We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a resort at all but a Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kalbarri Edge Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kalbarri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel calls itself a 4 1/2 star resort and the photos on the internet certainly makes it look inviting - but it is far from a resort hotel.

After spending a week at the Novotel Ningaloo in Exmouth we were very disappointed to arrive the The Edge in Kalbarri. The kids first impressions were that is smelt like a "Caravan".

Its only marginally better than the Kalbarri Beach Resort and that because it is newer.
Next time we drive to Exmouth I think we will stay in Geraldton instead as the Mantra aparments are much better than The Edge and cheaper.

The decor and ambience of the rooms are similar to that of a cabin in a caravan park.
At $306 a night for a family suite we were expecting a spacious apartment with a spa.
Instead the bathroom had a triangular bath with spa jets that only a child could lie in and a room with a tiny main bedroom and stains on the sofa. The furniture choices reminded me or an old people's home and a doctor's waiting room. Not very realxing or "resort" like.The bed linen felt like poly/cotton and the aircon was noisy.

I don't know how many rooms there are in the resort but they have been jammed in and the rest of the areas are car park. The gardens are badly landscaped and untended. And the pool was smaller than most I have seen in a backyard in Perth.

The only redeeming feature of this "Motel" is its location. It is opposite a great children's playground, oval and skate park. You can also walk to the restaurants for dinner and the shops.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank MegWesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave E, General Manager at Kalbarri Edge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Meg,
Thanks for your comments,
The Edge Resort is currently under new management and some of the improvements we have introduced are maintenance programs and cleaning programs to address such things as the gardens and spring cleaning of the apartments.
When the building was constructed the spa suites were built quite large and have a spa bath which can comfortably fit an adult person, and other great resort features such as a gym and a mid-sized pool to enjoy.
Our resort is rated by AAA tourism to a 4.5 star and accessed every 12 months.
We hope to see you again so we can impress you with our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 424 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here recently for two nights during school holidays in a spa suite. The accomodation was clean and comfortable and close to the beach and local attractions. The service was good and always able to point is in the right direction. The only thing that lacked was the value for money. I understand that this is a spa suite but the cost was significant considering location and surrounding accomodation rates. Overall we have a great stay and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWebley89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I had assumed that with a name like Kalbarri Edge that it would be somewhere with a view, but it is in a side street a couple of blocks from the beach. It is fairly new and well maintained, but rooms are nothing special. Rooms are fairly small with no bedside lights, cheap microwave, cheap toilet paper and minimal kitchen utensils. For $190/night I would expect more. Free wifi was the only bonus.

Room Tip: wifi apparently degenerates the further your room is from the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanchdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Originally booked a studio suite, but were upgraded to a spa suite when the internet did not work. Room had everything that could be expected with spacious living area, balcony with BBQ, good sized tv with Fox sports. Huge bathroom laundry and large bedroom. Need to check when booking that free WIFI offered works. we had to hang out near reception to stay hooked up

Room Tip: Check which ones get WIFI reception before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My partner and stayed a the Kalbarri Edge Resort for 3 nights. We used a Cudo voucher and feel we really got value for money. The room we stay an Executive Spa Suite and it was lovely. Very clean and comfortable. It was spacious and the huge bed was great to sleep on. The location is fantastic and walking distance to everything. The only downside was that the reception staff could have been a bit more friendly and smile occasionally. I could understand if they were flat out busy, but it was a quite time of year! Oh, and the wifi didn't work at all, but luckily I brought along backup after reading the previous comments concerning this issue.
I would happily stay here again if I returned to beautiful Kalbarri!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bush / trees, as it is lovely to have this view and the feeling of pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandgroper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great room,quiet and comfortable. Dinner delicious at restaurant. Good to have a kitchenette and microwave. Lovely friendly staff. Location for a holiday just wonderful. Shame it was for work. Bathrooms well fitted. High quality shampoo etc. even eye make up remover pads. This too would be a great place for a special family holiday. BBQ facilities in apartments...all crockery and cutlery and a sink to wash the dirty dishes in the room. I am coming back for a holiday.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jo jo zep A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Five of us stayed here for three nights and we found it to be very comfortable. It was a two bedroom, two bathroom unit with laundry facilities. The rooms and kitchen were very clean and we made use of the BBQ and pool as our patio was on the ground floor and overlooked the pool.
The room service was excellent and the kitchen was well maintained. The staff were friendly and helpful.
John and Morag Kerr.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalbarri hotels
0.5 mi away
Kalbarri Reef Villas
Kalbarri Reef Villas
#5 of 5 in Kalbarri
47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kalbarri Beach Resort
Kalbarri Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Kalbarri
252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kalbarri Seafront Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kalbarri Palm Resort
Kalbarri Palm Resort
#4 of 5 in Kalbarri
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kalbarri Gecko Lodge
Kalbarri Gecko Lodge
#1 of 8 in Kalbarri
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kalbarri Murchison View Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalbarri Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalbarri Edge Resort

Address: 22 Porter Street, Kalbarri, Kalbarri National Park, Western Australia 6536, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plus Kalbarri Edge Resort)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kalbarri National Park > Kalbarri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kalbarri
Price Range: $108 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalbarri Edge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalbarri Edge Resort offers 4 Star luxury (AAA rating). We are the newest property in the area, having opened in the summer of 2009 and are ideal for a short break from city life, and will appeal to guests who appreciate stylish simplicity and modern functionality. Discover the pristine Coral Coast region from your affordable and luxurious base at Kalbarri Edge Resort. Fishing enthusiasts whose partners don't share their passion will find Kalbarri Edge an ideal base to relax and revitalise their batteries and enjoy resort features such as private spa, king beds, large flat screen TV's, dishwasher and even room service meals. If you decide to cook your prize catch there are private BBQ's for every apartment and for spa suites, as well as modern functional kitchens. Within the resort guests can enjoy our resort pool, giant chess and other resort activities. All based within a stone's throw (100 M) of the town centre and foreshore. The Edge Restaurant onsite is open daily for breakfast and Monday through Saturday for dinner. It serves sumptuous local fare such as Lobster and Red Emperor. For those who want to stay in touch we offer unlimited wireless access, business facilities and ability to host conferences and functions. Kalbarri and Kalbarri Edge will do wonders for your soul with great food, luxurious accommodation, good nights sleep and a fresh ocean breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kalbarri Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalbarri Edge Hotel Kalbarri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing