We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forest retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nannup
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Donnelly River Village
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Nannup
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Our family stays at Donnelly every year - the forest is so beautiful and the kids love having the freedom to roam around the village.

The cottages are all being renovated since the new owners took over a couple of years ago - new wood heaters, new beds, all really clean and comfy. We love chopping the wood for the wood heaters and feeding the kangaroos and emus. The verandahs have beautiful views of the forest and there's great bushwalking along the Bibbulmun Track. Check out the lake for swimming - it's surrounded by forest. It's great value for money.

Room Tip: Cottages 3-15 are near the store and playground and good for young children. For those who like to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fleur342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 73 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2012

Our family have been staying at Donnelly for a few years. Last time we stayed, there had been upgrades to the accommodation and the cottages although still basic are now very comfortable. The cottage we stayed in had new beds, comfy couches and was clean and warm. We have three young boys and it so rare to find a place where electronic gadgets are not relied upon for their amusement. We love swimming in the dam, building cubbies in the bush and going on the flying fox. We do not see our boys for hours as they explore the forrest around. Highly recommended for families and people who just want to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stellabella1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I have been to a place like this, the animals are amazingly friendly and the place is like Australia in the 1950's. Friendly people, comfortable but simple cottages and swimming in a bush lake with emus!

Room Tip: nice road to Donnelly from the north through Greenbushes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Heidi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We stay here every year, it is such a relaxing place to be. Very basic accomodation, beds are uncomfortable, chairs/couches are old and some units have outside toilets, but I wouldn't have it any other way. I love my luxury accomodation but I'm just as happy coming down to donnelly as staying at a five star resort. It's cheap, cheerful and unique.

What makes this place so special is the wildlife and bush setting. Tame kangaroos, emu's and parrots everywhere. My kids spend the entire time feeding, patting, cuddling and kissing the roos. Log fires in the cabins so I can get out there and chop some wood and feel like a pioneer. No TV, no radio, a great place to switch off and get back to basics.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bullseye72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

Quite and Peacful place where you can be at one with nature. Houses are very basic and unfortunatley ours was a little grubby. I wasn't expecting luxury, but would have liked clean surfaces etc. Arm chairs could have been comfier to chill in front of the log fire.
Was good if you like the rustic back to basics. The setting was beautiful and being able to engage in hand feeding of emu's and kangaroos was great.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nannup
23.6 mi away
Forest Lodge Resort
Forest Lodge Resort
#1 of 6 in Pemberton
201 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Black Cockatoo
The Black Cockatoo
#2 of 10 in Nannup
47 reviews
11.2 mi away
Nannup Valley Chalets
Nannup Valley Chalets
#1 of 1 in Nannup
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Crabapple Lane Bed and Breakfast
12.2 mi away
Mossbrook Country Estate Bed and Breakfast
15 mi away
Holberry House
Holberry House
#1 of 9 in Nannup
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnelly River Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnelly River Village

Address: Corner Of Sears And Andrew Road | Donnelly River, Nannup, Western Australia 6258, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Nannup
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Nannup
Price Range: $90 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donnelly River Village is a step back in time before technology took over our lives. Set in the middle of the towering Karri forest, we have 36 self-contained rustic timber workers cottages with wood fires and verandahs overlooking the trees. Native wildlife lives in the village and it is a great place to bring overseas visitors to see kangaroos and emus, in the flesh! Kids can run free to explore the forest, ride bikes and visit the General Store to buy their lollies. We can host functions and conferences in our old Workers Club and many couples choose Donnelly River for their 'destination wedding' where family and friends can gather for a couple of days of catching up again and celebrating their special day in their own special way. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing