We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, unique little island”
Review of Parakeet Bay

Parakeet Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Stunning, unique little island”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I went to Rottnest in May 2013 - not exactly summer - and the weather was still amazing. I arrived after 3 months in Thailand, so for me the sea at Rottnest was a bit cold, but I cannot fault the island for its beauty. Have a look at the photos, it took about 45 minutes to get there by boat but it was time and money very well spent whilst in Western Australia.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    31
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“great little bay”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Parakeet bay is a little bit of paradise on Rottnest island it boasts crystal clear waters surrounded by magnificent rocks , as good a patch of water as you would find anywhere in the world. Lovely just to wallow in the water or snorkel, fish or just laze on the sand. If you are not cycling it is a good walk from Geordie bay or you can just hop on the bus and get off there then hop back on when you want to go home. Worth a visit while on the island

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nnntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great snorkelling spot”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Ok it's not the barrier reef, but still, this was a good sheltered little spot to do some temperate water snorkelling. Quite a high variety of fish, and no one on the beach but us (-:

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelbKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clear and calm bay”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Calm bay with crystal clear water.Shallow water - Ideal for snorkeling. Great scenery from the top of the rocks.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank blueblossoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“One of the two bays we swam at on a fab day here.”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I would say our day out here on Rotto was not cheep but well worth the effort.The great clean sea ang beautiful sand.The fun of seeing the Quokkas And the good warm day made this the highlight of my three week stay in WA.I would say to anyone asking go ! It is different ,busy and much less wild than the wonderful Scottish islands that I love but I have never enjoyed a warm swim there but then I don't have to look out for sharks!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsPumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parakeet Bay also viewed

Rottnest Island, Cockburn
Rottnest Island, Cockburn
 

Been to Parakeet Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing