We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very helpful”

Kalbarri Visitor Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$959.58*
and up
3-Day Monkey Mia Dolphins, Pinnacles Desert and Kalbarri National Park Tour...
Ranked #3 of 36 things to do in Kalbarri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Pop in and visit us for all the local information On kalbarri. Let us plan you itinerary and book tours, accommodation, bus tickets and North & South Travel Gift Idea and great souvenirs in store. One of the best locations in Kalbarri with River and Ocean views
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Not very helpful”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We went in to the visitor centre to enquire where we could cash travellers cheques, but the staff didn't appear to know much.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oakesy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalbarrivc, Manager at Kalbarri Visitor Centre, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Bromley,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write feedback on your experience and service from the Kalbarri Visitor Centre, we have had a few staff changes over the last month and and this information helps us manage our internal systems and improve our visitor information.
Travelers cheques are not something that we deal with as we are such a very small community, generally these can be exchanged in the larger cities.
If there is anything i can assist you with in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me.
Warm Regards
Tracy Grosvenor, manager@kalbarri.org.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    103
    32
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bad for hikers/campers”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This centre seems well equipt for anyone wanting to purchase tours such as boating, horseback riding or quad biking. Summarily, if you're looking to spend money on your holiday, this place can help you.
However, we visited on a busy weekend and asked one of the ladies if she could recommend any campground. She said 'all full', turned her back and walked away. We followed her, asked again, got a number and called- plenty of space in the campground. We asked for a map of or recommendation of hiking trails and she tried to sell us an identical copy of the very basic map that is already provided in the free Kalbarri visitor's brochure. Asking for something more detailed, she just laughed. I have never before been laughed at in a visitor's centre for asking about maps! Walking around the local area and national park, we did find plenty of trails, but the visitor's centre obviously has no clue as to their existence.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Basic”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The shop seemed very empty. There was only one lady behind the counter and didn't seem interested in helping out or even just chatting to us. You would think that a visitor centre mostly attracts visitors to the area, and so you'd want to be as friendly and welcoming as possible.

There are some good maps for sale and lots of brochures. We couldn't find enough information about the national park as we would have liked.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalbarrivc, Manager at Kalbarri Visitor Centre, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Meg,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write feedback on your experience and service from the Kalbarri Visitor Centre, we have had a few staff changes over the last month and and this information helps us manage our internal systems and improve our visitor information.
I'm very sorry that you had a bad experience with not enough information for hikers and map, we have taken these point on board and are in the process of correlating our information with the DEC and will be creating a Wikipedia page very shortly.
If there is anything i can assist you with in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me.
Warm Regards
Tracy Grosvenor, manager@kalbarri.org.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very friendly and informative staff”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Visited in Jan 2013 while staying in Kalbarri with my hubby and 2 teens. The lady told us about a beautiful sheltered beach as the wind was blowing strong. It was the beautiful Pot Alley and true it was sheleterd from the ocean winds that day!! Plnty of brochures and maps of the area also.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalbarrivc, Manager at Kalbarri Visitor Centre, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Ger,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write feedback on your experience and service from the Kalbarri Visitor Centre, we are so pleased you had a great experience - this is what we aim to achieve.
Warm Regards
Tracy Grosvenor, manager@kalbarri.org.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalbarri, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Informative.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have been in the visitor centre a few times and also taken family in there. The centre is set up nicely, with a good selection of maps, and items to buy if you so wish. Staff are very helpful and friendly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank helclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalbarri Visitor Centre also viewed

Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park
Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park
 
Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park
Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park
 

Been to Kalbarri Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing