We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveler rating
23
7
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews electric blankets log fire one night chris hosts colorful century lola classic grounds birds accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 30 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2017

what a lovely setting, the house was typical of its time, 150y.o., dotted with the owners more modern things, colourful and vibrant, fresh flowers throughout, our own bedroom and ensuite, rambling house easy to get lost in till you find out the secret on how not to. the gardens were beautiful and the shed which is used for functions is GREAT .Chris and Phillip made us very welcome and couldnt do enough for us, do try it, you will LOVE IT.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the house are quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 444marisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine U, Owner at Historic Dingup House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Thanks for that wonderful review. Makes us happy to make our guests happy !
Cheers
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2017

Wake up in the 19th century. Not many old building in this area but this is one of them. A classic B&B with a classic host. We were treated like family and enjoyed learning more about the place from Philip. He was running the place alone when we were there and I suspect that if she had have been there the experience might have been a little more polished but couldn't have been any more fun!

Room Tip: Ask to see a couple of available rooms
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine U, Owner at Historic Dingup House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Hi Tom
Thanks for your review it made me laugh. Philip is a bit of a rough diamond just how I love him. We are both happy you enjoyed your stay. Next time I will give you the more polished version of Dingup House.
Kind regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017

Yes, it is about 10 minutes from the main road and yes, you do have to travel part of the way on a gravel road. No, there isn't wifi.
So what? You are going to a unique historic homestead and you should just embrace the experience - it is wonderful. Beautiful home, beautiful setting but what really makes the stay is Philip and Chris's hospitality. They are great hosts and we so enjoyed meeting them and their daughters Clancy and Cassidy, not to mention the gorgeous Lola the dog.
It was a surprisingly cold night but my bed was comfy and snug. Lying there in the morning listening to the lambs and birds outside, it was easy to imagine never going home! And despite the house being authentically old and idiosyncratic, the en suite bathroom was very good with an excellent shower.
We didn't have dinner at the house (Chris was very helpful organising us a booking at a local restaurant) but we had a delicious breakfast and afterwards thoroughly enjoyed a stroll around the grounds with Philip.
My research had suggested this would be by far the best accommodation in the area and we both agreed I got that right!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank LilyHCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017

We enjoyed one night in this beautiful house with Chris and Phillip being the perfect hosts. We had a delicious home cooked roast lamb dinner and dessert made from locally grown fruits. The log fire was much appreciated as it was a rather cold evening. Our room had an ensuite bathroom, a room heater and electric blankets. The bed was super comfy and it was sooooooo peaceful. A self serve breakfast of cereal, fruits and toast was provided and eggs on request. A very relaxing stay and can thoroughly recommend it. My only negative comment is there was nowhere to hang anything in our room - just a few wall hooks would have been great :-)

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillips2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2017 via mobile

Was in town for a conference and my usual accommodation was fully booked so I was referred to Dingup House. Very happy, as I would otherwise likely never have known about this history-filled place. Hosts Chris and Phillip are warm and welcoming, and Chris' original artwork throughout is phenomenal. The grounds and surrounds are gorgeous, the house lovingly decorated, there are warming fires, heaters and electric blankets, beautiful food, and Lady Lola the King Charles Spaniel is adorable. A really special, cosy place.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
Thank r0ban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 21, 2017

Thank you Robyn for that lovely review. Much appreciated and we would love to have you here again soon. X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews