We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Kalamunda Hotel

Kalamunda Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Restaurants in Kalamunda
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I had read the negative reviews and expected the worst. The gentleman on the phone was rude and not helpful when I rang to book and when we arrived didn't even have our booking. However, our lovely waitress Annika, made up for all that and I was feeling better about the place even before we ordered the food. Two of our four had the generous pork belly and 'quite enjoyed it'. I had the chicken and Brie parcel and loved it. Even shared it with my sister and husband and they loved it as well. Service was prompt and even though they were out of some things, were very polite and apologetic. My sister and her husband have recently moved to Kalamunda so we will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    71
    42
    32
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wednesday Special”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great tasty steak for $17 Wednesday night special! The service was quick and the staff were friendly. The steak came with a fresh salad with a very nice dressing, plus chips - the usual pub fare. A good night that was easy on the pocket.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A good place for a small function”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The atmosphere of the hotel seems to be varied between areas. If you're part of a small function and use the courtyard area, it seems private, yet you can access other areas as well. Finger food catering is basic...needs more variety and vegetarian options. A fruit platter to finish would be nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandraAB159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, great food and nice drinks”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went for a drive to the Perth hills and stopped by in at the Kalamunda Hotel for lunch one day and were pleased with everything from the food menu, drinks selection, prices and the atmosphere. When the food came out to our table we're surprised at the generous and tasty serving.

It's a casual pub setting with a courtyard at the front. Overall it was great and whenever we're in the area we can safely say we'll be back again and would recommend to others.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaP536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My Lady was wrong”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My Lady friend always told me that the Kalamunda Hotel was a little too Bogan, so on my first 4 visits to Perth we had never gone there. This last time she relented to my requests (it reminds me of the little mining hotel in Pilgrim's Rest)...and although it was a little chilly on the patio, the fish...forget exactly what the dish is called - apparently one of the favourite pub dishes in Aus...was excellent. Chips were good and crisp and the ale was just right. I shall return!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalamunda Hotel also viewed

Kalamunda, Perth Hills
Kalamunda, Perth Hills
 
Kalamunda, Perth Hills
Gooseberry Hill, Perth Hills
 
Kalamunda, Perth Hills
Kalamunda, Perth Hills
 

Been to Kalamunda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing