We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”

The Loop and Z Bend Gorge
Book In Advance
More Info
$900.65*
and up
3-Day Monkey Mia Dolphins, Pinnacles Desert and Kalbarri National Park Tour...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Kalbarri National Park is a great day out the Z Bend and Nature's Window walks require some suppleness as there is a bit of a climb down the rocks. Well worth it though. The views are amazing!!!!! Go early to avoid the buses.

Hawk's Head and the Ross Graham Lookout are also great. I had a swim in the river at Ross Graham. Definitely good value for $11 entry.

Helpful?
1 Thank SarahS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    28
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kwinana, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Get your walking shoes on you`ll need them.At $11 per car price is great gives you day access to the whole park.The views of the gorges are spectacular.It was quite warm so remember you water as the park doesn`t have any.The access to Natures Window I thought wasn`t ideal for very young children so I stayed with my 4yr old while the others went to have a look.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rdw206WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
341 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Wonderful scenery”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We went to Kalbarri intending to move on soon but loved it so much we extended our stay to a week. It was early September and there had been a little rain before we arrived so there were loads of wildflowers and smoke bushes. We'd bought a A$40 month pass for WA national parks so we could go into the National Park as often as we liked. But we were told that the best bits were along a gravel road and hire car companies don't allow hire cars on them. Luckily Avis do allow you on gravel roads so off we set. The road in had very few potholes but was pretty corrugated so we kept to 50km/h or so in our Elantra (ordinary car, not 4WD). At the end of the entry road you turn left for the Loop or right for Z bend.

The Loop has the iconic Nature's Window (a rock bridge looking down on the gorge). That's quite near the car park but there's also a 6 hour loop walk which takes you on a big circuit, much of it down in the gorge where it's much hotter. What we did was the easy version - we kept to the right at the start of the loop walk and went along the top off the cliffs until the route went down into the gorge. Then we turned back. This made a very scenic and fairly easy walk of under two hours.

Z bend was our favourite. You turn right at the end of the entry road and there's a spectacular lookout point 400m from the car park. For the more adventurous there's a well marked way right down to the river, where we went for a picnic twice. One time there was a couple with a baby on the guy's back and a very pregnant mum so it's not too arduous and it is absolutely gorgeous once you're down there. I even swam in one of the deeper pools - 20C or so. It was also quite easy to explore up or down the river although other times of year could be too hot or wet.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Stunning scenery”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The dirt road into the national park is a bit rugged with a section of around 7km that is very corrugated, but doable in a car. Our near new rental Camry coped ok. Sort of.....actually 2 days later the car came to a complete stop. Turned out one of the battery terminals had come loose. I suspect from Kalbarri. We found at 20km/h the car shook really bad, but at 50km/h the corrugations were smoothed out. If travelling during spring, the entire 27km of road is alive with wildflowers. Z Bend is fantastic and an easy 30 min walk to the lookout. But, if you only have time for 1 spot, then it has to be Natures Window & The Loop. We didnt do the entire Loop, just around 2km of the clifftop section & then came back. A little sorry now that we didnt also go down to the river. We we there in mid September & it was very hot, so I imagine in Summer the temps would be extreme, so be sure to take hat, sunscreen & lots of water.

One other word of warning. The local Kalbarri revenue raisers are gung ho. We got done by a radar on the southern Red Bluff entry to town. Speed limit changed from 80 to 60 virtually on the crest of a hill. I tapped the brake to disengage cruise and was slowing gently when an officer positioned at the bottom of the hill got me as I came over the crest still doing 78. Welcome to Kalbarri!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dags111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Kalbarri national park”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Absolutely fantastic the lookouts are the best a MUST do simply breath taking I took an 88 yr old and the access ramps were easy to viewing decks family can trek kids can run around you can picnic at the tables and chairs while all the family do there thing. We all loved it. Not many national parks with those views. The road in is gravel but I have a new car and didn't get any gravel chip marks and it's s sedan not 4wd.
Loads of flies and bull ants but that's our great outdoors.
It's a short drive from the township and no hassle at all

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank BOWIE09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Loop and Z Bend Gorge also viewed

Kalbarri National Park, Western Australia
Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park
 
Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park
Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park
 

Been to The Loop and Z Bend Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing