have not been tot he island before.

Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    104
    21
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
western australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rottnest Island Visitor Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The staff were helpful and very pleasant and the volunteer guides do an awesome job which is not what I found at the Bike Hire facility which are also RIA staff.Would not reccomend hiring any items from them bad experience prior and post hiring of two bikes.
Use Rottnest Ferries bike hire instead!!!
The staff I found to be impolite and customer serviceand resolving issue skills non existant...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cjmmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“great friendly service with a smile.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Arrived on island from the ferry and went straight to the visitor centre. Greeted with a lovely smile and very helpful answers to all my questions. Bought our all day island bus fare here using credit card no problem. They organise all sorts of great tours etc. Counter staff well done.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dejamls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“What a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My last day in Oz was spent on this idyllic island just off the Perth coast, ferry crossing with a coach tour of the island (including lovely buffet lunch at island hotel) booked through travel agent nine months before at the end of my 26 days in Australia. Beautiful weather made the tour of the island superb, driver was knowledgable and interesting with time to explore lovely historical settlement, museum, shops. The scenery was divine, the many picturesque beaches, lighthouse, salt lakes, resident quokkas etc. I would have liked time to hire a bike (probably best with an overnight stay on island) which would have been great but felt with the coach tour at least you could see most of the island and learn about the history.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank plantoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Helpful and friendly staff who helped plan a leisurely day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

As I needed only a leisurely stroll, the recommended Bayseeker Bus for $14 all day was ideal. It enables you to do as little or as much walking as you wish. For myself, I got off the bus at Geordie Bay and walked along the cycleway (no cars) back to Thomson Bay. The driver was friendly and helpful, as was everyone on the island.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gottalovehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rottnest Island Visitor Centre also viewed

Rottnest Island, Cockburn
Rottnest Island, Cockburn
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Rottnest Island Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing