We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific!!”
Review of Gilgai Tavern

Gilgai Tavern
Ranked #9 of 27 Restaurants in Kalbarri
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Great Service, Great Food and Great Value. Family Friendly Tavern with stunning views from our verandahs. We are owner / operators of a small business and work very hard to provide a personal and positive experience for our customers. We like to think we do this well, but we do get it wrong every once in a while. If you have a problem with our service, please approach any of the staff, you can be assured we will deal with any problem quickly and efficiently.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great atmosphere, dinner was lovely - salt and pepper calamari & lamb cutlets. Not a massive serve which was great! The service was friendly and made us feel welcome. Would definitely recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SezBiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilgai, Owner at Gilgai Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thanks for your feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your experience. The Lamb cutlets are a very popular winter warmer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 212 of 269 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Came to the Gilgai for a meal on a busy night in the holidays, with a table of 10 even though we had no booking, the staff were very accommodating. At the suggestion of the restaurant staff we got the kids meals out with our entrees. This was a terrific idea. We didn't have to wait long for our mains. There was a special for lamb shanks which was delicious, my husband had the red emperor and he loved it. The whole table enjoyed the night. The staff were attentive and the service was terrific.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilgai, Owner at Gilgai Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thanks for your review, over the holidays we are prepare around 150-200 meals per day, it can get a little hectic (and we don't always get it right). But we love it when our customers walk away happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Superior pub meals and we thought the prices were reasonable. No problems with the service and there was a good choice on the menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hillingdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilgai, Owner at Gilgai Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thanks for your kind words, we appreciate the positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Went back for dinner tonight and yet again, such a satisfying feed. Great service and allround lovely experience. I just had to try the chocolate pudding for desert and it was the best i have had hands down!!! Keep up the great work guys. We will be back next trip to Kalbarri forsure!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tailormarc32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilgai, Owner at Gilgai Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to put up your reviews. We appreciate the feedback and are delighted you have enjoyed your meals and experience. We look forward to seeing you agian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Well i must admit alot of the food places in kalbarri have gone down hill, i went in got great service and the food was soooooo good!!! Gravy was the best iv ever had, chips were perfect, garlic bread was best i have had. So very happy to see at least one place with top notch food!!! Only one small prob was we asked for the steak to be well done and it wasn't quite well done but was still great. We have 4 days left in Kalbarri, looks like we are there for dinner each night, no complaints. Highly recommend them!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tailormarc32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilgai Tavern also viewed

Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park
Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park
 
Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park
Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park
 

Been to Gilgai Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing