We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Murchison River

Murchison River
Book In Advance
More Info
$456.20*
and up
Kalbarri, Pink Lake and Abrolhos Islands Air and Land Tour from Geraldton
Ranked #8 of 35 things to do in Kalbarri
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Had loads of fun canoeing with the kids. great spot to chill out with some wine and let the day slip away.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank emjacu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    45
    3
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wonerful scenery in Kalbarri National Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Murchison River winds its way through Kalbarri National Park, and displays stunning rock formations.
The favourite part is down a long dirt road (OK for 2WD) and arrives close to 'Nature's Window', which is a natural arch looking along the river from hight up. The 8 km Loop Walk starts at the window, and is worth doing, but very early in the morning in January/February, as the temperatures rise very quickly. The walk is exceptionally worthwhile - although you have to be a bit agile in one section near the river.
Other overlooks are worthwhile in Kalbarri National Park, but nothing surmounts The Loop.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinBut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“boating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We took our children on a boat along the river, very safe and a nice easy way to see the river banks

Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
186 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“The "loop" and all that....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

A short drive out of Kalbarri you turn off into the nature reserve and hit the dirt road. It does go on and on but don't despair you eventually reach the T junction where you can turn right for the Z bend or left for the Loop and Nature's Window. Again another few kilometres either way. But en route look out for the "Ta-Ta "lizards, kangaroos lolling by the roadside and other animals, not to mention the banksias and other shrubs which might be in flower. Its a rocky track to the start of and around the Loop so wear good footwear (not thongs) and take water but, in the heat of the day in summer, reconsider doing this route; choose early morning or late evening - you will also see more animals. We saw our first free emus. Otherwise just go to the start and view the route whilst looking through the "Window". The Z bend is the other way at the T junction and again from the car park it is a short walk, this time with some steps to the lookout. We were there late evening so probably missed the best view because of the shadows.
Bush flies can be a problem and if you really hate them it might be worth investing in one of the fly masks. Otherwise just keep swatting. We found them a problem in all parts of the park including the series of coastal lookouts on the approach to Kalbarri - be warned.
Outside the river gorge and the estuary the beaches below Red Bluff and at the Blue Hole's are worth visiting and at the later you get a good long walk. At low tide you can walk out onto the sandstone rocks with all the pools, or at high tide snorkel For Europeans we noted a comment in one of the guides about their being "no crocodiles (obviously we do our homework) and very little shark risk, but do look out for the occasional blue-ringed octopus if walking the reef". That sounds as though you should go looking - DON'T. - wiki the damn things.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank phinaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A scramble but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Descending into the gorge requires stout footwear and something to keep the ubiquitous flies at bay but it beats just mooching around the lookouts and the vistas are very interesting. Try to go early, before the sun gets high and take something to drink. I find a length of damp muslin cloth worn as a scarf or turban helps keep you cool.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Falconette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murchison River also viewed

Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park
Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park
 
Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park
Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park
 

Been to Murchison River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing